We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect week in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect week in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just spent a week at Dreams La Romana and stayed in the Preferred Club. We loved being at the preferred pool area as well as our morning breakfast at Seaside Grill. Beautiful views with great service.
We ate at all of the a la carte restaurants and the food was good and the service exceptional. The decor of the restaurants was lovely and the food was well prensented and well perpared. We were fortunate enough to meet Juan Pierre and he was both welcoming and always seemed pleased to assist us.
The ladies in the Preferred club, especially Glynnis helped make our stay even more special. Everyone we met from the bellyboy to the servers and maids were pleasant and friendly.
The World Cafe has the largest buffet I have ever seen and is continually re-stocked with fresh food. The evening special themed dinners are wornderful. We did go to a couple of the nightly shows and they were fun to see.
We have been to numerous resorts in the Carribbean and this was our best experience. We look forward to our next visit to this exceptional resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Barbwex

Date of review - 9th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time at our wonderful resort.

We are delighted to hear your time at Dreams La Romana met your expectations, we greatly appreciate all of your positive comments, and will certainly pass on your gratitude to the mentioned staff that made your time with us even better.

We hope that you do return to our resort In the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,188
    1,349
    499
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,710
2,399
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Preferred staff, especially Julieisa and fabulous the fabulous bell boy made our stay even better than we expected ! That is not to say that the entire staff is incredible ! Food was good, service impeccable, any problem we had we called the staff was at our door or on the phone within 5 minutes. Preferred pool is very relaxing, hector makes the best margaritas ever. We met great people, the grounds are very well manicured. We would return. If you can fly into la romana airport that's the way to go. The preferred staff helped us get a private taxi to altos de chevron so we did not have to give up a whole day. We can't say enough about the service and the way all of these folks made us feel so comfortable

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Pecpmc

Date of review - 8th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met your expectations, we appreciate greatly the positive comments about our Preferred Club, we will be sure to pass this on and I am sure they will be delighted.

We do hope you visit our resort again in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, if you have any concerns about some of the negative reviews about this hotel, all I can say is some people must be very, very hard to please.

I wrote a less than favourable review of a hotel in Cuba we stayed in last year, the Dreams La Romana is in a different league.

On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing and very nice glass of sparkling wine, check in was quick and without problems.

Our room was in 3000's, nice central location and right across from the World Cafe main dining area.
Room was comfortable, clean and met our requirements, some small niggles but a room on holiday is only a base for us, if you plan to spend lots of time in the rooms you could possibly pick up more things that need updating but for us it was fine for sleeping, getting ready in the evening etc.

The World Cafe is the main buffet restaurant and all I can say is it is the best buffet restaurant we have experienced in the Carribean, the selection and quality of the food is of a high standard, always something to choose and plenty of desserts that were something else!
Just a quick but well deserved mention of our 2 favourite waiters in the World Cafe, at breakfast time Jeffrey, who will fill your coffee cup without you knowing it and a special mention of a true star in the evening, Hector, if you get chance ask for him, he is brilliant.
Lunchtime we mainly used the fruit boat on the beach or the beach burger BBQ, both recommended.

Our favourite place after a hard day on the beach was the Coffee bar near the main lobby area, try the fresh coffee and lovely cakes, it's air conditioned and great for a chill after the beach. The girls in there are brilliant, they will remember your favourite cakes after a day or two.

We also used the Bordeaux French restaurant, lovely food, the fillet steak was cooked to perfection, the staff in there were very professional and could probably work in any top restaurant in London.

We didn't really watch any shows as had a post dinner drink or two on the Verandah Bar overlooking the sea.

All in all, highly recommended hotel, the beach and pool areas are clean and plenty of space, there is the usual towel on sunbed situation but where isn't there?

Once again, if you are worrying about going to this hotel, I wouldn't, I would go back tomorrow!!

Great holiday, great hotel.


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - AndyK2479

Date of review - 8th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met your expectations.

We greatly appreciate your positive comments, and we hope we get the opportunity to serve you once again in the future.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! Where to start. Dreams la Romana is an amazing resort. Travelled with a group of 16. We got married there last week and everything was perfect. We wouldn't of changed a thing. Thanks to our wonderful wedding planner Yanna Guzman!! U are amazing. The food is great at the buffet. We tried the Mexican , seaside grill and Italian. All of them were great with amazing food and service. Beach is beautiful with little seaweed. We always found beds to lay on. Pools were awesome. Out fav was swimup infinity pool. Drinks were awesome. Had great times at the disco. A few of us got mild cases of diarrhea. But that is to be expected with the good change and all the alcolic beverages we consumed We went ziplining and would highly recommend it.
All staff were fun and very professional and always willing to help. Also a very clean resort. Special thanks to Yanna, jean Carlos ( our wedding phouographer) u were awesome. Also thanks to Zach for the wonderful service on our wedding night. Thanks to omega who always put a smile on our face. And thanks to Delores who served us wonderful drinks in the lobby. Overall a wonderful resort. So happy we chose it. Thanks to all the wonderful staff

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Jd2468

Date of review - 7th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with.

We are delighted you chose our wonderful resort to hold your wedding day, and are even nore delighted to hear how perfect it was for you.

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments, we appreciate them greatly, and we will certainly pass on your kind comments to Yanna and the other staff members who made your time here so special.

We hope that you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

First time at a dreams resort but we loved every minute of it. The grounds are beautiful and clean, the staff are very helpful, and the beach is the most beautiful beach we have ever been to. I don't normally swim in the ocean because of seaweed and rocks but this beach had none of that. It was smooth and exceptionally clean. The pizza snack hut was delicious and the drinks were great. We had a relaxing time :-)

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Woehrlet2

Date of review - 7th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your stay at our wonderful resort reached your expectations, we thank you kindly for your positive comments.

We hope you visit us again in the future, it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here from January 22 to February 12, 2013. The hotel grounds and beach and pools were very nice. The room was nice but smaller than the other Dream we have stayed at. When other reviews say that the walls are paper they are not kidding. On one side of us by where our heads were when we slept (or tried) was our neighbors tv. We could hear that and everything else next door and we were lucky to be in an end suite with no one on the other side of us. In the three weeks we were there my daughter had stomach problems a few days in to our trip and they lasted pretty much till the time we were going home. She had taken Dukoral before we left then took pepto bismal then immodium and finally when she started taking ciproflaxin (an antibiotic for travelers diarehea that she started to feel better. But I ate pretty much what she had before she got sick and then the rest of the trip and had no problems at all. I did have a good time there and in three weeks we really only had one day that was rainy all day. We did the Alto de Chavon and La Romana tour and also Bavarro Runners safari and both were good especially Bavaro Runners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - happywhenonholiday

Date of review - 6th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear your daughter was poorly, and we certainly hope she is feeling better now, .However we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 3 weeks with us, and are happy to hear you enjoyed your excursions.

We do hope you visit our resort again in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Sorry about the title but if you have been to Dreams you will understand.
Firstly the hotel is beautiful the grounds are stunning.The staff are polite & really hard working so the service is great! The hotel is so fully staffed it makes such a difference from 24 hour security in each block to the lady who looks after the beach toilets keeping them nice for everyone during the day.Well done Dreams i think the staffing level has a lot to do with the positive experience most people have when staying in the hotel. We really liked little Indiana our beach waitress who works so hard making sure we have lots of drinks during the day always with a smile!
We felt really looked after during our stay.
The food is fantastic! I have never experienced such great fillet steak in what ever restaurant we ate in.
The Bordeaux was our favorite (Fillet Steak) & a very close second was the Oceania (surf & turf) cray fish & again fillet steak.Also the Portofino Italian was very good,the service is brilliant in all the restaurants.
We also loved the coffee shop only complaint we would have liked bigger cups to go with lids..

The entertainment team were very good,we would have like the entertainment to be outside everynight rather than in a theater,& tables & chairs instead of just chairs lined up.
The rooms were really nice we were in block 7 a bit tucked out of the way,the walk did us good looking back on the amount of food we consumed.
All in all i would recommend the hotel to anyone thanks Dreams our holiday was Excellente!

Room Tip: Block 5 looked good or 3 would have loved a room overlooking the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - PoshFrockShaza

Date of review - 6th March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you chose Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.

We are very pleased to hear your time at our resort reached your expectations, and that it was "Excellente".

We do hope that you return again in the future as we would love the opportunity to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.