We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Bayahibe
MADISON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Service Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Resort itself was beautiful and well kept--very neat and clean and the beach was absolutely gorgeous! We liked the buffets and the reservation only restaurants-the food was good and varied. The issues we had were with the sleeping rooms and the service. I know we paid the low end on Expedia but I think we had the worst room in the complex. The toilet broke and we had to call 3 or 4 times to guest services for any thing we needed to get any service--we were calling for towels, our remote didn't work the whole week until finally the last day we were there they fixed it. Our room was directly across from the Disco which didn't even get started until 1 a.m-2:30 a.m. Our daughter had the same issues with their room regarding toilet, towels, etc. The people were not at all friendly even though we were asking nicely, not being rude about it. Not enough bartenders for the all inclusive. Bathrooms off restaurant never worked either.

Room Tip: We were in the 3600 complex building and was across from the Disco--no sleeping once they got starte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    1,638
    683
    349
    289
See reviews for
930
1,852
119
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our first anniversary and after having stayed at the resort in March 2011 (we loved it then) we decided to go back for 3 days. What a difference a year and a half makes. While the rooms were nice and the food was good, we had to deal with an INFESTATION of bugs and bees.
As it was low season, there was a limited amount of staff so while eating at the buffet, you had to self serve (which meant having to hunt down glasses,ice, forks as well as bus your own tables). I was thinking that we were going to have the wash dishes soon. The alcohol that they were serving surely must have been the cheapest and worst they could find

THE ABSOLUTE WORST PART WAS ON THE DAY OF OUR ANNIVERSARY WE WERE TOLD THAT WE HAD TO VACATE OUR ROOM AT 10 AM (SO MUCH FOR A LAZY DAY IN BED WITH MY HUBBY) SO THEY COULD FUMIGATE FOR INSECTS. WE DID BUT THEY NEVER DID END UP FUMIGATING. WE GOT AN OOPS SORRY FOR THAT. THANKS FOR THE WONDERFUL MEMORIES!! NOT!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't pay attention to all the bad reviews. If you want a decent all inclusive experience this is a good place. Beach is awesome service is reasonable and that's about it. This is no four seasons, so there will be some dirt in your room. Here and there they will fail you with fairly generic food. But overall it's a nice place with potentially the best beaches around.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just returned from this resort and had a wonderful time. The hospitality was hands down awesome! My favorite moment was on day one when I ask the front desk where the alarm clock was? Their reply "there is no time in the Carribean", I relized I needed to just let it all go. The foreigners can be somewhat rude at times, but not a big deal. We would vacation there again! Take insulated travel mugs with you, saves you time getting ice and water from the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

It’s a pleasure for us to read your positive comments. We are very glad to know that you spent a great vacation and you had a pleasant experience in our facility.

We hope to have you back soon to be able to provide you the best memories. Thank you very much for choosing us.

Best regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, mi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first all inclusive experience so I have don't have anyplace else to compare it to for an all inclusive. It is a gated resort with a tiny town outside the gates to safely shop for local goods. The locals hound you to come into their shops as soon as you walk outside the gates. We were looking for local Dominican hand rolled cigars, so it was worth the hassling to find them. We stayed at a villa right on the beach and it was small but clean. It's a bit outdated with a small closet and only a few small drawers, but since it was just my husband and me we used the second bed to lay our suitcases open instead of unpacking everything. There was a tiny table and one straight backed chair pushed into a corner. It works out OK if you don't plan on eating or spending time in your room. The only time we were in our room was to shower and sleep. The water pressure was sporadic and a couple times we weren't able to flush our toilets at all, but it wasn't bad enough to be a deal breaker. We had two Adirondack chairs and a table on our porch overlooking the beach and Sea. We spent our evenings either in the water or on the porch watching the sunset....beautiful!

The food was good but not great. We found a few things that we liked that were offered every meal that we depended on. Between meal times there were a few places that you could always get a burger, hot dog or pizza. There were a few restaurants that you could make reservations at that were also included in the all inclusive package. We didn't find out about this until later in our trip, but we did eat at the Mexican restaurant one time and it was very good...better than the buffet. The drinks tasted a bit watered down, but the staff was very friendly and we didn't mind going back often for refills!

The pools were nice and clean and the chaise lounges were in good shape. They have several umbrellas so you can get out of the sun for awhile. The sand on the beach was beautiful but we had to be very careful getting in and out of the water because there were many rocks/coral that were waiting to cut our feet. We just had to figure out the best places to get in and out. The water was like bath water.

The resort does offer entertainment and activities, but they need to switch it up a bit. We weren't there to go on excursions, we were there to relax, but it would have been nice if they offered more options for night life. They had a "show" every night at 9:45 in their casual theater, but it was all in Spanish which made it close to impossible to understand. Following the show there was ""disco" dancing at 11:30. It really wasn't disco as we understand it to be, it was basically Latin music that you could dance the merengue or salsa to. Since we couldn't really go to the show and had to wait until 11:30 to dance, it left us with really working hard to stay awake until the music started and once it did, we were very limited in what we could actually dance to. Bottom line is that they need more night life options.

It is about a 2 hour drive from the Santo Domingo airport to the resort. It's a pretty crazy drive and I am glad that we bought a transfer package instead of renting a car and trying to find our way by ourselves. You have to go through some pretty shady areas along the way and if we broke down, we would not have been able to communicate with the locals and I wouldn't have felt safe.

Overall it was a good experience because we were just looking for a beautiful place to relax, get some sun and spend time together. If we find another good deal for this place, we'll go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa on the beach. There are hotel and condo type accommodations, but they are not on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure for us to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us and we feel very glad to know that we offered you a pleasant stay in our resort.
We hope to have you back soon to be able to provide you the best memories. Thank you very much for choosing us.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at this resort in Sept 2003 and again last week Sept 19-25 2012. In 2003 I had a wonderful time and very impressed by the hospitality I received. So even after reading all that has been said I took my chances again. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in an ocean front bungalow, that was very clean, maid service every day, fresh towels and drinking water replaced everyday, even brought fresh fruit once. Because we registered with Wyndham rewards and booked directly with them, that gave us a VIP status, which entitled us to extra benefits (such as not having to pay $10 per person for dinner reservations, free safe use) and exclusive areas. And registering with Wyndham is free, just make sure you take you rewards card, number with you when traveling. Also we booked our airport transfer service through resort and $92.00 total for round trip 2 people, versus 200.00 what others wanted. But beware do not pay when arriving at airport or the driver. The resort takes care of it and you pay at the end of trip. You must pay $10 pp to enter country, the airlines tells you there is a $20 pp exit free, we were not charged. Our bungalow was quite a bit aways from the restraunts, all except La Roca & Atlantis, but that is because we were on the higher scale end of resort, which is much more secluded. There was no problems with our room or a/c. We did have a problem with the safe and tech came and fixed immediately. The beach was beautiful, clean, some days choppy others smooth. Activities were plentiful. Keep in mind though that this resort is very large, so be prepared to do some walking, if you dont just sit out on beach or pool. Well compared to when I was there 10 years ago. The only issue we had was with the food. Now it was 100x's better than when we were there before. We knew what we were facing when we booked. They have a large variety, just the style of cooking and lack of seasonings seams to be a problem compared to America. But then look at the weight issue America has also. We meet up with several couples that had a stomach bug, diarhea, I dont know if it was from the resort and Saona Island we visited. We were all on the same excursion and had some coconut that an individual was selling and cutting open for you to drink. I only took a sip and never got sick, until I got home and may have gotten from my husband. Everyone who drank it got sick. I am not sure what it is suppose to look or taste like, but it looked like water and taste like oil. So I am not sure. We were asked to attend a timeshare presentation, when we arrived for it, the english speaking rep was not there, so we were never bothered again. Advice book your 4 nights of restraunt reservations when you arrive, the best is the mexican food, italian is good, but very very small portions, Viva Cafe is on open water and very romantic. I believe that most of the negative comments are coming from Europeans travelors, as we had incidents with several that were very rude. If you go not expecting to be treated like a king or queen and keep in mind that this is a third world country (oh and dont drink water from faucet) you should be fine.

Room Tip: Summer in America is off season in Dominican Republic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angels
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel landscape is beautiful. The rooms are nice and decent. The food is not the best. I am not a picky person, but the food needs work. They keep having the same things over and over. They also kept re-doing the food from breakfast to lunch to dinner. So, it helped me stay on my diet. We had trouble making dinner reservations on the other nights, but the first night was not a problem. The food at the restaurants was good. The staff was nice and friendly. We also got hounded by the timeshare people. We decide to just attend, but when we went they overbooked and were asked to come back. We had things to do and did not make it back to the timeshare tour. The activities were great and fun. The beach was amazing. They had some reefs on the property and you got to see alot of fish. If you didn't want to spend money on a snorkeling tour, you could come here and snorkel off the beach. That was the best part of this hotel and it is well worth coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our Resort. Regarding the food we apologize we did not meet at all your expectations, however we hope you spent a pleasant vacation with us.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in one of our Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Best regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Address: Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.