We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Dominican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Dominican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here in 2012 and have to say was the best hotel I've ever been to rooms lovely and clean free mini bar with name brand drinks and free room service 24 hrs a day. Chinese and sea side grill restaurants were the best and spent most our nights there. No restrictions on how often you go to the restaurants and plently of choice with the different restaurants. Lots of bars and a club all with brand name alcohol aswell. Maid service and general hotel cleanliness was excellent aswell. Went on a trip to Soana island and recommend beautiful island and lunch and stopped off for dip and take pics of the starfish. Plenty of entertainment at night and even do couples night on the beach where they play English songs for couples to relax on the sand or loungers. Will definitely be back and such good value for money

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Grace,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your vacation here at our wonderful hotel, we are delighted that it exceeded your expectations and we very much appreciate all of your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,190
    1,351
    502
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,711
2,400
57
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I am here, right now, typing this review from my lovely, cushioned lounge chair on the preferred beach. The sun is out, there is a breeze which keeps you from boiling, and I am watching people from all over the world, families, honeymooners, young and old, floating around in the warm blue ocean in front of the soft sand beach. The sea is so salty, you could fall asleep floating on your back! There are absolutely no vendors walking down the beach trying to sell you stuff. My drink just arrived with a smile from the typically friendly waitress. I watch the birds and butterflies flying around as I sip my cold cocktail. Ahhhhhh! Shortly I will retire to our slightly small, but nicely furnished, beautifully clean, and bountifully supplied room for a nice rain shower before what I am sure will be another fine meal. (Perhaps we have avoided any wait times so far by eating on the early side, before 7).
I agree with many of the reviews I have read, which comment on the very friendly and helpful staff (how does a concierge know your room number after meeting you only once before?). The grounds are lovely, and the location is great. I understand that Punta Cana is more lively, but if you want a peaceful, relaxing beach vacation, this fits the bill.
Dreams is a very large (760 or so rooms) all inclusive, so don't expect isolation. However, if you want a more peaceful pace, with a quieter, less crowded pool and beach area, the preferred club option provides that. It also provides breakfast choices other than the World Cafe, which is fine but very large and not facing the ocean. Preferred club also gets free wifi.
One thing....the Bayahibe area is known as having the best snorkeling in the DR. But if you are a dedicated snorkeler, another island in the Carribean will suit you better. Not a whole lot to see.
I have been to other all-inclusives, and in my opinion things here are very well organized and managed. Plenty of helpful staff everywhere. It is also the best all-inclusive I have been to I terms of the quality of the food. The French restaurant was great! Someone should also mention the flamingoes in the garden!
My only real complaint is that when you first arrive, you need to fend off more than one sales-person trying to talk you into a 90 minute "private" lunch while they try to sell you a very expensive time-share. But they do eventually take no for an answer.
One more thing. DR is the only Caribbean island I know of with a direct flight from Denver (thanks Frontier). I highly recommend Dreams La Romana.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Joan

We are so pleased to hear that you are enjoying your time here at our beautiful hotel, and we thank you for taking the time away from your vacation to share you experience so far.

We wish the rest of your vacation is just as perfect!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Location beautiful .hotel&grounds spotlessly clean inclu toilets.staff gave excellant service.especially william & his team @ seaside grill for breakfast & lunch.thankyou to lenin @ seaside grill you made our day @ dreams corner very special.we feel you have become a friend to us.food in evenings was ok.3 stars.service was always 5 star.a couple of evenings we felt like uninvited guests at wedding receptions as the wedding parties were very close to the other guests.burgers at b.b.q.were raw inside.we were recommended to this resort.it was a good holiday .thankyou dreams.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you kindly for the time you have taken to tell us about your experience here at our beautiful hotel, we are so pleased that your time with us met with your expectations, and we appreciate all of your feedback, both positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Elmhurst, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just got back from Dreams La Romana. We were there from July 11, 2014 to July 18, 2014. We checked in at the preferred club. Since arriving everyone was really friendly. We got room in the building seven, 3rd floor, with a toddler not the best thing specially carrying a stroller up and down the stairs. So we told them immediately and two days later we were changed to a first floor room in the same building. The hotel is beautiful if you want to relax or party you had the option. 3 pools, preferred pool (quiet) but had the best liquor (only for preferred guests), Main pool has kids pool and Jacuzzi (most of the shows were in the pool activities like volleyball and water polo and the bar pool. We used all three pools but spent more time in the main pool and the bar pool. We at the Japanese restaurant the service was really slow to order and get the food at one point to had to tell one of the waiters to please take our order because of the 19 months old son was hungry, we ordered and still took long. We went to the seaside grill, the food was amazing, tried to go more times but every time the line was just so long to seat in. Most of the time we ate at the World Café for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Just wished they had more variety. Some days we ate at the grill by the beach and one day we ate the BBQ party at the beach. We also tried the Oceana, the food was great too. I must say that this resort was one if not the best resort I ever been too. The Service, the Food, the rooms, everything was great. We also went to the Spa to get a massage, we loved it very relaxing. Sad I didn’t have time to go again. We visited the Saona Island, I loved it. The only thing I didn’t like it the beach there was very rocky when going in the water after that was fine. I had massage and had food there. Our 19 months old son loved it especially when they took us to the side of the beach where the water was clear and we took pictures with the starfish. We went back to land with the speed boat. That was fun my son was loving it, felt like we were in rollercoaster ride. The shows at night were sometimes done at the main pool or at the theater. I think the shows were not that great comparing with other resorts. The fun shows were the one that the guests participate. But overall, I will definitely recommend this resort to everyone. It has everything for everyone. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us, and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience

We are so pleased to know that your vacation with us met with your expectations, we are happy you enjoyed our delicious food selection and we appreciate your kind comments about our staff

We would love to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been to numerous all inclusives and this by far has been the best. All you can eat lobster on the beach in a romantic setting was amazing. Extremely clean resort and beaches. Staff was very helpful and courteous especially Omega!!!! We will visit a Dreams again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts during your recent vacation and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience, we are thrilled to learn that your stay here exceeded your expectations and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at the Dreams la Romana for 2 weeks end of June. The place is beautiful and clean. From checking in to checking out everything was taken care of. The hotel surroundings and gardens are lovely. Pools and beach areas are great calm waters if you want to swim or snorkel in the sea. The staff throughout the hotel where ever you go are very friendly and helpful. There are several specialist restaurants as well as the buffet one all wonderful, the food is superb !!! plenty of choice . A big thank you to Dreams for making our stay feel important, I will definately look into staying at one of the Dreams resorts in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in block 2000 close to main buffet and not far from lobby area there are only 3 floors. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to be your hosts during your recent vacation and we thank you kindly for all of your feedback,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our wonderful resort, we are particularly thankful for the comments about our hardworking staff, we very much appreciate your kind comments.

Come back and visit us soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Excellent experience in my honey moon. specially the people (Berkys (Reception), Belkis Fruits and josue reception. Excellent foods and facilities. It is a great place to share with you love(Wife), family, training and others. I have visited some resorts in differents areas in Dominican Republic, but the Dream Bayahibe D:R. is the most special in all the sense. I have visited twice and we are going to visit the next year.......Try to enjoy this experience you won´t regret......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Joseph

Thank you so much for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we appreciate all of your feedback.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are so grateful that you decided to share your experience, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.