We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferrd Club Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Preferrd Club Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Best Bar in Club with Estefany and Carlos Gil!! The Cocktails Are exzellent ! The Service is very good and the People are all very friendly. The Roms are very luxury! I will be come back a Soon as pos!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - MarioHaemmerle

Date of review - 4th October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our luxury resort and we are very grateful for all of your feedback.

It would be a pleasure for us to serve you again should you return to us in the future

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,188
    1,349
    499
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,710
2,399
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

It is all beautiful here. The preferrd club is great. The bar is great. Estefany and Carlos Gil make a very good Job. They are both very nice and looking very good to there guests. We really enjoy every day here. The Cocktails from Carlos Gil are really good. We love them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - manulemanu

Date of review - 4th October 2013

Dear Guest

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are grateful for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear you time with us met with your expectations, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the benefits of our preferred club and I will certainly pass on your comments to those mentioned who made your stay more enjoyable.

it would be our pleasure to serve you once again should you return to us in the future

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bat in our room on arrival. Room was double booked and a 2nd couple had access to our room shortly after we had unpacked (accompanied by the same bell boy who introduced us to our room 20-30 mins earlier). Stray cats and birds roaming around the main buffet area during meal times. Ant problems at the fruit bar in buffet. Staff do not speak much English at all so any real problems take several frustrating attempts to resolve (some will be ignored and forgotten about). Hotel room walls are paper thin and any TV/hallway noise can be heard at all times. Overall experience was a nightmare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Andrew H

Date of review - 4th October 2013

Dear Andrew,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are grateful for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are extremely disappointed to hear that your time at our wonderful resort did not meet with your expectations and we are genuinely sorry for any inconvenience caused,

Please allow me to clarify some of the points you made, as we are located in the middle of a protected forest area wildlife is quite common, a bat in your room however is a very rare occurrence and we take constant steps to prevent this from happening, birds do often fly in our buffet area, but please understand that this is an open air restaurant so to prevent this happening would be rather difficult, this is also the 1st time anyone has ever mentioned anything about stray cats in our buffet and is not something the management have ever witnessed for ourselves, however thank you for bringing your issues to our attention.

Also, our staff here at Dreams La Romana do have a grasp on the English language, in fact a lot of them speak it fluently, we are very sorry if this did not reach out to you as expected.

We appreciate all feedback our much valued guests leave with us, positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 1 full week in this resort and I can truly say it was a relaxing experience.
We decided to land at the Santo Domingo Int’l airport because it was $300US cheaper than landing in the Romana Int’l airport. When it comes to price, it was worth it but it was a good 1hr drive (the hotel shuttle) from the airport to the hotel. That would have to be your decision!
The hotel has 6 restaurants and we ate at all 6 of them. I believe my favorite restaurant would be the Asian restaurant. But they were all great, can’t complain!
The hotel was extremely beautiful and best of all: it was ALL INCLUSIVE!
The resort was clean and our room was cleaned every day at about noon
I did have a small issue when checking in: When I book the hotel, I had requested (I called twice, and had an email confirmation) a room on the first floor as I just had leg surgery and I’m unable to really walk up and down the stairs. As I arrived to the resort at around 3pm (check –in is at 3pm) my room wasn’t ready. And they wanted to give me a room on the 3rd floor. Now, I worked a deal with them. Since my return flight was at 6pm and check-out was at noon, because of the delay in check-in they had to grant me the late check-out. They did and we were all happy!
Would recommend this hotel to family and friends? Yes I would. Would I return to this resort? Most definitely! I’m actually planning on going for New Year’s (we’ll see)
Thing's to do outside the hotel: (don't buy online, buy at the hotel) ride the quads in the sugar cane farm and party boat/snorkeling (I swam with nurse sharks: awesome!). Would not recommend to walk out side the resort on your own. I heard its not safe to wonder..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Nani M

Date of review - 3rd October

Dear Nani,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear your time at our wonderful resort exceeded your expectations, we are very grateful that you would recommend our resort to others and we are pleased to hear you are considering returning for new year, we do hope you are able to visit us again, it would be our pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous two week holiday at Dreams La Romana...chillaxed, socialised and spent some quality time with my husband.....Excellente.

We spent the daylight hours on the Beach being entertained by the fabulously energetic Pablo Picasso (his multitude of hats) and Jacob - from learning how to dance to toning up your batwings in the Water Aerobics. The Beach Bar Staff Excellente. Francisco always looked after us at lunchtime, our glasses were never empty and we always had a chair to sit on no matter how busy it got.....the pizza was extremely good...Pizza Chef Excellente....

Believe it or not we did not make it to all six restaurants, we enjoyed the World Cafe where we could sit outside and make an evening of our meal....but the restaurants that we did try we had no issues, aside from possibly the food being served extremely quickly - no time between courses - but hey nothing to stress about as one is on holiday...

Our evenings were mainly spent in the Lobby Bar and we did take in a couple of shows - the Entertainment Team give it 200%...Staff in the Lobby Bar always had a smile on their face no matter how busy and it can get hectic, especially after the shows finished. My one point of note here is that they do not always have the branded drinks you are after, maybe because it was extremely busy on some nights, it started off with Absolut but goodness knows what it was in the end, could not taste the vodka....hey ho, change your drink I say.....!!!

The Coffee Shop, fantastic - lovely way to spend half an hour after a day on the beach just watching the world go by....or an alternative to a big breakfast.....

Our room was in Block 7, quiet and definitely what we were after. Cecilia did a fantastic job every day, lots of lovely towel designs and flowers to come back to each day.....the room was spotless.

The grounds and gardens are maintained to a very high standard - those gardeners do a fantastic job in those temperatures, pruning, planting, mowing, raking, etc.

So from my husband, Lil (the Lilo) and myself keep it up and we look forward to returning in the not too distant future.....

Room Tip: Block 7 very quiet, we were on the ground floor and the one night it rained we did not hear a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Almondrops2013

Date of review - 3rd October

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear that your time with us exceeded your expectations, we are very grateful for all of your wonderful feedback, and are delighted that you are considering returning in the not too distant future, we do hope that happens as it would be our pleasure to be your hosts once more

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Have just arrived back from a fantastic 2 weeks at this hotel!!!!! We had fantastic weather 32 min everyday don't take any notice of weather channels they said rain everyday
The grounds are beautiful kept very tidy its is well looked after, the beach is amazing white sand and clear sea what more do you need..The pools were lovely and kept very clean and they was always sunbeds available both by the pool and beach no matter what time of day..
Our room was in block 7 and was lovely and kept very clean very happy with the room
There where 7 places to choose from to eat and we were happy with the food we only had one bad meal in the 2 weeks which was at the seafood restaurant and we didn't find the service very good either, our favourite was the seaside grill it was beautiful food and the service was excellent as soon as your drinks were empty they were there we went there a few times..The pizzas and burgers by the pool were also excellent.
The service from the waiters and staff was outstanding they went out of there way to make sure your happy, the beach waiters were up and down the beach all day serving drinks..we enjoyed the pool bar (Marino and Christina were our favourite) all the staff were always smiling.
The entertainment team were brilliant they work really hard at keeping everyone happy and the entertainment on nights was brilliant most nights Jacob was our favourite we loved our water aerobics everyday

Now for a few negatives we paid altogether $50 for wifi over the 2 weeks and was not happy at all we spent most our time complaining that we couldn't use our wifi coz it wouldn't connect which they never did anything about it I asked for some money back but they wouldn't the only place we got signal enough to FaceTime was in the coffee shop and I wasn't the only one not happy i think the wifi should be FREE its a rip of especially when it doesn't work like they said it should.
Another negative was the weekends it's was full of locals been there loud, leaving the place untidy and been generally rude, the biggest problem was getting served at the bar they pushed in got served before you even when you been waiting before you I think this needs to be addressed. Avoid the world cafe on weekends as well as it becomes extremely busy and your stood around waiting for food.
Also we enjoyed the casino but the girls working in there made you feel uncomfortable and the girl on roulette needs to crack a smile

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at dreams la Romana and would definitely return as there was more positives to this hotel the negatives




Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Trip Advisor response to -Lewis G

Date of review - 3rd October 2013

Dear Lewis,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are very pleased that despite some issues you had an enjoyable time at our resort, we are very happy that you enjoyed our vast food choices and we are pleased to hear that our entertainment team made your stay even more enjoyable.

We are currently working towards having free Wi-Fi throughout our resort and we hope this will be in place very soon.

We do hope you return again in the future, as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton le Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Hotel is excelente but it has its problems. We stayed from 14th -29th September and went for a relaxing two week holiday everything went perfect with good food good drink freindly staff until friday lunch time. This is when the locals decend on the place in their hoardes for cheep weekend breaks. Thats when the peace is broken. I have nothing against people enjoying themselfs but taking over the hotel and being allowed to like they do is wrong. In the swim up bar locals gather from 9.00am and are in there until closing at 6.00pm. God knows where they go to the toilet or let me guess. We could not use this facility during the weekend as we could find no room near the bar or in the pool. These people get ignorant and abusive as the day goes on. It is the same in the restuarants where large groups gather together joing all the table and chairs together leaving none or very little for couples on there own. When all these people are in the hotel it makes it obvious the facilities are not big enough especially at the lounge bar after the show finishes. If the "prefered club" (another greedy hotel thing) was opened up for all maybe there would be more places to spread out. It's a pity about all this as it has the potential to be perfect but it is not.

Room Tip: Building 1&2 for a good night sleep buildings 3&4 If you don't mind noise until the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Rudy Richardson at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Geoff L

Date of review - 3rd October 2013

Dear Geoff,

We are very grateful that you chose Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased that despite some issues you enjoyed your time at our resort, we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, in no way did we wish to inconvenience your time at our beautiful hotel, and we do hope this would not put you off returning to us in the future.

We appreciate all of the feedback our much valued guests leave with us, positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.