We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wi fi connections very poor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wi fi connections very poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wi fi connections very poor, despite being part of the preferred club ,complained on numerous occasions, but no improvement made.apart from that the resort is fine.staff are very pleasant and polite,also resort is kept very, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,194
    1,352
    502
    173
    103
See reviews for
1,711
2,404
57
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived on december 31th. Here's the facts:
5 out of 7 family members has been sick (I'm suspecting serious food intoxication..but the pseudo-doctor says it was a gastro-enterit just by listening to my stomach).
The beach is fake : there is between 4 to 6 inches of sand, underneath there is a big concrete slap (sorry if my english's not perfect).
Bring earplugs : We've got an old not renovated room. We could hear our neighbours dialing on his phone.
Room cleaning was totally deficient : There was a dead lizard on the floor with a ton of bugs on it. I cleaned the area by myself.
The only positives aspects are : The entertainment team, bartenders, and the pools.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

After a 13 hour delay and the ten hour flight I didn't expect to wait for our tour bus for half an hour to take us to la romana! If your a young couple then this hotel is not for you! Unless you want a early night every night! The food was great, hotel good but way overpriced! Was our 1st time there and expected golden sands and so much more. Felt let down! And we even flew home a week early as I had the " tummy bug" and was so bored! Do not go over on your baggage allowance also......you get charged.at the airport me and my newly husband was charged 266 dollors for extra baggage allowance! What an outrage! ESP after the money it cost to get there and the ten dollors in the country and twenty dollors out! I would not go back to the hotel,really look around. Not value for money at all!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Response too Charmaineloveslolly
Date of review : January 16th 2013

Dear, Charmaineloveslolly,
Thank you kindly for your recent review of your stay at Dreams La Romana, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our extensive food choice.
We offer all of our guests a sundial each day with a list of various activities that carry on through out the day and night, We have our entertainment show each evening which starts at 9.30pm, And should guests wish to carry on their evening, we have our lobby bar, our desires disco and also our casino open. We are sorry that these options did not reach out to you.
There are also many factors to people falling ill whilst traveling abroad, Excessive alcohol and food consumption, difference in the oil the food is cooked in, exposure to the heat/sun , pineapple and coconut based drinks which are known to be a natural laxative.
We take on board all comments, positive and otherwise and hope we get the chance to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rudy Richardson
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks. We were very optimistic about our stay after reading the reviews and visiting the hotel many years ago before its refurbishment.
As soon as we got off the coach we knew we were going to love it. We had a welcome drink of champagne and a very warm welcome. When walking to our room all the member of staff we met on our way greeted us with a hello or hola! There are also lovely flamingos and a bird aviary which set the perfect setting with the tranquil music in the background.
The rooms are a very good size, very clean, mini bar in room filled daily and a safe. Each day you receive a Daily Sundial which is like a mini newspaper with all the information you need to know i.e. weather, activites, sunset, restaurants and shows. We found this really helpful as we could plan our day ahead. We also loved the Room Service which is included in the All Inclusive package which is not often free in some All Inclusive hotels.
The food was to a very high standard and very got bored of any of the food. The Oceana for a romantic breakfast and lunch as it has a lovely setting overlooking the sea, very quiet and relaxed compared to the buffet (World Cafe) and food is cooked fresh for you. Our favourite evening restaurant was the Bordeaux which offers French cuisine and does a wonderful fillet of beef. We only had to wait once with a beeper for our whole trip as there was an American holiday and the hotel was to full capacity as the Americans came only for two nights!! Branded Premium drinks are also available in selected bars and also if there is a cocktail not on the cocktail menu they are still happy to make it for you and champagne is included too!!
The entertainment was wonderful throughout the whole stay, made some wonderful friends and we was really sad to leave, they made us feel so welcome.
There are people on the beach selling excursions within the hotel, which are a very good price, sometimes they hassle you but if you say you been or have a laugh and a joke they are friendly and not pushy. But if you walk into Bayahibe along the beach there is a shop called Pro Excursions where they are even cheaper and they have a website so you can research before you go!!! We did not go with any of these because we did not find out about them until near to the end if our stay, we went with Thomson at nearly double the price!! A couple of people we met used both the people on the hotel beach and pro excursions and they were very happy.
We also used the spa facilities and had a couple of treatments. It was slightly more expensive than back at home but not much so defiantly worth it. It was great, relaxing and romantic.
We also booked to have an hour with the photographer at no cost to have some photos taken, and you just buy the photos if you liked them. Well....... he was amazing we brought every photo..... Which worked out more than what we planned to spend but it was half the price than at home and you could not ask for a better setting. Would highly recommend this if you are after some lovely keepsakes. Please be aware of the photo's they take of you with the animals around by the pool as my partner got scratched by the parrot. We were very lucky it did not need treatment but just be careful!
There are also some people trying to sell holidays for the hotel chain and want to arrange meetings with you, we explained we did not want to purchase another holiday and they left us alone, but once talking to her she told us about other locations and we found this very helpful as we want to explore other countries and loved the hotel, so once home we research them for our next stay at another location!
Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely go back. We are very worried about going on our next holiday in case it will not be as good as Dreams La Romana.

Room Tip: We had a middle floor room, we did not chose this but this is what we was given, I liked it as had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Six out of eleven family members became very ill with serious stomach problems. The line up at the on site doctor's office of people who were ill with similar conditions was huge. They have a serious health issue due to a bacteria problem with their food preparation. In addition
you must pay cash to the doctor's office and the the front desk will not cash your travellers cheques. They send you to their on site bank which is a "rip off". They take your $500. USA travellers cheques convert it to Dominican currency then covert back to USA dollars offering to give you back $390. in USA funds. This is a disgusting practice supported by the hotel management. I would not recommend staying at Dreams La Romana.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the doctor's office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just got back from Dreams La Romana. It was our third time in Dominican Republic, we do travel often. After 3 days there, I became extremely ill...I waited a couple days to see the doctor thinking i had some basic food poisoning but it was much worse, I saw the doctor, required strong antibiotics for a severe gastroenteritis. My mother and my 5 year old son also got sick from eating the food at the resort.
They have a doctor on site but our vacation was ruined. I must be honest this is the worst food i ate in a resort.

Also we were constantly nagged by the vendors (even more when it was just my husband and myself walking around the resort) and a simple "no thank you" often wasn't enough. This really put a damper on the whole experience.

We stayed in building 4 and had a nice room compared to my parents that stayed in building 3 (theirs wasn't renovated, they had an old TV and old uncomfortable mattress). Beware that you will not be able to sleep until the show is over, also the walls are paper thin so you will be woken up several times at night and in the early morning when the cleaning ladies sing/yell/talk in the halls.

The PROS : we had the best frozen coffee drinks at coco cafe and the pools are quite nice. My son also had a great time at the kids club.

However we will most likely never go back there. The Iberostar resorts are much better and we should have got back there !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Natacha77NYC:
Thank you for posting your recent comments regarding your vacation stay here at our beautiful resort. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Coco café as well as our onsite Kids club. We take this opportunity to comment regarding the above mentioned review. We are sorry to learn that your family had fallen ill while vacationing here. Please be aware that many factors can contribute to developing an illness while traveling abroad. Such factors can be lack of proper water consumption, excessive exposure to sun/heat, over indulgence of foods/foods not usually consumed, difference of the oils foods are cooked in, foods known to be natural laxatives such as pineapple and coconut, etc…We are very pleased to report that our onsite medical facility has had no cases or diagnosis of food poisoning. As vendors are located on the property throughout the week, this is offered as a courtesy to all clients who do not want to leave the resort grounds to shop for souvenirs. For those not interested a simple No thank you will suffice. Lastly, as our resort offers different room categories, building three holds our standard deluxe rooms while building seven holds our premium room category. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the near future.

All the best,

Rudy Richardson
Resident Manager
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went with my family to the VIP Preferred Section, which is actually perfect. The room is very comfortable, though it is not that big. One of our friends went to the suit and it was amazing, it had a really big room and it was just very amazing! In my room I had no tub but the shower was very comfortable. The beds are very soft and the TV has a very good resolution. The air conditioning is very nice, though you can't change the temperature. The staff is amazing, they are always smiling and always willing to help you, which is something every hotel needs. It has 7 or 8 restaurants and I went to each one of them, and they are delicious, the food is so yummy and it is all included so you don't have to pay for the amazing food you eat. Also for children there is a pizza stand where they can go get pizza any time of the day, and the bartenders are amazing, and give you any drink you want and how many you want. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the sand is white as snow. I totally recommend this hotel for a family trip now that you will have fun wherever you are. Totally recommended and so worth the money!

Room Tip: I would go to preffered VIP club because it offers much more and the rooms are more comfortable, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.