We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great time great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice place to spend a vacation. The food is good not so special but good. The rooms big enogh clean and comfortable good beds. Nice gardens. Spa services very expensive and so is the Wi fi which should have been free in a place like that. Trips and town visits are expensive too. Overall we enjoy our time here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Elil99

Date of review - 19th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at our wonderful resort, we do hope that at some point in the future you return to our hotel as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,185
    1,346
    499
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,707
2,397
57
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was the first and Dream that we have been to and the last.
The beach is not clean , the water mix with a lot of seaweed and no one think to clean it up. The food is very low grade and the place seemed under staffed. The pool was very nice but the water was so cold that you could not stay in it. what good is a swim up bar if no one is in the pool (maybe 10 people at most).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - luckif

Date of review - 19th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are disappointed that your time at our wonderful resort did not meet with your expectations.

We are surprised that you did not enjoy the use of our beach, we keep this maintained through out the day to a very high standard and usually get a lot of positive feedback regarding this area, we do apologize that this did not reach out to you as expected.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our vast selection of food choices, and also that you had the impression our resort was understaffed, however we would like to take this opportunity to point out that each department within our complex is fully staffed, and our staff do work extremely hard to tend to each and every guest. Again we apologize if this did not reach out to you.

We do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again

Kind Regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Positiv: nice Restaurants with good food and exellent staff!
Negativ: on the beach there are only few big umbrellas which are crowded with many people - there are many stones in the water - in the night it is difficult to sleep because the walls of the rooms are very very thin, so that you can hear everything from the neighbour room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH LANARKSHIRE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My daughter picked this hotel for her wedding and we set of on the 4 February. We have been in the Domican Republic before, however, not at this hotel and looked forward knowing what roughly to be expected.

I can say that it couldn't be further. This is a truely outstanding hotel from the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome. The staff are very very friendly and helpful. The hotel is laid out on a system of blocks with some of the blocks reserved for the preferred club. All the rooms are well equiped and spotless. My wife and i the day after our arrival took the notion to upgrade to a suite over looking the sea which also took us in to the preferred club. It was not cheap but worth every extra penny we spent. The service within the room was amazing service twice daily mini bar always refreshed with soft drinks and beer. The bathroom was in comparison to the size of a single room. Spa bath separate walk in shower there were two toilets in the room also.

The World restaurant is immaculate food choice outstanding freshly prepared beautifully presented. At night they tended to do themed nights from round the world. There were speciality restaurants which some required booking some didn't. Everyone was fabulous. The All Inclusive package is the best i have ever experienced and i have been doing all inclusive now for many years. There were what i would describe as premium beers like Corona on offer at the Mexican Restaurant Bud at the main bar premium spirits were offered if asked for.

The staff appreciated gratuities and it was always a pleasure than an expectation when these were given.

I would say that the resort is approx 10 minute walk up the beach. Now i mention this as the only thing i would take issue with at the Hotel was the shop not sure if it was franchised out but very expensive. In the resort there was the usual super market for example crisps and confectionary in the hotel shop could be as much as treble what it could be purchased in the resort supermarket. Overall i rate this hotel as outstanding. The arrange of activities and pre programmed shows were very good. Shows may have concentrated slightly less on the music aspect became a bit predictable but none the less entertaining. My son and daughter did a trip from a vendor on the beach something every rep and hotel advise against. However we decided we wanted to try some fishing and to see the local reserve and Island trips are run to every day. We paid all in for a whole day less than 200Dollars to do fishing alone each for less than 4hrs was 130Dollars each. The two young local lads that took us supplied beer water and local rum. Incidentally i caught my first Baracuda. What a day.

The weeding went remarkably well in large thanks to the hotels organisation to them i would like to say thank you.

If the Hotel is reading this review which i have noticed they do some of the beds beside the pools could be better or may be offer cushions for the top of them.

Room Tip: Dont necessarily buy into the Reps only book with us at the end of the beach there are vendors who w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Trip Advisor response too - Smivvy

Date of review - 19th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear your daughter chose to hold her wedding day at our resort and are very pleased to hear that your time with us exceeded all expectations.

To add to your comment about the hotel reading the reviews, Yes, we read every single review and reply to as many as possible, so all of your feedback has been taken on board.

We do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind Regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to a wedding at Dreams La Romana and had a great time. I had read reviews previous, so upgraded to fancier part of resort, which I thought was worth it. The resort is very pretty, I heard the snorkeling was good, but couldn't pry myself away from the pool to go. The drinks are maybe not the best you've ever had, but they are plentiful and price included so in my book- awesome! The wedding was super cute and the wedding cake was the best wedding cake I have ever had ever.
One thing to make extra sure is that your airport transfer is all arranged before you go- some in our party had a problem with their airport transfer not being finalized or something so they had to pay extra $100 to get from the airport to the resort.
If you are ready to relax by the pool or beach and have a good time this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Block 7 was great- nice and quiet. I hear the top floor rooms have cathedral ceilings so a bit nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - rishDoc07

Date of review - 18th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your vacation at our wonderful resort met with your expectations. and we appreciate greatly your wonderful feedback.

We do hope you return to our resort once again as it would be our pleasure to serve you in the future.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks. It was the most beautiful relaxing place I have ever been to. The staff all seemed genuinely friendly, that it wasn't put on, always smiling which made me even more relaxed.
The restaurants were all lovely and were made to feel special, I would recommend the Mexican. However the main buffet was just as good and went there most evenings as well.
As expected the weather was fantastic with a few thunderstorms which just added to it, was very hot and sticky so keep cool with lots of water!
Only went to the pool a few times, as the beach was beautiful, sand as soft as flour. The entertainment was to be honest not always our cup of tea, but this didn't matter as we were happy just relaxing around the complex, we had taken a pack of cards with us to play which came in useful.
One thing I wasn't happy with was the fact that the spa was separate so, you had to pay even if you only wanted to go in the jacuzzi, I understand treatment ps have to be paid for but I saw nobody in there as you had to pay to use anything, I think if they made some free that guests would be happy to pay for the other treatments.
All in all we had a fabulous two weeks in paradise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - amberd1981

Date of review - March 18th 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear that your stay at our wonderful resort met with your expectations and we thank you kindly for your positive feedback.

We do hope you return to our resort once again as it would be our pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've had "All inclusive" holidays in Mexico, Cuba and many other Caribbean islands. Most of them were more expensive the one one we've just enjoyed at Dreams. I simply cannot understand those reviewers who complained about the rooms or the food at this resort. Last year we were at Sandals, Negril Beach in Jamaica, which was more expensive than Dreams, even though we paid extra to be in their "Preferred" section of the resort for this holiday.
The reception was better, as was our room and there were more restaurants to choose from. We liked some more than others of course, but the general standard of food was definitely better as well. The gardens were the best tended and attractive we can remember and there were enough pools to suit any body. The only thing we did not like was the resort's unwllingness to enforce the rule of not reserving sun loungers around the pool or on the "Preferred' beach. There was a good standard of security around the preferred areas, and it would not be difficult to get one of the attendants simply to remove towels etc from unoccupied beds at 10 am. With that one fault we thought the resort was great and very good value. We'll be back

Room Tip: Do pay for the "Preferred area. The hotel was only about 60% full but the main beach was heavin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Jeff05

Date of review - 17th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your stay at our wonderful resort.

We are delighted to hear that you vacation with us met to your expectations, we thank you kindly for your positive feedback.

We do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind Regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.