We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just... Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just... Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just back from my holidays in Dominican Republic. Have to admit, that this was my 5th visit. In "Dreams La Romana" I stayed 3 times as every time there I feel like at home. Hotel is in a great location, very clean, friendly stuff. Have to say, every time I treated here in best standard. Huge selection of restaurants and bars, where you newer have to wait to be seated. What else???? Entertainment team! As they say "Good is not enough, we are excellent!". And I totally agree with that. they will newer allow you to have a boring minute. Hard working and always smiling people. Love this temperament! So, if you really want to have best holidays ever, go to "Dreams La Romana" and have unforgettable experience. By the way, - if you really want to learn how to dance Dominican merengue, dance with Omega, - he is the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

As a return guest to our wonderful resort may we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana once again as your holiday destination, it was our pleasure to welcome you back home.

We are so pleased that once more we have exceeded your expectations, and as always we appreciate all of your excellent feedback, your kind comments are a great honor for us

Lets hope we have the chance to welcome you back very soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,188
    1,349
    500
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,710
2,399
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at Dreams, La Romana in early February this year and I had an awesome time. So far this resort is the best one that I ever been to in Dominican Republic. I stayed in building number 4 which was close to everything, pool, beach, buffet, disco and the casino. The room was very nice and clean. There's a receptionist at every building. In number 4 was Darling Mendez which was very helpful and friendly, she helped us with restaurant reservations, activities reservations and was very informative. Restaurants were great, my favorite was the French restaurant. Food is delicious in restaurants and in buffet, so are the beverages. There's always some kind of show every evening so you won't get bored. There's always something to do through out the day. Great place for wedding, there were two during my stay. As for night life I spend my time in casino and then at the disco, the DJ there is great. I deffinetly recommend this resort to everyone and I'm planning on going back in December again.

Room Tip: I would recommend building number 4, great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Ivan

We are thrilled that you chose Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your stay with us.

We are so flattered and delighted with your wonderful review and we appreciate all of your great feedback, we are so happy we exceeded your expectations, and we sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed in the resort for 2 weeks from mid january, we were in a big group of 16 people from the uk travelling with thomson.

the hotel is beautiful, amazingly clean and overall the service was excellent. the buffet was great, although we had to queue several times for breakfast....just seemed to hit it at the wrong time some mornings. the al a carte restaurants were great...the only one we didnt really like was the jungle which was a shame as the setting was magical all a glow of an evening.

the rooms are nice, spacious and v clean. with a minibar,tea/coffee, safe and tv you really didnt need much more.

there are 2 pools one large one that we thought would be more noisy as it seemed to encourage the games and kids but infact was very chilled and the other one was smaller with the swim up bar which was lovely....we drank at the bar often, they serve the drinks in hard plastic glasses which to be fair had seen better days. although the cocktails were amazing!

if there was any negatives it would be that there is not enough sun beds on the beach......we were on the beach most days by 8am and would go for breakfast around 9am....how ever if we hadnt gone to the beach until after breakfast we would have not got beds. i often saw people complaining about the bed situation and people taking off other peoples towels so they could pinch the beds!


out of the group of 16 of us around 12 of us were ill, most of us with tummy trouble and 5/6 of us were sick with it too. we couldnt put our finger on what it was that made us ill although it did seem too much of a coincidence that it affected so many of us!

all in all though a great holiday and the pluses far out weighed the few small negatives.

we would most defo recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of your stay here at Dreams La Romana and we are honored to have been your hosts during your vacation.

We are very pleased that your time here met with your expectations, and we thank you kindly for all of your feedback, here at Dreams La Romana we take on board all comments that our much valued guests leave with us, both positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of us making improvements in the future'

Lets hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very good resort in a beautiful location. Facilities are outstanding and staff very friendly, service is excellent.Especially Geraldine!!!
Asian restaurant & main restaurant were really good.Looking forward to come back next year!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us of your experience.

We thank you for your positive feedback, it was our pleasure to serve you during your stay here and we most certainly hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had spent the week of Feb 16-23. I have been to the Barcelo Resorts in Punta Cana and in Costa Rica. They were all nice weather wise, but what really made my trip this time was the food and service!!! Dreams Resort in La Romana was great. No regrets at all. I want to thank Bienvenido "Benny". He is a waiter at the Buffet, for his amazing hard work, smiles and kind words. I also want to thank Ronnie the coffee boy at the Buffet who is practically running to make sure all orders are met. and we are all contempt. and finally Laposte another waiter from the Buffet. For his jokes and harmless pranks he plays on people like tapping their shoulder as he would walk by. To make us smile and laugh. He is man full of charm. I hope these men get recognized for their outstanding work. All other staff were very friendly, but these three have gone above and beyond... And remember you will always have a friend in Toronto, Canada!! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jordan

We are pleased that you chose Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are grateful that you have taken the time to post a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to learn that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, and I will certainly pass on your great feedback to those staff mentioned who helped make your stay even more enjoyable

It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My fiancé and I returned from our "Dreams" on February 20th and we are already checking the calendar for our next available time slot to escape back to "Dreams". I read many of the reviews before booking and found most to be good. From the moment we stepped out of the transfer vehicle to the moment we left, our experience at Dreams was awesome. Our room was everything we expected with a view of the main pool and partial view of the ocean. The housekeeper "youlanni" if I am not mistaken, cleaned the room twice a day with a turned down bed and chocolates left at the evening pass. The grounds, restaurants, beach, casino and bars were immaculate. Iris whom was in charge of food and drink was awesome seeing that our every need was met. Unlike many all inclusive resorts their alcohol list included top shelf spirits and was always given generously.

I thought the entertainment was above par, which I made some good friends in the entertainment group #7, lead by Eddie Murphy (not the comedian). All of the staff were friendly and genuinely seemed to care about their work ethic. There is a waiter in the Mexican that deserves a shout out, Ricardo Reyes, he jumped through hoops to make our dinner special and always had a smile on.

We hated to leave and even the checkout was painless thanks to Omega.

There are good dreams and there are nightmares, Dreams definitely fits the bill as a dream that brings a smile to your face.

Room Tip: I would think the 1st floor rooms obviously have more traffic in the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Rodney

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience

We are delighted that your time with us met with your expectations, and we thank you kindly for all of your great feedback, and I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the staff mentioned who helped to make your stay even more enjoyable

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back very soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I loved this resort itself, very pretty. But I come from Florida, so It wasn't anything that I was missing from home. NICE price though. The spa WAS AMAZING, and very affordable. The food was ok going down, but did not stay down unless it was pizza or eggs. I don't think I'll ever go back, but the experience was enough and the place was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Samantha,

Thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we are very grateful that you have taken the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that certain aspects of your time with us met with your expectations, we thank you for your kind comments about our onsite Spa, we are delighted you enjoyed the use of this.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy our extensive food selection, as well as our world café buffet we have 7 a'la carte restaurants to choose from as well as 24 hour room service, we are sorry this did not reach out to you as expected.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.