We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent and different option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Save Saved
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Bayahibe
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“an excellent and different option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Take the upgrade. And life will change for you.but een ifyiu donot take it the place is a peasure startingfo the bracelet free environment. They do not need oneto recognise as a passanger. Thebest beach andfood in the area. Great rooms.quiet sorroundings. A real great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,688
    1,182
    439
    160
    94
See reviews for
1446
2116
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Tawton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for my sons wedding,it was like paradise,greeted with bubbly,
room service was excellent,infinity pool with poolside bar was our favourite,with lovely cocktails and fresh fruit juices,
ate in all restaurants,give them a 5*,there was every food you could think of
and all cooked fresh,staff was very freindly,and the waiters never let your glass go empty,
you never had to queue for anything,
private beach was gorgeous,sea was clear and warm with plenty of activities
unlimited drinks and food all of quality
really want to go back soon and take more family with us
i never go back to the same place twice,but here i would,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Dreams LaRomana after reading reviews we were kinda worried with all the talk of bad reviews but as we found out some people are really hard to please.We arrived Jan 11th and was met by the nicest person at the resort Darling Mendez she works as the Apple Conciege for the resort she made us feel right at home and like we were family {a note to the Manager You do not want to loose this employee} she made sure our room was clean and comfortable the maid did the rest for our entire stay.First impresions are sometimes the best as it was for us put our mind at ease.This was our 12th trip to DR so we were aware of how the food is cooked there you Must remember the locals eat differently than most of us and ordering your food cooked well done is not the same as in the US.The grounds are so nice and the beach area is so much better than any where we have stayed at in the DR.That is why we have fallen in love with LaRomana not 1 bad word can be said about any of the resort employees.Our favorite waiter was Oscar at the Patio retaurant all food in the resort was above average.You must rember you will not be staying at a 6star property but a 5star reort and if you want to know the differance check out the prices.Our only bad thing to say is you will have to contend with all the rude Europeans but that is not Dreams fault we wish more Americans would have been there this the nicest Resort we have been to in the DR and we are looking forward to going back next year.If you are from the US make sure you go thru Apple Vacations as you will be treated like you expect to be treated and you will have Darling to make sure you vacation experiance is the best it could be{thank you Darling hope your ther next year}

Room Tip: Book with Apple Vacations they have there own building with updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Together with my Fiancé we stayed at Dreams La Romana in May 2012. It's late review, i know but we had such beautiful stay and we think it's worth to share our experience with other people considering booking holiday there.
It was so nice, that we fall in love with DR and looking up for another holiday there right now. It will be in other resort, but not because it was something wrong with La Romana, we just like to see other locations.

Ok, lets start, so GOOD THINGS:

BEACH
Beautiful, sandy beach with palm trees. It has ideal depth. Gentle slope so after about 25-30 meters it's about 1 meter 60 centimeters. Perfect for swimmers and non swimmers to just float on a lovely waves.

ENTERTAINMENT:
Usually on our previous holidays in Tenerife for example i found myself embarrassed that i'm watching hotel entertainment... this time was different. Shows was very interesting. Really good job from entertainment team. Lot of good dancing and some circus shows, also musicals was very good. Dancers are very professional and sexy. Also there was a beach party organized twice a week and it was good even if a bit short (ends up at 23.00 i think) Romantic evenings for couples was nice as well. Romantic music, champagne and candles on the beach with nice moon shining over the top of the palm trees... this is still in my head even if i'm writing this review after 8 months...
Disco - i was only once there, seems to be ok, but i'm not a clubbing animal, so can't comment really.

LOCATION:
La Romana is in lovely part of DR, very close to Saona, so trip to Saona (highly recommended!!) is only a boat trip and you not wasting your time for bus ride to the port as you can walk there from the hotel beach. Also because there is no other hotels nearby (closest is about 4-5 kilometers away) there is not much people on the beach and no wanderers or walkers from other hotels.

SAFETY:
Guards are all around the complex, but remain very discrete.
I was feeling very safe. One of our friends fall to sleep drunk on the beach and wake up in the middle of the night to see guard standing nearby making sure hes got peaceful rest :-). Then he make sure our friend made it to his room :-)
We where leaving our towels and even bags with some small tip money on the beach and nothing was stolen... for the first week, and then these Hispanic looking holiday makers from the US arrived and occupied swim up bar. There was lot of drinking, lot of shouting and lot of swearing involved, and our swim goggles has disappear from the sun lounger while we where in the pool... Oh well. We never report this to the hotel as this was only cheap stuff and at the end of our stay.

BAD THINGS:
Not much to be honest. Biggest thing i dislike is hunt for guest to do review on trip advisor... yes! I have been approach one day by the member of entertainment team and ask to do review on trip advisor... i was confused, so let him take us to the nearest PC and he was standing over me and watching what i'm writing... he was off course suggesting that everything is "excellente"... seeing this i have decided i will do review when come back home, as i don't think it's the right way to do it now and there. He was very upset and said he need to have a good comment every day and his manager checking this... I don't know if it's true or he said that to make us feel sorry for him. Anyway - not professional and make me think how true trip advisor reviews are... (???)

Luckily everything else was very good so i can now from my home write a good review stating that it was "excellente" in deed.

Other bad thing was the smell from the "jungle" behind the last building. We where in building 7 and from the balcony was a view to woodlands. After couple of days there was a sewage smell coming from there. I went out for a little "reconnaissance mission" and discover that there was a big sewage well in the area which was leaking. After complain to the concierge we where swiftly moved to other building facing pools and it was a very good service. S**t could happen and they react very quick and professional.
THAT'S IT REALLY, NO MORE BAD THINGS TO REPORT.

I haven't mention FOOD in good or bad points. This is because it's depends from the taste. We where happy there, but after first week we find out that main buffet food was a bit boring, but that's maybe after visiting a'la carte restaurants??... Especially that the seaside grill was brilliant and i end up eating there every second night :-)) we did visit French restaurant, Italian and oceana. Italian and seaside grill are the best. Oceana didn't really match my taste (my fiancé was happy though) and we didn't even bothered to visit jungle restaurant and Japanese restaurant, so can't comment on them.
Good thing was the way of booking, or actually no need for booking at all. Just go there, queue for couple of minutes (not long) and tell your room number to them, you will be informed about average waiting time (longest was just over one hour, and shortest not waiting at all) and you will have a pager which will vibrate and flash when table is free, so you can wait for it in nearby bar. Great!

All in all there was a couple of small problems, but in overall this was a great holiday, and we really enjoy it.

P.S
Sorry for my English, this is not my native language :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent resort ever, from the begining starting the check in a good customer service until the end the check out . excellent food with a large varierty in the menu and an excellent taste.
A very nice room and very clean. And an excellent team of entertaiment during the day and night.
We personaly recomend this resort

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned back home from Dreams La Romana and I must say this being our second visit was just as perfect as the first one. The hotel is very well located close to the village of Bayahibe, where you get to meet some of the locals and experience the lifestyle. All the facilities, hotel grounds and rooms are of a very good quality, add the beach and the Caribbean Sea and you get the prefect holiday location. Of course some people look for falts and they find many, but for me and my family the hotel, food and staf has always been just great. We would recommend Dreams La Romana to any of our friends as we would like to return sometime in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Dreams in the preferred club in Novemeber. Nice rooms, gorgeous pool areas, friendly staff & plenty of strong drinks & cocktails. There are plenty of dining options but we enjoyed the Asian, Dominican & the lunch time Pizzeria & coffee shop the best. We paid $100 one day for a private pool area next to the beach which was worth every penny so ask about that during your stay, it really is gorgeous! The beach & sea is perfect & if you fancy a trip out I recommend the boat trip to Saona Island which can be booked through the rep at the main pool. It cost us around £30 each & included a day sailing across to Saona, rum, beer, lunch on the gorgeous island & a speed boat back. Amazing!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.