We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, what can I say.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well, what can I say.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The good.... Beach was nice, but crowded. Grounds were well kept. Food was beautifully prepared. Roads are much better than they used to be. Staff were friendly, but didnt speak much English.

The bad..... Most of the buffet food was tasteless. I pretty much lived on pizza for a week. You had to pay extra to eat at some of the restaurants. Our room had mold on the ceiling, and all over the curtains. It was so damp that our towells and batheing suits NEVER dried. The air only comes on when you are in the room, so if you are very hot and looking for a cool room, you will come into a hot room. They dont know what a wash cloth is. The sliding door was broken in our room and stayed open about 6 inches until my husband fixed it. The bed was lumpy and horrible.

I think some of the rooms were updated but when we asked for an upgrade they said they were full, which I do not believe.
Do not let them talk you into listening to their time share spiel. They want WAY more than a normal time share and do NOT give you the gift that they promise when you sign up. Its a bunch of bull.
The drinks were HORRIBLE. No American brands, just bad tasting so called alcohol. There was one bar where you could get some good whisky and rum etc, but they charged $10.00 per drink. The only way this place stays open is the cheap price. In my opinion, shell out another couple hundred and go to a NICE place. I certainly wish we had.
If you are an American, you will be a minority. NO ONE speaks English. They are German and Italian and very rude. They will run you off the side walk and not move over to pass.
Driving from the airport to the resort is about 2 hours of pure terror!! They drive like maniacs. I was scared to death.
I travel a lot , about 5 times a year and hardly ever put up a bad review. Folks SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO ELSEWARE.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

We deeply regret for not meeting your expectations as a guest with our services, facilities and accommodations. Also we want to let you know that each one of your comments has been taken seriously by our general direction in order to avoid any situations like this may happen again.

We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to recover your trust in our products by visiting us again in the near future.

Best regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    1,383
    580
    322
    279
See reviews for
799
1,563
102
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

everyone we met had suffered from dysentery and stomach cramps..infirmary had standing room only...rooms did not have amenities shown on Wyndham's site {mini fridge, iron, bottled water }...we were delayed returning due to hurricane and they would not assist in rearranging shuttle or extending our stay. No internet available for contacting airlines or receiving revised flight schedule. Customer service-each sitting in front of a computer-telling us they had no access to internet and could not receive our new itineraries. Staff pretended not to understand English when it suited them. Cockroaches as big as quarters...need I say more?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor

We deeply regret not having fulfilled your expectations as a guest with our services, facilities and accommodations. Know that each one of your constructive remarks have been seriously take into account in order to day by day our visitor’s experience.

We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to recover your trust in our products by visiting us again, so that, you could appreciate that your comments were very helpful for us to improve our services.

Best regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. Thats about the only good thing. The people do not speak enough english to get buy. They are rude and act as if we are doing them a favor by being there. Check in and check out was slow. The food is only fair. We willnot go back, Mexico is much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

thanks for bringing to our attention you comments regarding your recent stay in our property, we want to apologize for any problem you may have experienced with the language barrier.
Know that we are already working with an English intensive program for each one of our staff, in order to avoid situation like this may happen again.

We hope that you could give us the chance to serve you once again, so you could appreciate that your comments were very helpful and taken seriously to improve our services.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall this hotel is a great value for your money. The grounds are beautiful; the pool & beach areas are great. The location is also great because it is not as far from Santo Domingo as Bavaro or Punta Cana. My only concerns were regarding the room, the drinks, and the food. I say concerns because I really didn't have "complaints". For once, the standard rooms were... Just that. Nothing special. They didn't even have a mini refrigerator which was inconvenient when traveling with an infant that required refrigerated formula. The drinks were generic brands & all tasted watered down, but that is to be expected at an all inclusive resort for this price. Lastly, the food wasn't terrible but it also wasn't great. It was just average. However, overall, I would stay here again. The atmosphere was welcoming and the employees were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking your time to let us know your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel, it is good to know that you had a great time in our facilities and at same we would like to apologize for any concern you experienced with our service, especially with the food & beverage.
Each one of your constructive remarks have been seriously taken into account in order to get day by day our continuous improvement.

We hope to have the opportunity to receive you once again as our guest and offer you our best attentions.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall great weekend getaway, especially if you are 20-40 years old and like to party. The bathrooms were a 2 out of 5, which was troubling for me but the grounds, pools and beach were absolutely beautiful! I would definitely return and recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a an upgraded room or bungalow! There are only 1/4 of them available so try to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thanks for taking the time on posting your comments, which are important for us in order to improve all of our services. We are happy to know that our services and entertainment met all of your expectations and at same time we also want to apologize for not meeting at all your expectation with the room.
We want to let you know that your constructive remark have been seriously taken as a great opportunity to improve day by day our visitors experience.

We hope you could give us the chance to serve you again in the near future and offer you our best attentions, so you could appreciate that your comments were very helpful to our improvement.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just got back from the Dominicus Beach Resortt. We stayed in one of the duplex bungalows close to the beach.
The room was nice had space for a refrigerator but they said thy had no more. You have to pay $2.00 per day for the safe. Probably a good investment. When you arrive at the resort you have to pass through a guarded gate. A good choice would to not wander too far from the resort. The
food was good different choices at the buffet each night. You could also make reservations at a couple of the restaurants for an additional $10.00 per person. They were also cleaning, sweeping,raking. They really keep the property very clean. The language barrier was a little hard, very few people spoke English. Bar service was kind of slow only two bartenders at a time at the bar. They really should have some kind of orientation to show you around, they did have someone who offered to take you around, but they were also trying to sell you a "timeshare" although they did not call it that. There should be more than one towel hut. Long walk to get towels if you were staying on the other side of the resort. Extremely large resort, we really did have a great time. Very relaxing, great place to hang a the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thanks for bringing to our attention your comments and constructive remarks regarding your recent stay with us.
It is really a pleasure for us to know that you spent a great time in our facilities, we also want to let you know that the necessary measure have already been take in order to improve our service and offer to each one of our visitors the best of the experiences.

We hope that you give us the chance to serve you again in the near future and offer once again our best attentions.

Best regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I went to this all inclusive resort with two of my female friends and had a blast. Despite all of us being females there was always a sense of safety in this villa setting. The entertainment works really hard, they play just as hard, and their performances show great quality. The buffet was delicious and the rooms were never noisy. The beach parties were full of exciting people and friendly staff. The only downside of this place is that it is so far away from Santo Domingo that we almost got lost.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor

We are very happy to know that you and your friends spent a great time in our facilities. Also we are even happier to know that we managed to fulfill your expectations about our given services concerning to our villages, staff, food and the service in general.
In Viva we are eagerly expecting your return to once again give you our best attentions and services.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Address: La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.