We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“GREAT VACATION!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT VACATION!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Went last year with my boyfriend and we paid for the upgrade to preffered. ( VIP). And it was woth it. Great food and they have a great staff. Service was great! To reach there was a bit of a challenge, because a long road they were fixing but it was worth it. They receive us with champagne and help us right away. Its a allinclusive but they have like 6 diffrent type of restaurants. Just great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Angie,

A big thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your much anticipated vacation and we are thankful for the time you have taken to post a review of your stay here with us

We are very grateful for all of your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the benefits of our wonderful preferred club

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,685
    1,579
    583
    198
    120
See reviews for
1,970
2,781
67
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

To start with some excellent things e.g. a letter under the door apologising for them cutting the grass the next morning. Stephenie the drinks waitress was absolutely superb, always smiling and checking whether you wanted another drink in the Preferred Club. I ended up there by accident as when I booked there was only one room available and I didn't realise it was in the upgraded part! However I am really glad I did as the beach is crowded, with loungers on top of each other on the beach, I wouldn't stay here on the "normal" basis - not a derogatory comment about the people there as I would normally be one of them! The rooms were very well maintained by the maid, whenever a towel was used after a shower then it was replaced either after breakfast or when the beds were turned down. Beni a drinks waiter in the World buffet cafe was probably the best we had, you get moved around so you ended up having a different waiter most times. With lots of other restaurants to eat in during the evening it is perhaps a bit pedantic to say that there wasn't much choice in the buffet food but that is where we prefer to eat. Chilli nearly every night, pizza and noodles every night, quite disappointing although the breakfasts were good and up to the normal Dom Rep standard although there weren't any milk shakes. The entertainment team were better in the evening shows than I have seen elsewhere. On balance I enjoyed the 2 week holiday but I wouldn't go back again as the thing I really enjoy on Dom Rep holidays is a good long walk along the beach which you can do elsewhere, I guess that it only takes about 10 minutes here. I also enjoy sitting on the beach so that I can go for a quick dip, go sailing etc but by staying at the preferred club you are out of the way which has the benefit of being quieter and having more room but away from the sandy beach. We didn't know of any "upset stomachs" and there weren't any insects apart from a 3 foot snake that I spotted near the pool - I know a snake isn't an insect but you know what I mean!
A final comment, could some people from a certain nation not talk loudly when standing next to each other so that everyone hears their business and whilst at it could they not smoke cigars and stink the place out!

Room Tip: Block 7 in th preferred club on the ground floor that overlooks the sea and the pool were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time out to post a review of your experience here at Dreams La Romana, it was our pleasure to be your hosts.

We thank you very much for all of your feedback, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we always take on board all comments left to us by our much valued guests as this is an excellent way of moving forward in the future

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent 10 days at La Romana and we find that rare are the hotels that compares to this one. it is a great place for family, the kids really enjoyed it.
If you go for the Lobster dinner make sure the lobsters are well grilled

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay here at Dreams La Romana and we thank you for the time you have taken to write your 5 star review about your stay with us.

We are very grateful for your comments, and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back again in the future.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

First off, there have been a number of negative reviews of this resort posted to tripadvisor. We have vacationed for two weeks in February->March at this location seven times in the past seven years. We have had none of the negative experiences posted here on tripadvisor. It makes me wonder if competing resorts post these remarks here in an attempt to draw away business from Dreams to their locations. We have had nothing but wonderful experiences here. So my advice to you is questions these reviews -- even mine.
We have received no "perks" for visiting Dreams seven times and no one is influencing what I say here except my wife.
This resort is beautifully landscaped and staffed with some wonderful people. Two of the chefs at breakfast are great - William and Perikles (pronounced Pay - REE - klays) and the most delightful woman, Belkies, fixes a number of fresh juice options. The lunch waiters Henry Guzman and Carlos are saints. For dinner, Melkies serves various roasted meats - duck, beef, quail, etc.
The hostesses, waiters, and chefs primarily speak Spanish, but the resort holds classes in English for the staff, and holding a conversation with them is seldom a problem.
The rooms are immaculate and we have never had anything but the most delightful maids. They love to form the towels into animal shapes ... swans, elephants, cats, hearts. They go out of their way to wait on you. They change the sheets every day. Kudos to Nurys Pie and others.
When you first arrive at the resort, you are greeted by luggage porters who say, "Welcome Home", and your whole vacation feels like a home away from home.
My wife and I are really into snorkeling and the beach roped in area has many pieces of reef where numerous tropical fish hang out. The staff there encouraged me to take a roll from the bread table and feed the fish. We were surrounded by a large number of beautiful fish including snappers, angel fish, and sergeant majors. You can stand up in the swimming area and the crystal clear waters (on most days) make for fun snorkeling. Outside the swimming area a few yards farther out is a reef with larger fish. You can stand up out there as well and look into the water.
I have only written of the things we enjoy doing there and there is so much more that others find delight in ... great swimming pools, the great entertainment team, sail boating on small catamarans, trips to nearby islands, sun bathing, etc. You may find some other reviews here that mention some of these other items which in our seven years here we have not taken advantage of. Perhaps the best summary of our experience here is that we have been coming back seven years.

Room Tip: You can request special needs for a room from the concierge ahead of your arrival. We needed a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your time here at Dreams La Romana we are incredibly grateful for your feedback.

We are delighted that your time here exceeded your expectations once again, and we are extremely thankful for the loyalty that you continue to show our resort, thank you for highlighting the staff that helped to make your time here even more special, I am sure they will be thrilled!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Overall our stay was great and as the title suggests maybe this could be an "excellent" review. From the moment we stepped out of the cab we were treated with great care. The check-in was somewhat cumbersome since we paid for the Preferred Club and the front desk didn't realize this right away so we went back and forth about how they didn't have our reservation. The room was nice and kept very clean throughout the week by the staff. The preferred pool area was great and the bar servers were excellent. The beach and snorkeling from the beach were great.

Our biggest complaint was the food. The food seemed to be either great or really poor. At an all-inclusive I recognize some quality may be sacrificed but it played out like a game show when it came to ordering dinner.

Our other complaint was communication from the concierges on staff. The info they provided and all the work they did to set up excursions and other things for us was great but we never got final confirmation from either the main lobby concierge or the preferred club concierge. My wife and I are the relaxed type on vacation so we wouldn't have cared if the concierge didn't get something set up but we would've liked to know either way prior to 15 minutes before our excursion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Chris

We are honored that you allowed Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we are grateful for the time you have taken to tell us of your experience.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us here at our wonderful resort, we appreciate all of your feedback, this is an excellent way of us moving forward in the future, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just returned from an extraordinary weeks vacation from this fabulous resort. From the second that we arrived we knew this was a special place. Thirty six family members and friends embarked on a wonderful paradise. From the second we arrived we were treated as royalty, we were greeted with open arms and cold champagne. We stayed in building 4, very clean and close to the beach and both pools.

We had a very special birthday, my step-daughter's sweet sixteen. The Apple concierge Darling and Iris in Food and Beverage made sure that the event was very special for her. They decorated her room with beautiful balloons. Iris made sure that the staff at the Italian Restaurant made a special cake and they sang Happy Birthday to her in 5 different languages.

The entertainment team (Edwin (my dance partner), Picasso, Eddie Murphy, Omega, Lookey-Lookey and Kendall) worked so hard to provide fun for all.

On our last night the TEAM of Wonderful Employees mentioned TREATED all 36 of us to a private beach dinner with our very own rock band (from America). I was so impressed by this resort and all of the individuals that I mentioned that I will defiantly be back to visit my friends.

I highly recommend this resort to anyone thinking about visiting La Romana.

Room Tip: Building 4, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sharon

We are delighted to hear that you had an outstanding time here at Dreams La Romana and we are extremely grateful for the time you have taken to post a review of your experience.

We are delighted that your daughter enjoyed her birthday celebrations with us, and we will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff mentioned who helped make your stay even more enjoyable

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Dreams La Romana, it was everything and more that we remembered. We had emailed to tell them it was our Anniversary - wow, our door had a 'Happy Anninersary' banner on, inside there were balloons, flowers, fruit and rum - what a welcome.

Everybody was so friendly, always got time to smile and chat to you. The restaurants were fabulous - the Italian, French,Sea Side Grill and Oceana were our favourites. The Coco Cafe was just like Costa Coffee!
The Barefoot Grill was great lunchtimes - amazing Burgers!

The entertainment team were brilliant, they helped make our holiday, especially Lookey Lookey, Felix, Edwin and Andy. A special thank you to Jessica (hope your back is better), Diomedy (Lobby bar) and our cleaner Maria Quezada.

The shows were great, they all put in so much effort - the Beach Party was the best.

We were in block 3, which was lovely and central for the World Cafe and the pool - and very quiet at night.

Can't wait till next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you chose Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are very grateful that you have taken the time to share your experience

It is so great to learn that your stay with us exceeded your expectations, as a repeat guest we are so pleased that once again you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly hope to welcome you back a 3rd time!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.