We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's amusing to read the complaints about Dreams La Romana. I'm not sure what people expect. We arrived on April 28th and left on May 5th for our honeymoon. Here's a breakdown:

Staff: We probably interacted with over 50 different staff members and they were all great. Not one bad experience. They did their best to speak English and were extremely helpful. Be sure to visit Juan at the bar in the infinity pool. The entertainment he provides is priceless.

Grounds: Immaculate. Consistently maintained.

Room: We stayed in block 5 on the ground floor facing the pool. The noise from evening entertainment was not a problem. The mini-fridge was restocked regularly and the room was cleaned to perfection everyday.

Food: We were slightly concerned after reading reviews however the food met our expectations. The world cafe has a wide range of food but nothing that will nock your socks off. If you want better food you will have to go to one of the other restaurants (be sure to check when they are open). The ginger beef stir fry at the Asian restaurant was amazing, surf and turf at Oceana was great, lamb and filet at the French restaurant was exceptional. Seaside grill burger was great. All of the restauratns except for the French and Italian restaurants are open air, prepare yourself. Also, if you are unsure as to how something is cooked, be sure to ask. My wife did not have any problems however my stomach did not agree with the lobster at Oceana.

Pools: Uncrowded and in close proximity to food and alcohol. Swim up bar at the infinity pool was the highlight. Juan the bartender will provide you with endless entertainment.

Beach: Large enough to handle the volume of guests however not large enough for you to walk long distances. The grill on the beach turns out great burgers and hot dogs.

Transport: One hour and 45mins from Santo Domingo airport. An eventful trip, prepare yourself many road hazards a.k.a. people on motorcycles driving recklessly. Our driver was great and the transport was booked through Olympus Tours.

Entertainment: They try really hard however it's not Vegas so don't have high expectations. The corezone has TVs, pool tables, ping pong, and a basketball hoop.

Take advantage of excursions. The reef explorer excursion was great and we did Alphi tours ATV ride to a sugar cane field. Lots of fun.

Every so often at night they have local vendors set up around the main pool. They are very agressive. If you are not comfortable saying " no " avoid them. This was a perfect hotel for couples and families. We had a great time and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Paul N

Date of review - 17th May 2013

Dear Paul,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are so pleased to hear you were happy with the service you received from our staff, at Dreams La Romana we pride ourselves on the excellent service we provide to our much valued guests so for you to recognize this is a great honour for us.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our food selection and that you were happy with your allocated room.

We are so happy to read that you would love to return to our resort, we do hope this happens as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,183
    1,346
    499
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,707
2,396
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this resort in August of 2010 and absolutely loved it!

As soon as you walk in you are greeted with a refreshing mimosa drink, so you can relax while you wait for your registration to process. The check in was overall smooth, we refused the upgrade and were happy we did, because it doesn’t give you THAT much more, some private space but that’s about it. The regular rooms were just fine and better than we have seen at other hotels, modern and new. We had honeymooners on both sides of us, but didn’t hear a peep, so the walls are solid. However, you do hear everything from the hallway and the main pool when there is entertainment at night.

There are plenty of food choices, plus the 24 hour room service so you will never be hungry. Seaside grill was amazing – lunch right on the beach every day plus ice-cream! As far as food poisoning – we did get sick, but not enough to spoil our vacation. Just make sure to bring appropriate meds with you when you go, like antibiotics, pepto, Tylenol and also a thermometer. We didn’t drink tap water and even brushed our teeth with bottled water, however, the ice in the drinks is still tap water, so one way or another it still gets in.

The beach is amazing! We seriously didn’t get out of the water for 7 days and only used the pool on our last day just to try it. There are bathrooms everywhere (and for those with food poisoning you going to need it) and everything is kept nice and clean. There are also some pretty good excursions, like the speed boats, so take advantage.

Overall, great hotel and the staff! We will go back one day :)

PS. I have a much more detailed review available on my blog with pictures and tips here: http://telamore.com/review-dreams-la-romana-dominican-republic/

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Julie P

Date of review - 17th May 2013

Dear Julie,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are delighted that you were happy with your allocated room and we are glad you enjoyed our vast food selection, however please let me clarify that our ice is not made from tap water, it is made from bottled water, we do not use tap water in any of our drinks, nor to wash any of our food.

We are very honoured that you have stated you would like to return, we would love that to happen as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover,Hants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned after a 12 night holiday. Its lovely. A big hotel with extensive well maintained grounds but doesn't feel crowded. There's entertainment available, but if you just want to sit and relax, you're not pressurised to join in. Rooms are spacious and lovely, huge comfy beds, cleaned daily with lots of free toiletries. Not sure having weighing scales in the bathroom is such a great idea! We were in block 4 but moved to a quieter room in block 7 after a couple of days. Pools are lovely. We chose to sit on the beach, just in front of the infinity pool, just steps in to the Caribbean sea or a few steps away from the pool and its swim up bar. Fantastic choice of restaurants, our favourite being the Pan Asian , Italian and French. But the buffet restaurant offered a huge selection of food all of a high standard too. The cocktails were far too tempting - well why not indulge, after all, we were on holiday!

Room Tip: blocks 2, 3 and 4 are closest to everything but can be a little noisier. Rooms that have interconne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - inourfourties

Date of review - 16th May 2013

Dear Guest,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time in our beautiful resort met with your expectations, we are pleased to hear that you were impressed with our a'la carte restaurants and that you equally enjoyed both our beach and pool areas.

We do hope you consider returning to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

How on earth can I give this hotel anything less than full marks? This was our 6th visit to Dom Rep - 5 previous visits to Bavaro - why, oh why, did I not come here first? It is absolutely brilliant.

I think that on previous visits the transfer would have taken in excess of 2 hours from Punta Cana airport and I don't travel well on coaches - the motorway is now open and transfer time is appx 50 mins - fab - u - lous!!

What was lovely was the fact that the resort is not so large that you have to jump on a train to get anywhere - we were in building 5 and found it easy to get to everything - we had a storm one night and it was possible to get from the main buffet back to our room totally under cover.

No wrist bands, no booking for a la carte dining, beautifully cleaned pools and gardens - pretty flamingos that don't smell, premium drinks are standard - even Coke came out of a Coca-Cola bottle rather than a dispenser, robes and slippers, room service, fresh fruit waiting in the room and a card inviting us to call for our chilled 'champagne'. Free use of the safe! This place is just fantastic - please do not ever drop any of your standards as it is this kind of service that will make us return. Nearly forgot the Coco Cafe - a brilliant idea - we just loved it.

On arriving we had no plug in our sink - our maid, Josefine, soon found us one. She then showed us where to open the beer in the fridge, she helped us with our key - she was brilliant. On the days that she worked our room was always cleaned well before lunch time. The only issue that we had was that when she was not working we would have to wait until 3.30 - 4.00 before the room was done - this was not very good as I suffered with an upset stomach and did not feel comfortable rushing back to use the facilities knowing that the room could still be cleaned at any time. However this is a small gripe - perhaps it would help to have signs to hang on the door requesting the room to be cleaned, I couldn't work out if there was a system but when you are out of your room by 9.00 am it was a little frustrating to sometimes get back to find that the room had not been done.

Some people have said that the beach is small, I thought it was fine - it may not be the 18 miles of Punta Cana but who can walk that far anyway? More importantly you have the Caribbean Sea lapping onto the shore, what could be better than that? Warm, calm - just beautiful.

I really recommend anyone considering a visit to Dom Rep to seriously consider staying here - I had the best two weeks ever! I have come home chilled out and tanned - just such a shame that the temperature at Gatwick on our return was 7!

Thanks Dreams La Romana for giving us such a lovely holiday - we will be back!

Room Tip: Building 5 was fine but could get a bit noisy in the evening, however everything is finished by 10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Kathy C

Date of review - 16th May 2013

Dear Kathy,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are pleased to hear that your were pleased with your allocated room and appreciate your kind comments about our immaculate grounds.

We are so very pleased that you would like to return to our resort, we do hope this happens as it will be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

You can't go wrong with a 2 week stay at this resort.

The Beach
Amazing. White sand. Great staff to help you with the chairs. Merchants do not bother people too much (I've seen a lot worse in Cuba for example). The motorized water vehicles can get noisy at around lunch time and a little bit after but nothing to worry about.

The Staff & Activities
Staff are friendly -even with the less friendly patrons of the resort! I admired their integrity and hard work. The nightly entertainment was lively and a great effort. The Venezuelan art director always presented vacationers with fun-filled and eye-popping evening shows (at around 8-9 o'clock).

Food
Light-years from Cuba (in the right direction). The national Dominican food can get really, really tasty (pork chops and such). Do not hesitate to try it.

Dislikes...
I didn't like that the 24 hour coffee bar was so far from the Beach but that was probably a good thing. More seriously, we weren't too happy with the room originally reserved for us (ground floor, broken A/C, no view even though we had specified we wanted an ocean view, odd smell). The reception desk personnel did finally manage to get us something that better corresponded to our expectations.

Room Tip: Choose the recently renovated rooms at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Trip Advisor response too - blueberrygold

Date of review- 16th May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our resort met with your expectations, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time on our beach area and that you were impressed with our vast food selection.

We do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton,Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked our x mas holiday in2012 at Dreams. I have to say I was shocked to see the airport which was nothing more than a huge shack with open access and little security. We got quickly transported onto our bus and it was a three hour drive to the hotel, yes three hours! It does give you that time to peep through the window and look at the local flora and fauna but not with a 7 year old asking repeatedly are we there yet every 5 minutes! We got our welcome drink and I have to say that the hotel was clean with hospitable and courteous staff. They understand english well and we had no problems during the stay. They had made superb effort to please all guests by putting in grand performances for x mas. Meals were awesome and I would highly recommend the trip to Sauna island with the lobster lunch, holding the starfishes right in the middle of the Caribbean amazing experience!! I would also recommend the cocktails at the infinity pool
The local spirit is very good and has a distinct woody flavour to it and for all cigar lovers there is an exclusive cigar shop for Cuban delight. Kids club is very very good and we had to literally drag our son out of it for meals in the evening. Santa came out of the sea and distributed gifts to all kids in the hotel which was a very nice gesture. My only complaint during the whole trip was that i cannot stand the smell of egg on washed plates which i understand is very common in all resorts. the staff were helpful and i got them either to wash my plate separately or i had paper plates.So go on folks I highly recommend this beautiful resort to all family/ couples/ groups.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - rohitrenjhen

Date of review - 16th May 2013

Dear Guest.

We would like to express our gratitude to you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for taken the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our vast food selection and we are also pleased that you were happy with the service our hard working staff provided.

We do hope you return to our hotel in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremezzo, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week in march 2011 with my husband and our small daughter. The kids club was fantastic and she really enjoyed.
We had a room in the Privilege Club area and it was really nice. Had breakfast served in the room every day ( with no extra charge ! ) There s a very large choice of restaurants and they were all very good, especially Oceana and the Japanese restaurants. Special thanks to Benjamin at Oceana for his kindness; on our last night he prepared a specially decorated table for us and offered special plates cooked especially for us, it was great.

Room Tip: Book one of the Privilege Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - villaedy

Date of review - 16th May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations and we thank you kindly for your positive feedback.

We would love for you to return in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.