We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to this resort several times and always look forward to seeing Iris. Iris Marten is wonderful! she has been so helpful and always welcomes us witha smile. She is always so friendly and accomodatng!! She is a wonderful asset to the Dreams Team!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,115
    1,323
    496
    168
    101
See reviews for
1,677
2,359
55
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

just returned from this hotel,it did not meet our expectations.it is in a beautiful setting with a good layout and exceptional gardens,but the rooms,no privacy,you can hear normal voice conversations on either side.the food ,after three attemts to eat in the world buffet restaurant,sadly the food on the hot plates was allways cold.the worst area which was unable to cope especially after the evening show finished was the lobby bar,most tables had only two chairs each and there was not many tables.premium drinks were also unavailable most of our vacation.the bar staff and the entertainment team were brilliant.this hotel needs attention and is no comparison with similar in the punta cana area.

Room Tip: choose a high floor,but our room had a woodpecker in the roof space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konken
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If I were to rate this property purely on wedding coordination I would eagerly give it 5 stars! My sister recently celebrated her wedding here and the wedding coordinator that assisted us, Jenny Goicoechea, made it a truly spectacular event and a truly special time for our family! Even with a lot of last minute requests, Jenny was so accommodating and friendly and the set up turned out even better than we had imagined!

As far as the resort, it is a great place for families although I do concur with other reviews that with the constant entertainment, if your room is in a certain area in the resort, it will be noisy until about 11 pm when it all shuts down. We were in building 4 which was right next to the main pool with all the entertainment. With that said, I was pleasantly surprised that the areas available for wedding ceremonies and receptions still maintained a good bit of privacy. If you want more privacy during your stay, I would recommend staying in the preferred club area.

I also agree with review that the rooms themselves are more outdated than pictured on the website although the bathrooms are quite nice. However, the master honeymoon suite is gorgeous and in an exclusive location, definitely worth it if you get married and plan to stay there.

The spa is fabulous, gorgeous ambience and the ladies in the bridal suite did a wonderful job on hair and makeup. It was great having a separate area for the wedding party and family to enjoy.

As far as the food, the World Cafe was a good option for a family with young kids because there was a large variety available for kids as well. I highly recommend Jungla restaurant on Sundays when they serve Dominican food. It was by far the best meal we had there and a great atmosphere.

Unfortunately, our preschooler got a parasite infection the day before we left but the doctor at the clinic on site prescribed medication that worked quickly with no side effects. And we got in and out of there fairly quickly. The staff was wonderful to take care of the room while we were at the clinic and it was nice coming back to a really clean room after a rough night of sickness.

All in all, we would gladly go back as a family although for couples or just adult friends, I think maybe AMresorts adult only resorts might be a better option.

Room Tip: Partial ocean or ocean view have the best views. Rooms in buildings furthest from the pools are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

haven't been to this hotel in over 11 years I was surprised to see the new ownership and additions to the property. The servers in the buffet area Jose W, Puente and Julio M, made our stay amazing. The restaurants are great but lack a variety in the choices to eat. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends and will properly return here in a few years.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my first time at Dreams La Romana and I would keep on coming back every time. I loved the staff and entertainment was top notch. Thank you to Shirley Sanchez for planning out my daughters 1st Birthday Party on the beach, it was beautiful and classy. Thank you to Lookey Lookey and Eddie Murphy and all the bar tenders/waitresses for your excellent service and keeping all 26 entertained. Definitely coming back one day!!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This a completely honest review of Dreams La Romana. The good, the, bad and the awful.

When we arrived we instantly felt relaxed. A warm welcome from the bell boys with welcome home and a glass of champagne.
Check in was quick and smooth with lots of friendliness and smiles.

We walked to our room building 7 and waited about half hour for the bell boy to drop our cases.

Quick freshen up and out to dinner, himitsu the asian which i have reviewed further down.

A quick drink and watching the entertainment team do something like fruity musical chairs, we were ready to sleep.

The next day because of the time difference we were up and out by 6 watching the beautiful sunrise and off to explore. An early breakfast, the gym and a nice spot on the beach. This truly was paradise, I couldnt fault this resort.

Yes under the thin layer of sand was concrete and the entertainment was a bit hit and miss (but they tried so hard) but what did it matter, we were on vacation!

This is where our relaxation started to disappear.
On our first day we left a $20 tip for the maid with the intention of leaving more over our 10 day stay. Well i think this is by far the most appalling maid service i have ever had. We emailed Louise previously to ask what toiletries were in a standard room so we knew what to buy and pack. Moisturiser, shower gel, shampoo she replied. We didn't have a top up of any of these things even after writing notes in Spanish requesting these, the vanity kit was half used (cotton wool and cotton buds) only the nail file left in the packaging and she just left the nail file in the box and did it back up, not replacing the kit we clearly used. Floors were not cleaned as marks stayed there throughout our stay and believe me they could be removed, there were cracks in tiles, hairs left in the sink and shower- post room 'cleaning' and the loose grate in the shower cut my toe. This had been loose since the beginning.
The most annoying thing was we left our room at 8 AM latest and returned at 5ish and by day 5 i had to call the housekeeping dept THREE TIMES because they had not left any towels in our room!!!! Very very frustrating having to hang around waiting for towels to be delivered. I also had to chase the maids down the hallway to get replacement shower gel, moisturiser etc.

The room was spacious and airy. The air conditioning did the trick and the bed was soo soo comfy! In the bathroom there was loose plug sockets resulting in plugs not staying in the socket.
There was no brown directory in our room and no room service menu. We asked for this on sat sun and tues before we finally received it on Wednesday night.

No water left near our sink for brushing our teeth as other reviewers mentioned.

The sickness situation was atrocious. It made us miserable. This is most definitely food related. On advice from TA and desperately not wanting to get ill we took bleach wipes, and tons of germ gel. We used these right from getting on the plane wiping down arm rests and the TV screen to eating out, after touching most things. We wiped down the menus and the arms of the chairs. We did not drink alcohol during the day, only water and we did not drink any cocktails so nothing containing pineapple, coconut etc. We both had horrendous stomach upset and i also had vomiting. My boyfriend rarely gets ill, he has an iron stomach. I was ill from Tuesday 4 am - Monday night and he was ill from Wednesday night until Sunday night. Days of our holiday ruined that we cant get back, 4 missed dinners, drinks, entertainment- because id really come all the way to the DR to stay in bed or be in the bathroom. Even after the severe stomach upset stopped we felt drained and unable to drink alcohol or eat as we had no appetite to do so.
I am so angry that bad practice of food handling/ keeping guidelines is allowed to go on like this and ruin peoples holidays. And to all the people advising 'use common sense In what you eat' why should you?? Why shouldn't you be able to pick what is being offered and eat it like anywhere else? Why should you wonder if it has been cooked/ looked after properly??
I was so fed up with the lack of cleanliness/ attention to replacing towels etc in our room that i went to the managers cocktail party to speak with someone. The general manager let my boyfriend see the Dr for free and gave us some gatorade. He sent someone to fix the shower grate that day. He also sent a healthy room service menu that they have specifically for ill people. I was also able to see the Dr after mine got worse again. I am grateful for the action taken but it still doesn't help that half our holiday had been wasted.

We didn't get offered hand gel at restaurants only at the buffet so please take your own out with you.

Buffet- breakfast good large hot and cold selection. I really enjoyed this meal when i was well enough to eat. The pancakes and french toast were lovely and omelettes were freshly cooked. Annoyingly there was never usually any cups, or missing knives, forks or both on a daily basis and as the staff were so busy it was hard to get their attention. Linette at the door was brilliant so friendly and kind!

Himitsu - small portions. Nice food. Friendly staff. The second time we went they got our order so wrong even after pointing out everything on the menu twice! Lovely atmosphere.

Bordeaux- Very good. Food flavoursome, good portions. Staff really earnt big tip. Would have loved to have visited more than once.

Jungle restaurant- the food was not good but the service was amazing such friendly people on a lovely beach setting.

El patio- we drunk budweiser here and really enjoyed the food and good service. Highly recommend.

The walls are incredibly thin. And the staff seemed to be loudest. Chatting up girls etc, slamming doors while your sick boyfriend has literally dropped off to sleep for two seconds and will be up darting out of bed in pain any minute is really quite frustrating. I was impressed with the room service guys, they were polite and friendly and very quiet when my boyfriend was asleep. Thank you!

On one night we were both very ill and had just fallen to sleep. We got a phone call waking us up from a member of staff to say someone had complained our TV was too loud even though we didn't have the tv on for our entire stay. When i explained that we did not have it on he just repeated himself.

The security were brilliant and they made me feel very safe.

The groundsmen were brilliant, the beach was raked every morning and they were forever busy with things to do keeping the resort tidy and saying Ola!

Some staff were lovely. Some very rude. The towel guys at the beach would not speak to you at all sometimes. The souvenir shop girls were incredibly rude, full of attitude. We sent a postcard on November 10th and it still has not been received. The reception staff and concierge were lovely 10/10 for them. The general manager helpful. Bar staff 50/50. I found myself waiting for a while whilst others who got there after me were served at the beach bar. Generally the staff did this resort proud. The entertainment guys, Treasure, la bomba, picasso all crazy and so funny, got you involved and got you to have a laugh. The dance troop were also fab! They must all practice so hard.

If you are well and you can enjoy lots of food, drink and entertainment then great - make the most of this stunning resort and you will have a lovely relaxing holiday. But if you paid quite alot actually and are sleeping through days or spending it cooped inside your bedroom/ bathroom in utter discomfort then you will agree with my review.

I always saw plenty of sunbeds available and lots of orange towels for preferred club members in the normal areas.

On our last day we had a couples massage overlooking the sea- wow! The spa staff, at reception and the therapists were amazing. The massage was the best i have ever had and the experience was so relaxing. Thanks spa girls. Cannot recommend that enough.

The sundial which is put under your door every night is very interesting, i am not sure why people are complaining about the restaurants opening on rotation as even if you are there for 7 days you should have a chance to visit them all.

This holiday was meant to be relaxing, spending time together as we don't see eachother often and my boyfriend has 2 big exams to revise for. Not much revision got done due to illness sadly.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at Dreams La Romana from 4th to 18th November 2014. We had a great holiday, could not fault hotel in any way. We were in block 7, very quiet block. Rooms slightly dated but always clean, request for pillows etc met quickly. Food excellent, ate at the French, Italian, Seaside Grill, Asian and Seafood restaurants, food of a good standard. We liked not having to pre book tables, only had to wait on 1-2 occasions for a table. Breakfast at buffet restaurant good. Lunch at Barefoot Grill, burgers very tasty as was the fresh pizza from the pizzeria. Served lunch at Seaside Grill also excellent.
Bar staff excellent in particular Rolando, Diomedy and Indiana who served us drinks by the pool. Grounds immaculate as we're the public areas. Beach lovely water clear and warm, pool areas nice, always got a sunbed. All staff we encountered always very friendly.
We paid for wifi excellent coverage any where in hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you have rated your experience as a 5 star experience, and we are so pleased that your vacation with us exceeded your expectations

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food selection and we appreciate all of your wonderful feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.