We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diving Dominican Republic

Diving Dominican Republic
Sharky's Shop, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
829-341-9185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Activities in Bayahibe
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canadian owned, family ran PADI certified dive boat operation in Bayahibe, on the Caribbean coast of Dominican Republic, specializing in private scuba diving, scuba lessons and trips. The schedule is done completely by the clients (weather / sea conditions apply). Note: We take reservations on first come first served basis, no credit cards accepted.
Ontario, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were in Dominican Republic due to a recent cruise and wanted to scuba but do not like to book excursions through the ship. The cruise message boards were very negative about vendors in DR not responding to client requests and I, in fact, found that to be true with the numerous vendors I contacted until we found Denise at Diving Dominican Republic. She was very prompt in replying and when we got to DR the service was even better! My husband and I did scuba and the plan was for my mom and our kids to snorkel but after just one dive, the kids got sea sick so the captain Gato and our guide Carole were more than willing to take them back to the shop. My husband and I are new divers and Carole was very patient and helpful. She pointed out a lot of sea life that we may not have otherwise seen. The variety of life in Dominican Republic was greater than in any of the other ports. They are a fantastic group of people.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for the review and for adding the pictures, I am happy you had a great time. It is also good to hear that you liked the diving and the marine life in our area the best :)
Let us know if you ever plan to come to our area for more scuba diving
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Diving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My dad and I dived with Diving Dominican Republic in July, whilst staying at Dreams La Romana, for three days. It was a brilliant experience and really great fun. Our instructor, David, was fantastic – he was a great guide and very good at spotting interesting creatures. He looked after us very well, and always made sure we were safe and happy.
‘Sharky’ the boat was lovely – very clean, very comfortable, and very fast! On our last day the whole family went diving, and even with a total of six (including David and the Captain) in the boat it was spacious and easy to get our kit on. The Captain was very helpful when preparing to go into the water, always holding the BCD out so you could get it on easily, and doing all the lifting.
In the water, diving was great, and the amount of wildlife to see was surprising! There were fish everywhere, as well as rays, lobsters, eels and lots of coral. We had two dives a day. On the first day we did a reef dive and then went on to the wreck of the Atlantic Princess, a boat which was sunk only about 12m down – my first wreck, and also a good place to spot barracuda.
The second day we went diving on the St. George, a huge cargo ship which was a 30m dive (my deepest ever!). Wreck diving was great, and David always made sure that we were happy and comfortable before moving on. He pointed out the interesting wildlife populating the wreck, including a tiny juvenile black and white fish with long trailing fins swimming in the ship’s funnel. We then finished off with another reef dive.
The third day was a family day, and everyone did a bit of diving. My brother who was unable to dive due to ear problems, had his first proper dive with David’s guidance, and he was very patient in getting him down and making sure he was equalised and comfortable. My brother can now dive perfectly well and loved every moment, and was so happy that he could finally do it!
We also visited a shallow sandy bay, filled with huge starfish, where we had our lunch. It was a stunning place and it was lovely to snorkel and explore it. The whole area was picturesque, and it was good that it was timed so we would not arrive at the same time as the packed tourist boats. The meal that we had on the boat was brilliant, very well prepared and very tasty.
David is passionate about the wildlife, and was able to answer all our questions about the local sea creatures. Diving Dominican Republic certainly cares about the environment and wildlife.
The quality of the diving with Diving Domincan Republic was superb – you had to feel sorry for the divers all bunched up in a group, hardly able to swim without kicking someone with their fins, and with little direction over what they wanted to go and see. Group diving came nowhere near the experience of an individual dive trip – with Sharky, you hire the boat and the instructor and then dive with only your family and the guide, something you really can’t beat.
Denise and Vlad looked after us really well on the shore, organising and getting kit and air ready. We were “treated” to lots of Vlad’s jokes as well!  Briefings told us all about the dive spots, and they made sure we were aware of the dangers, but also what you could spot (I’m quite glad we didn’t meet any of the tiger sharks though!). This company really cares about their clients.
We had a fantastic experience with Diving Dominican Republic, and are looking forward to diving with them again sometime. Thank you to Denise, Vlad, the Captain and David for a brilliant time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
WOW, thank you sooooooo much for this very detailed review. It was a great pleasure to have clients like you guys. I am really happy you had a great vacation and enjoyed the scuba diving in Bayahibe. We will be more then happy to see you back again diving with us in the future, hopefully it won't be too distant future :)
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not Just a Diving Trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We don't really do excursions, but do enjoy a day trip on a boat to have a look at the local area.
Denise posts regularly on the TA forums offering wonderful advice for visitors which is how we found out about Sharkys.

We don't dive, we will do a little bit of snorkelling. So don't think that you need to be divers to make the most of the day out.

The day was planned exactly to what we were looking for, some quiet places away from the big organised trips and hords of people, a little snorkelling, a little bit of exploring on deserted beaches, of course we went to see the star fish.
Lunch and refreshments were provided and were greatly appreciated, Vlad knows the area well and can tell you lots of information, he is funny and entertaining and really makes the day more fun.

We were two families with kids, the kids had a ball too.

We stayed at Dreams La Romana, and would book DLR over DPC again just so that we could take a couple of days out with Sharky. It was great, one of the best ever.

Denise also writes regularly on Facebook for Diving Dominican Republic, she is really helpful with information of the local area and I would certainly recommend a like if you are visiting this lovely part of the Island.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post this great review.
I am glad you had a fun day, enjoyed the trip and also the area. Our clients do not have to be scuba divers to go for a trip with us :)
Our clients plan the day, we just suggest the areas to see, we are always trying to stay away from the crowded locations, so the whole experience is relaxed and fun. Dreams La Romana is a great resort and only 5 minute beach walk from Sharky's shop.
Looking forward to see you back one day!!!
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Diving excellence. Caribbean style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having dived from Sharky I can write first hand how relaxed but efficient Diving Dominican Republic is.
Denise at front of shop is brilliant and Vlad is unsurpassed with not just diving experience but with all aspects of diving, Snorkling, boat handling and Underwater Photography.
Nothing is a problem, they are more flexible to requests than water! A brilliantly run company and one to which I return to dive with next week on a two week holiday to Dreams La Romana with my wife.
Picture Postcard Photos and memories.
Sandy Bottoms!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
WOW, what a review!!!
Thank you so much for taking your time to post it and really looking forward to see you again for more diving. Have a great flight and see you soon:)
Thanks again for booking with us Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I re-qualified and qualified for diving with Sharky's. We were a little nervous because we had not done any diving or spent any time in the water for a couple of decades. We had excellent instruction. We had an instructor each until we were qualified. We continued diving with one instructor and a boat and captain for just the two of us. It was an enjoyable two weeks. As beginning divers it was a great experience and at the end of the two weeks we felt very comfortable diving and being in the water. Vlad, David and Carol are all well-qualified and excellent instructors. Denise is very helpful with any other questions. This was a great way to get some experience diving.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to write the review. It was really great to have you guys and we are very happy you completed the course so well. We believe that the first scuba diving experience is the most important, so we make sure our students/ clients enjoy it as much as they can and became great divers. Hope to see you back for more diving soon:)
Thanks again for diving with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diving Dominican Republic also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Diving Dominican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diving Dominican Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.