We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's The Deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Here's The Deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staff: Very friendly and helpful (for the most part). Edgar in guest services was amazing and super nice. Juan on the other hand was not at all. House keeping was super nice and polite. The guys at the towel stand wouldn't stop hitting on us EVERY time we went to get a towel which was rude and irritating. The bartenders are really cool and if you tip (which everyone should) they take care of you.

DO NOT GET THE VIP! Waste of money, they never come and stock the fridge the VIP areas are completely away from everything and the drinks are not premium. I was told I was getting top shelf vodka, but was actually getting white tequila. And trying to cancel it was a whole other head ache.

Room: GET A BUNGALOW!! The state rooms are set back, no view, and near construction. The Ocean View Bungalows are worth the extra money; we were literally a step away from the sand and water. The rooms are pretty small and there were two of us and we just felt cramped. No good tv stations, rooms aren't that clean, and we had a light that was falling through the ceiling. We also had a family of birds living in our roof that were very loud in the middle of the night. The view was amazing though and the beds were comfortable.

Drinks and food: Drinks are very watered down. I would suggest getting a bottle of something at the duty free store before arriving on the island. Food was bland and I felt like I was in a middle school cafeteria, but it wasn't awful. The Mexican Restaurant was very good and great server. The other restaurants were not worth the money.

Overall: I would not go back. Too many people in the water, crowed beach, not romantic, people trying to sell you stuff, VERY loud at night with the shows... was so happy to get home.

And there aren't any bats - they are called birds.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean Bungalow, I guarantee none of the other rooms are worth the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for bringing to our attention your positive comments and constructive remarks regarding your recent stay in our property.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the next future.

Regards


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    1,471
    616
    325
    279
See reviews for
839
1,646
112
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband just stayed in the resort (Sept 9th-13th), it was our first all inclusive so we didn't have anything to compare it to. We had a good time, I was very nervous due to all of the negative reviews. There was not a lot of English speaking people and about 75 % of people were Italians. The buffet was OK nothing special but we made reservations to two of the restaurants (one of them was a $10 charge) which the food there was MUCH better as was the service. The shows were very good and they had a lot of activities during the day to partake in. There is a $2 charge per night for the safe and you do have to pay for WiFi. They tried to get us to take part of the VIP which was a 2 hour presentation which we were not very happy about. They will try to get to do it SAY NO its a big waste of time- the whole thing costs about 33,000.00 INSANE! Overall we had a good time but do learn some basic Spanish it will help tremendously.

Room Tip: stay away from the main pool were in 1215. It was extremely loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for bringing to our attention your positive comments and constructive remarks regarding your recent stay in our property.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the next future.

Regards


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was a little nervous prior to our trip because of some of the very negative reviews. Our first impression of the room was it was very average but we're not ones to spend much time in the room anyway, so that wasn't a concern. The beach was absolutely gorgeous which was major for us. The buffet food was fine for breakfast and lunch but beyond that it gets too monotonous, so the restaurants were great at night and all very good. The entertainment at night was fabulous, the animation staff works so hard and they put on great shows. There are very few Americans at this resort, so it does help to know basic Spanish. The Italians are catered to as they are the majority of guests that stay there, (the resort is owned by Italians) but overall the staff were very good to us as well. No complaints, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for apprise us with your comments regarding your recent stay in our property, we are more than glad to read all of your positive comments and also glad to know that we are reaching our goal which is the total satisfaction of each one of our visitor.

We hope to have the chance of being your selection once again for your future vacations.

Best regards


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Accommodations were very nice and clean. Staff is very helpful. Beaches are kept immaculate. I learned very quickly that the American dollar and a smile speaks volumes in the way of service from the staff in the way of receiving extras. Wi-Fi service is available in localized areas for a small fee. However free wi-fi can be obtained if you are close to local pubs and entertainment areas. Inside the resort area is the best area to do reputable shopping, but if you do venture out into the outlying shops be careful of double talking vendors who may try to charge more than they say due to currency manipulation. I found it best to deal with card companies whom impose purchase restrictions.

Room Tip: Book in advance and always use a Visa or master card. This may allow room upgrades depending on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

We really appreciate your excellent review about your recent stay in our facilities. It is our pleasure and we are more than glad to read all the positive points mentioned that will help future guest to choose our hotel for their vacations. We are looking forward to have you back here and be able to provide you the best memories.
Thank you very much for choosing us.

Best regards


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a trip to the Viva Whyndam Dominicus Beach. We had read the reviews prior to going and should have taken warning and canceled the trip. However we decided to go and be positive and have a good time. Within 24 hours we were booking our trip back home. The food was horrible, looks like it has been sitting out all day and flies and bees swarming over the food stands. The food was just disgusting I ate just enough to give me energy because I did not want to risk getting sick, but still I got sick. There was no bottled water, no room service, the beds were horrible loud construction going on across from our room. This is not an american friendly place, what they consider american food is NOT american. I understand it is a different country considering it is an all inclusive resort they were not up to par. There is a reason why there were NO Americans at this resort. Its full of locals and europeans only! Oh and by the way, there are hundreds of bats flying around at all times! Also when I made a reservation at one of the restaurants and I used the bathroom there was throw up EVERYWHERE, I must have not been the only one sick. I highly recommend to cancel your trip it was horrendous worst time of my entire life. The only part I like was the beach and the customer service, the entire staff was very nice and polite, its a shame they work for a crap company they would do amazing if they had a better hotel to work for.

Room Tip: Seriously do not go, Beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my 2nd time in this resort , Excellent Premises , well kept , well maintained .. My girlfriend and I had a great time last year so we went again. The Ride to the resort is about an 1hr 30 min , try getting there in the morning so you avoid the mid afternoon traffic , it was nice going thru the town to see how people live. We arrived at the hotel to check in when we did our room was way too small and had hair all over it .. we complained at the Front Desk and was upgraded to a much nicer room ..all marble ..( free of charge ) We Spent our days on the beach and the pool ..The resort is family oriented , couples , and just people coming down in groups. The food was ok this time around , it could of been much better tho .. the place is catered mostly to italians .. lot of pizza , spaghetti , and these are Italians from Italy .. not the jersey kind but the " Mama Mia " kind . As Far as Excursion the ATV is an absolute must do .. id stay away from anything else .. The Liquor there doesnt exist if you want to get drunk just bring a bottle yourself or hit the bar , the liquor is so watered down i must of drinker 3 beers and 4 bahama mamas and dint feel a thing .. dont waste your time your not going to get drunk! The Cigars are nice i smoked a couple cubans and dominicans .. they are very strong .. some good looking women out there as well . Overall its a nice place filled with natural beauty and is very clean but i would not spend more then 6-7 days there.. The Resort itself is huge , 3 Pools , 3 Inclusive Bars , Beach for days it took us 2 trips to exhaust this resort!

Room Tip: Bring your own liquor , Speaking Spanish helps , Tip if you can ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thank you very much for your review, It is really a pleasure for us to know that you spent a great time in our facilities.

We hope that you give us the chance to serve you again in the near future to offer once again our best attentions.

Kindly,


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel has been affected by an epidemic of strong gastroentiritis for weeks or months... Indeed, a bacteria can be found in food or water. As a result, many clients had to face diarrhea, headache, stomach-ache, a fall in blood pressure,... Some of them had to go to the hospital or to be on a drip... This is really dangerous!

8 persons out of 12 persons with whom I went there got sick.

The worth thing is the reaction of travel agencies. Some of them, including Look Voyages, deny the fact that there is a problem and will tell you that you are sick because of sun.
Don't trust them: a travel agency has sent a paper to its clients showing that a norovirus also a bacteria has been found in the hotel.

If you can cancel your trip there, do it.
If you still go there, eat only boiled food in order to kill the bacteria, be careful.
Finally, if you're travelling with Look Voyages, good luck! I had never seen such a bad sense of responsibilities and security of guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have received and reviewed your comments, which are of great importance for us. We inform you that according to the public health standards and quality , our facilities meet all the requirements .
We confirm that all gastroenteritis cases reported in the hotel at the end of July are viral and once all the measures were taken, we have returned to total normality.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your point of view.

Best regards


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Address: La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.