We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Two weeks in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Firstly I will start by saying this is a return visit , which is very rare for us ,but we spent a week here in March 2011 and vowed to return ,now November 2014 here we are again and we've not been disappointed
Our flight was some three hours late arriving so we were more than ready to arrive at Dreams
The greeting with a glass of bubbly was very welcoming and within minutes we were in our room overlooking the pool with as requested a sea view
From here on in there was nothing that was too much trouble for any member of staff we came into contact with cleaner, maintenance man, entertainment team,barman,waiter or chef they were all happily committed to providing anything we required for us to enjoy our holiday
We have travelled to a significant number of All Inclusive resorts throught the world and would have no hesitation recommending Dreams La Romana
Yes we had to wait some evenings to be seated in the restaurant of our choice but in the two week period we were there I think the longest we waited was 20 minutes and with a bar next door that was not a problem and like they say GOOD things come to those that wait and my word the food is good
After dinner could be spent in various ways sampling the to die for cocktails in the lobby watching the nightly show or just finding a quiet corner and chillin
The entertainment team spend probably 2/3 of the day dreaming up and performing shows which although not West End or Broadway were very pleasing to the eye and lots of fun they performed a different show every night we were there and whilst we didn't attend everyone the ones we did were excellent
I could go on complementing the various parts of hotel but the only real way to experience this is to stay here
I'm finding it difficult to come up with something negative but then I realised our two weeks is almost up and in 36 hours we'll be home and I can think of nothing more negative than the thought of leaving Paradise

Room Tip: Ther are always going to be people who get a kick out of moaning but trust your own gut feeling So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,103
    1,321
    494
    169
    100
See reviews for
1,672
2,354
55
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wotnoketchup
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from another dreams resort, this time from la Romana after visiting dreams palm beach twice before. The resort is a little older but in my opinion a little bit better, stunning beach and sea, loads of stuff to do and the staff cannot be faulted. The resorts are immaculately kept and spotlessly clean and there is something for everyone, I have to mention the staff because they make such an effort, many thanks to Rocio Playa, Ronnie coffee boy and Belkis Fruta, your all 5*,

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twigster100
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had read reviews about Dreams La Romana before booking our holiday, and they were partly the reason we decided to book; so we felt we should write on our return too. Put simply, this hotel is everything it says on the tin. An all inclusive resort, with lots of different restaurants, a beach, lots of great pools and even more great cocktails!

Overall the holiday was really good. We upgraded to Preferred Club - definitely do this when you make the booking if you can as the price we originally had was cheaper (only £80 each) than what we ended up paying at the hotel. The main pluses are the unlimited wifi, beautiful setting for breakfast by the sea, and the 'private' beach (next to the main beach but you get nicer sun loungers and palm umbrellas - much needed when the rain comes down!). The private pool is lovely, but does get busy; ironically busier than the two main pools.

The hotel is spotlessly clean. The only downer for us really was the food; which contrary to other reviews was not particularly good, and certainly not up to scratch for a 4-5* hotel. We won a romantic dinner for two where we had the best food we'd had all week - not sure if it's worth the $200 though.

Staff were friendly and happy to help, but things did get lost in translation sometimes. I fell ill while we were there (nothing to do with the food) and even got a call from room service asking if I'd like anything else to be sent up to the room to make me feel better!

Overall, a good week all round, and if you're looking for a getaway where you can do nothing or be as active as you want (they have a jam-packed entertainment schedule) it's definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Well i'm going to moan a lot within this review BUT I will end on some positives if you want to skip to the end.

Moans:


* Arrival - I arrived to find that a room had not been reserved for me (bearing in mind this had been booked for 6 months previously). After a long journey I just wanted to get to my room yet this was delayed by 45 mins or so.

* Room - my room was one of the best I have ever stayed in. Roomy, comfortable bed, high ceilings. HOWEVER, it was directly behind the entertainment stage meaning I was either kept awake until 12pm or woken up very early every morning.

* Restaurants - this is what ruined the holiday the most for me. The restaurant has a no reservation system which one of the best selling points for us. BUT what they do not tell you is that some restaurants are closed every night. Our first week was a nightmare, we could wait up to 2 hours to be seated - and then the service was so SLOW I would be falling to sleep at the table dying of thirst. Some nights we noticed that some people who arrived after us were seated BEFORE us. I went to complain to concierge. Their solution was for us to tell them which restaurant we would like to go to before 3pm on the same day and they would reserve us a table. Sure enough we walked straight into the restaurants for the remainder of the holiday. DISGUSTING. Also, after talking to some other residents from America, it seems common practice to have this preferential treatment.

* Service - I would say 95% of the staff were miserable, overworked and rude 100% of the time. Apart from Bennie in the main restaurant - Lovely guy.

Wasps - wasp infestation in most of the bars - be careful. Many of the staff are stung on a daily basis, I felt so sorry for them.

Positive Points:


* Location and scenery - beautiful, paradise. Very well kept beach, raked every morning.

* Food - French, sea-side grill and Pan-asian TO DIE FOR. Very good. Couldn't complain about any of the food in the restaurants. The fruit boat on the beach was AMAZING, and the woman who serves on their is one of the nicest members of staff.

* Coco Cafe - very good coffee, good service (warning: addictive cookies).

Sunloungers - plentiful, didn't have to fight for them for the whole holiday.


Recommended trips:

*The natural swimming pool - one of the most spectacular places i've ever been to. Swarming with star fish. A memory I will treasure forever.


*Snorkeling around the pier - you can rent snorkels from the diving stand. Take a banana with you :) the fish love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nassau county
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This resort was very clean, the food and service were very good, and the water beautiful. The activities were fun, especially the aerobics with Picasso and Campbell. Joan kept the gym clean and in good order. Communication was difficult at times with the restaurant staff, maintenance and housekeeping, which required someone to interpret what we needed. Overall, the trip was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel staff just could not have done any thing more to make our stay so nice.the main pool bar staff so good ,Carlos ,Evelyn,yabakis work so hard ,all the staff in the diners just want to please you the food is excellent,if you go there go and see Anna in the Asian she is so good,the animation team also are so good we had such a laugh with treasure,usher and Eddie Murphy give it a try we are going back 2015 and our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ok here is the good and the bad...

Bad: My husband and I both got food poisoning on the trip. The beginning of our trip was great but after our "romantic dinner" the two of us became incredibly sick!! Fever like symptoms and couldn't leave the room for an entire day. The symptoms lasted for about a week so be very, very conscience of what you eat while visiting. Don't order drinks at the restaurant that aren't pretty basic. I ordered dirty martinis with dinner at two different restaurants and not sure what the heck was in that glass.
Good: The staff is wonderful, especially Treasure!! All are friendly and helpful with the guests. The resort is beautiful, feels like paradise there. Guests are provided with entertainment throughout the day with endless activities. While we did get sick, I will say that I appreciated the amount of food options in the resort. Guests are able to try a wide variety of foods in the restaurants.

TIPS: Don't forget hair spray, conditioner, tampons,etc.These items are upcharged like crazy if you have to buy them at the resort... Bring a tumbler or something for the bartenders to fill instead of being served tiny drinks from the bar, save yourself trips to the bar... Make sure you order everything WELL DONE!... Don't go outside the resort. We did a horseback riding excursion through the resort, which we felt was a responsible price. The guide was great but the actual trip was a bit sketchy. The horses looked malnourished and part of the trip is riding on the busy streets with cars going around you.

As I read this aloud,it sounds like we didn't have a good time. That isn't the case, I just want everyone to be aware to ensure your that your trip here is amazing. The resort and staff are great but I'm not sure that we would go back simply because of the food poisoning. Had that not happened then this place would receive 5 stars and a return visit from us.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.