We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value fun filled holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great value fun filled holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks staying at the Dreams La Romans hotel.

Travelled there with my boyfriend, we have previously stayed at the Melia Caribe Tropical in Bavaro.

Check in was quick and efficient, no welcome cocktail as have had at previous resorts but it was 1.30am so not a problem!

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished blocks- room was to a nice standard, king sized bed, nice decor, flatscreen TV, ipod docking station etc. We were at the end of the block and had a view to the ocean which was lovely. Only downside was walls were very thin, had to ask our neighbours to turn their TV down luckily they were fine. You can hear everything through the walls so just hope your not beside honeymooners ;) we were only in the room at night so it wasnt a big problem.

Swimming pools and beach are both lovely. Nice wooden loungers round pool with plenty shaded areas. If you have kids main pool is better as can get a bit noisy in infinity pool with swim up bar. Beach was decent size, always spare loungers. Water was beautiful and turqoise - it really does look like the brochure pictures! Sea was not crystal clear but his didnt bother us. You can take out kayaks, pedal boats etc for free, also can get snorkelling equipment for a $20 deposit. There is coral reef outwith the marked areas in the sea, we didnt swim out but others did and apparently lots of tropical fish.

Lots of activities during the day, which were great fun. Participation is optional and the staff are great at leaving you in peace if you just want to chill out. They give you paper money for taking part, and you can use this in one of the auctions three times weekly to get bags,caps,t-shirts etc. be warned you will need to get at least $20,000 to be able to bid for anything!

Entertainment at night was mix of audience participation shows - battle of the sexes, dancing competitions, couples contests etc and professional performers which i thought was to a good standard. the dancers are very good.

Bars were good - premium spirits as well as the cheaper varieties. They will make you any drink you fancy and lots of nice cocktails to work your way through. also had bottles of corona. drinks are unlimited, and are served from 9am - 2am. there is also a mini bar in your room with water, soft drinks and beer which is restocked daily.

Restaurants - food was good but have had better at other resorts. Don't let this put you off - it is perfectly enjoyable for 2 weeks! Buffet restaurant -we only had breakfast and lunch here. Good selection, lunch was really good - had freshly cooked kebab skewers, fish stew, rice, veg, pizza, desserts etc. There is also burgers and chips for those who want it (not us).
French restaurant - excellent
Italian - average but still perfectly ok
Grill - good for what it is - steaks, ribs, bbq chicken etc
dominican - nice
Oceana (seafood) - excellent - highly recommend the tuna steak
Mexican - good
Asian - this was the only restaurant that we found disappointing, sushi was nice but rest wasnt upto par.
You have to remember that this is an all inclusive 4/5 star resort which is relatively cheap compared to some - therefore you are not going to get michelin star quality food. However, i would still describe the food quality as good - myself and my boyfriend have reasonably high standards when it comes to food (we dont want to eat burgers and chips on holiday) and we were happy with the food. however, anymore than 2 weeks here and i think it could get a little repetitive.

room service is avaliable 24/7 we didnt try it so couldnt comment any further.

There was a coffee shop were you could get lattes, frappechino's, hot chocolates etc with little cakes - very nice!

Staff were friendly and helpful and always polite.

The hotel complex is a lot smaller than that of one we have stayed in previously-we prefered it-everything was a leisurely stroll away and it wasnt so big that you got lost!

We didnt go any any excursions this time by we have previously gone to saona island (sppedboat, snorkelling and then catamaran back) and also snorkelling in bavaro. As with most excursions they arent cheap(in my experience they never are) there is lots to do in resort so we didnt get too stir crazy!

Was a good mix of people staying there when we went- couples, families and singles. We met lots of lovely people and everyone we spoke to thought the resort was great i didnt hear any complaints.

To sum it up if your looking for a good value allinclusive holiday somewhere tropical with beautiful beach, pools, plenty of drink and food and activities this is the place for you!!!

We would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,403
    1,472
    556
    192
    114
See reviews for
1,844
2,568
61
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Myself & boyfriend were at Dreams La Romana from 14 to 21 May 2010 and had a brilliant time.

The hotel and grounds are lovely and very well looked after/maintained. We stayed in Block 4 facing the main pool. We were more than happy with our room however if you like a little siesta after a day round the pool/beach then this is not the side you want to be. From 5pm there is always something going on around the main pool which will be loud ... music/shows/competitions. I would also say that the walls are paper thin which can be annoying if you have inconsiderate neighbours who put the tv on full blast at 7am!!! The maid came every day making the bed, clean towels etc. Always very friendly.

We certainly would not complain about the food! We ate in the Buffet area every breakfast and lunch time and there was always a very good selection of cold/hot food that i would say would meet most peoples tastes.

Every night we ate in one of the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. No booking required, turn up, put your name down and you get given a buzzer that will buzz when your table is ready. We never had to wait longer than 30 mins which is fine as you can have a drink in one of the bars whilst you wait.

The lobby bar was the main bar we drank in as that served the branded drink (Buds, Peroni, Absolut, Smirnoff, Baileys etc). You do have to specify if you want a branded drink as otherwise you will automatically be given a local brand. The red wine that was given out in the restaurants was also very pleasant aswell as the local beer, Presidente!

The entertainment is very well organised and if you are in to all of that then there is always plenty for you to do/watch, alternatively you can do your own thing without being bothered. I would say that if you want to just laze on the beach in the peace and quiet then i would suggest you go to the left hand side of the beach (past the infinity pool on your left) as a lot of the games/aerobics happens at the start of the beach by where you get your towels/bar etc.

Bar and waiting staff were all very friendly to us. I suggest taking some US$ with you for tips as they really are appreciated. The receptionists were not that helpful however that is just our personal experience.

The only annoying thing of the holiday is that 4 nights out of 7 they have stalls set up around the pool from 4pm ish to 11ish selling jewellery, wooden ornaments, pictures etc and these men harrass you from the minute you walk by them (which you have to to get to your room/bars/restaurants). They are pretty much selling the same stuff and if they actually let you looked without bothering you then you might actually buy something! They were a nuisance!!

Seriously though that was the only downside (apart from the ocassional downpour of rain but we was expecting that). I would recommend it to friends/family without a doubt. We havent got children but you could see that if we did have then they would be very well catered for!

Would definitely consider returning. We paid under £700 each for one week so we found that it was excellent value for money (booked 6 weeks ago).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We went to dreams for our wedding may5th to 20th and loved every single minute of it. I have been to other all inclusives but this was a cut above. From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty. It was the perfect place for our wedding, so stress free and beautiful. Special thanks to Yanna our wedding coordinator.

I get annoyed to see people moaning about the food as it was absolutely superb. There are 7 restaurants we never had to book or queue (French, Italian, Asian, Seafood, Steak, Buffet, Dominican and Mexican). We ate at all but the Dominican and this is what we thought:

Seafood Grill Steak house-We had our wedding reception here, the Rib Eye steaks are amazing! A special metion must be made to Manuel the manager who arranged our reception and made us feel so welcom, nothing is too much trouble. Also their lunch menu is great.
French and Italian- Lovely modern and air-conditioned. Pork loin, Lamb, beef fillet, Cheesecake and meringue all excellent.
Mexican- good choice and lovely food
Wold buffet- Good as buffets go but you're missing out BIG TIME if you dont make the most of the restaurants.
Asian-lovely sweet and sour pork, pad thai, beef and mushrooms! very impressed.
Seafood- Lobster ravioli and lobster bisque lush!

The all inclusive really is just that, i ordered a bottle of champagne on room service most days for free which really made a difference.

We got to know the entertainers quite well all of which are lively and dont make you feel uncomfortable. Special mention for Coca Cola, Caramelo, Chocolate, Pikachu and Pablo Picasso especially look out for picassos horse. All of the entertainers were very talented and put on great shows in the evening.

The nightclub is good as far as hotel clubs go, we had a real laugh in there. Only drawback is when its busy rude men seem to get there own way by pushing in to buy drinks.

The coffee shop is a welcome retreat from the sun if u fancy a pastry and one of the wide selections of drinks.

I really cant recommend this resort enough it is pure luxury. When we got home we missed it so much we have already booked for next may.

Dont be put off by bad reviews, im a fussy eater and i loved the food! Only drawback was the airport transfer but we soon got over it when we arrived, well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

After a 2 day volcanoe delay, a 9 hour flight and a 2 hour bumpy bus ride we arrived at dreams la romana. And even after all that malarki my girlfriend and i were pleasantly surprised to see a well presented hotel followed by a warm welcome with champayne...Room was very nice with a full fridge in which i immediatly attacked.. we arrived early hours so we decided to wonder around and still found food and drinks and a late disco which helped us wind down after a 2 day journey...Hotel is very nice and the staff cant do enough for you.. from eating ala carte every night to room service with champayne.. which is very nice by the way!! All in all this hotel is the best ive have stayed at by a mile.. its the getting there and back thats dampens the mood..., We met a couple who only booked the week and after a two day delay they barely got 5 days.. sorry guys :>(
Weather.. Awesome for 12 days then rained for 2.. Had a couple of nights rain early on but that only made it fresh... I will deffo return to dreams, its a memory that will stick :>)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My family stayed at the Dreams La Romana resort May 15, 2010 – May 22, 2010. Overall, this place is simply fantastic. If there is anything to be improved, it is the quality of the food. The temperature was in the nineties every day and we had next to no rain. Below are additional details.

Rooms
We had 2 adjoining rooms in building 2. The rooms themselves were lovely; the bathrooms were a bit rundown. In one of the bathtubs there was a rust spot about the size of a quarter. There is a mini fridge restocked each day with beer, water and Coca Cola products, a flat screen TV, hair dryer, safe, 2 large closets, extra pillows and blankets. I’ve read reviews about the walls being super thin; I have to tell you though we did not have any trouble with noise. The only time I heard anything loud enough to be distracting was when the housekeeping staff was moving furniture just above us to clean.

Staff
The staff is amazing. I give A+++ to the entertainment staff, Explorer’s Club staff and concierge. These people work very hard to make sure you are having a good time. Housekeeping, bartenders and servers also do a great job! The staff in the spa is very pleasant and accommodating.

Beach
The beach is beautiful and very clean. The water is a bit cloudy close to the beach because of all the powdery sand in it, but if you swim out by the pier its much clearer. One day we saw quite a few fish by the pier. I did not have a lot of luck snorkeling off of this beach because the water was a bit rough and not very clear at times. I heard if you swim out to the coral reef there is good snorkeling there, but it was too far to swim with children. The kids enjoyed the ocean trampoline. Note, the beach area is topless. There are lots of lounge chairs; there was never a day we couldn’t find some open ones.

Pools
The main pool has an inflated iceberg for children to climb, water volleyball; they also play water polo here in the afternoons. We spent most of our time at the infinity pool where the swim up bar is. This pool is right next to building 2, where our rooms were. The pool areas are not topless. It was difficult at times to find an open chair at the infinity pool.

Food
There was plenty to eat, we certainly didn’t starve, but the options were disappointing-not terrible, just disappointing. The only exception to this is the Seaside Grill. We had wonderful lunches and dinner there each time we visited.

Transportation
If I were to do anything different it would be to fly directly into La Romana instead of Punta Cana. Turinter Tours transported us by van from the Punta Cana airport. This was the worst part of our trip. Three Turinter reps piled into the front seat. We dropped two of them off a couple of towns away from Punta Cana, at their homes I guess? We also stopped for fuel. Our driver spoke very little English and drove like a mad man. I felt endangered many times. About an hour into the drive, the driver circled a block and pulled into a driveway and told us we would stop here for ten minutes. We realized it was a store and he wanted us to by stuff, but we refused and insisted on him taking us to the hotel, which he did. Thankfully on our return trip to the Punta Cana airport we got a different driver who was much more pleasant and did not drive like a lunatic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I returned a week ago from my wedding at DLR. We were there for 2 weeks and had 22 guests stay for the first week. The resort is amazing and all guests were extremely happy with everything. Most guests stayed in Block 2, some of us in Block 4 and a few in the preferred section in Block 7. Out of all of our guests rooms the ocean front suits (also included in the preferred club) in Block 4 were by far the best. The view was amazing and the room was large and gorgeous. The garden view rooms in Block 4 were ok. Not the nicest rooms I have stayed in but they did their job. The rooms in Block 2 were the oldest of all the rooms I saw. They had the tub/showers which were rusted. A few of my guests said that they had issues with the sinks and tubs not draining as well as our air conditioning wasn’t working the first day, but after a call to reception the problems were quickly fixed.

The food was very good for an all inclusive resort. The choice of al a cart restaurants was fantastic and the no reservation policy was great. We had a group of 24 going for dinner most nights and it was never an issue to get us all in at the same times. We had either tables of 10, 6 or 4. My favourites were the French, Seaside Grill, Asian and Mexican. I only ate at the buffet for one dinner (Mexican) and it was quite good. Others in my group said that the buffet was good when they went. The free room service was great and came in handy quite a few times.

The beach was fantastic!!! Although it is not very long for walking, it was more than big enough for the size of the resort and there were always loungers available. There is fantastic snorkeling right off the beach. You just have to swim out from the center of the beach, passed the swimming ropes/buoys and out to the white sticks/markers. I have a large interest in snorkeling and scuba diving and this size of reef right off the resort’s beach was great. There were not many corals, but there was some and there was numerous fish always around. This was also a little snorkeling around the pier.

We went on 6 dives with Gri Gri Divers (the dive shop on site) and they were fantastic! We also booked a group tour for snorkeling and scuba diving at Catalina Island and it was well worth it. I would definitely recommend a trip to Catalina Island. Even if you don’t scuba dive or snorkel it is a beautiful island with an amazing beach. We also had the entire group do a sunset booze cruise with Gri Gri Divers for our stag and stagette. All the guys went off to the Chavon River and the girls went to Saona Island. Our boat drivers were so much fun and helped to make the night memorable.

My husband and I got a couples relaxation massage in a hut beside the gazebo. It was great!!! Just make sure you catch the spa staff by the pools when they are handing out coupons. We were able to get 50% off, so it turned out to be $80 US for 50 min for the both of us.

The daily night shows were good. They had a cirque de sole night and a magic show which were awesome! I believe that the shows are on a 2 week rotation.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I just want to say from the start dont listen to all the bad reviews, as i like to read about where im going to stay and was nearlly put off going from them. The hotel was great something more than i thought it would turn out. The beaches are stunning and the service is overwelming. The week we were there the weather was very hot apart from the last day and night before we had some heavy rain, which was nice to cool down. There is only one bad thing i will mention about the hotel and thats the rooms can be very noisey if your the kind of people who like to go to bed early. The walls are thin and the doors are loud coz u have to ban them shut. If u want a quieter room ask for a high room and quiet. we were on the top floor in block 7 was nice away from the main area. We had some loud french family next to us who got up early for their continental breakfast and our american friends who came in late every night drunk falling up the stairs lol (all inclusive). we didnt get much sleep. But i say its all part of the holiday nowhere is quiet. The food is great and the drinks are flowing with beach service. we couldnt have asked for a better holiday just keep telling yourself "im in the carribean". Take a trip to la seona its stunning and worth the money the speed boat ride is wicked. If you want a luxury and relax on the white sandy beaches then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.