We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bad Dream” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Save Saved
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Bayahibe
ny/nj
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Bad Dream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The visit started with a wait for our room and then a 45 minute wait for our baggage to be delivered. Next, while we were waiting we tried to find out about internet service. We were paying roughly $400 a day but the hotel has an outside provider that charged $25 for enough wireless for a 4 day stay. The problem is you can only use it on one device at a time. So you and your spouse cannot use the internet simultaneously.

Overall hotel service was spotty throughout the stay. The bartenders were friendly and generous but this was offset by poor service almost everywhere else. The worst is the constant barrage of "greeters" who accost you constantly asking to attend an orientation/anniversary celebration where they will try to sell you more Dreams products. The "concierge" was helpful to get taxis, but useless for any other information such as instructions on how to walk to the park or to use the TV. (We needed to ask 3 times for a channel menu.) The food was mediocre, usually overcooked and cold. The exception was the fish at the Seaside Grill which was good.

There is unlimited access to the bar but the wine is awful!!! To get a decent glass of wine, you must buy from the premium wine club which is expensive and not included in the pretty expensive "all inclusive" hotel service fee.

The spa was good, not excellent. The entertainment was a joke. It was a notch lower than what I remembered from the Catskills hotels of my youth--just think Dirty Dancing in Spanish.

At check out they tried to hit us up for a special dinner that we supposedly ate on New Years. We never were told that the menu was "special" and never would have guessed it from the tiny dried out lobster tail. In fact, we were so hungry that we ordered room service shortly after dinner, but it took so long, we were practically asleep when it arrived.

This might be a fun place for a family that doesn't enjoy touring interesting places and wants have a place to bake in the sun by the pool and drink. The kids were all pretty happy, it seemed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staircase. People checking out bang their luggage down the steps bc th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,717
    1,195
    442
    160
    95
See reviews for
1481
2141
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just got back and it was really unfortunate that the food was such bad quality. I read the reviews and came prepared. I was ok until the last 3 days. My daughter had the same problem. Why doesn't management look into the problem and make improvements.I shouldn't have to pray on a trip and hope I don't get sick.
The staff for the most part was friendly (especially the kids club) There was activities for the kids all day and evening. Even for the adults. The place was clean enough(even though the rooms could be updated) and the beach was nice. Our exit was a disaster since no one could figure out who was supposed to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been to big and small name resorts, but this, by far, was the most unexpectedly expensive all inclusive package I have ever booked. Everyone at the resort, whether staff, invited vendors or excursion planners will not leave you alone. It is very hard to relax when every 5 minutes someone is trying to get you to buy something (trinkets, trips, etc). Even if you don't want to buy anything you will spend money in attempt to be left in peace. I felt I was completely bothered the entire length of the trip (5 days).
The resort promotes onsite vendors that have no problem trying to sell you the exact same items from the gift shop at 500% of the listed price. We tried to walk across the main pool area to go to dinner...that only took 30+ minutes for a 100 yard walk. We were stopped every 5 feet to explain for 5-10 minutes that we do not want to purchase anything, just hungry.
I also found the staff to be very unpleasant...I can't say that I blame them, but I do feel it is a truthful reflection of the management staff.
Scenery and the actual resort grounds were well manicured and some of the prettiest scenery I have ever laid eyes upon.
Oh...and 1) BEWARE of the timeshare talk/tour & 2) DON'T call it a timeshare...that will spawn another lengthy defense about how it is not a timeshare.
After 5 days of limited relaxation I was happy to leave and never look back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Manager at Dreams La Romana, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Jude G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent vacation stay with us. We were sorry to learn that you were not pleased with certain aspects offered at the resort. As we are a service oriented business, we do try to provide as much possible onsite as a convenience being that many travelers elect not to leave the resort grounds. For this reason we try our very best to offer guests as much access to onsite services such as excursions, gift shops and onsite vendors. As the vendors are only here a limited amount of days throughout the week, their services are offered around our main pool for all to enjoy. Many guests do enjoy the fun game of bartering regarding the pricing of items, and for those having no interest, a simple no thank you is well understood. We do hope you enjoyed our beautiful resort and hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future.
All the best,
Rudy Richardson
Resident Manager
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are just back from a wonderful 21 Day stay at Dreams la Romana 5 Dec-26 Dec.
We stayed at building 5, nice room at the ground floor level.
Breakfast in the morning at the World Cafe, there is many choices for every one
We spend most of our time at the beach with playing some games and reading our books.
There are many blue sun stretchers on the beach, and a towel service station.
You can either lay in the sun or sit in the shadow under the trees, the beach is clean and the sea is save, no rocks only sand bottom on the first 40 yards in the water, from the beach we went a few times snorkeling in the area direct in front off the hotel near the Seaside grill, it was great, many colorful fishes.
At lunch time is there hamburger snack and fresh-fruit service on the beach.
Most time we had our lunch at the world cafe and some times at the Seaside grill.
Nearly every evening we had diner in one of the service restaurants and a few times in the world cafe, the food was good and the service excellent, our favorite restaurants are Bordeaux, Portofino and Himitsu.
In the evening there was always a show at the theater and some times at the poolside.
We like this resort and will go back on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Dreams La Romana for our family Christmas vacation. The one element I loved was that the resort was not fully occupied. I can imagine it being very crowded during the summer months. We had a week of great weather and much privacy at the preferred pool. Do pay the extra cost and book in the preferred wing. The food was good and diverse, but a few stomach issues did occur. We all drank bottled water and tried not to eat too many fresh fruits or raw vegetables. We found the food pretty tasty, only disappointed in the Italian restaurant with small portions and little taste. Our favorite night was at the French restaurant, Bordeaux, which was very good. The seaside grill has a fabulous view facing the ocean.
Our rooms were cleaned daily but we did find that the staff stayed in the hallways most of the day. It does tend to be a little noisy especially if you try to escape for an afternoon nap.
As far as the vista, it couldn't get more beautiful. The grounds were very well kept and the plants were absolutely gorgeous. We did enjoy our Christmas vacation, but I am not sure if we would return to that particular resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was my first time to the Dominican Republic and I had a Wonderful experience!

first off, the dreams resort itself is very organized and clean. The beach, the lounges, pools, and restaurants are 24/7 maintained. Me and one of my friends I went with are vegetarian and the staff was very accommodating to our diet and there were more options than we had time to try during our 7 day stay.

There spa was incredibly relaxing and staff was so kind and welcoming.

There are plenty of opportunities for excursions and also beautiful pools to swim in at the resort. We spent most of our time at the resort itself where you can snorkel, kayak, as well as paddleboard, paddle boat, etc close by.

we stayed in the garden view rooms and were extremely comfortable and satisfied with everything there....though we chose to spend most of our time on the beach itself. Every day there is a woman who cuts and dispenses fresh fruit on the beach - she was incredibly kind! And of course the fruit was delicious. My favorite was the pineapple. We were there during mid december and the weather was also perfect. The water was warm during the day and slightly cooler at night. I come from Texas and I found it to be perfect beach weather - not too hot and not cold.

but what I loved most about this resort is the people (staff). The staff at dreams la Romana and Dominicans in general are some of the kindest and most genuinely helpful/friendly people you will ever meet. I've traveled to several countries and have never felt so welcomed. In particular, the staff members we interacted with daily during various resort activities were so enthusiastic and made an unsurpassed effort to make sure everyone at the resort had the best time they could. in particular:
pablo picasso, coca cola, eddie Murphy, and leiton (stage names) were members of the entertainment crew who made time to go around and become friends with everyone on the beach and make sure everyone has a smile on their face. THey lead dance classes, aerobics classes, sporting events, and much more from morning to evening at the resort so there was always something to do if you wanted to. They also participate in performances every evening that are very fun to watch and showcase traditional dancing amongst other themes for the guests at the resort. David makes delicious pizza by the pool, Manuel and fausto were part of entertainment too and very friendly! I mention All these details because at this resort even if you stay a short time, you feel right at home.

I would recommend it to anyone looking to escape the daily stresses of life who are looking to surround themselves by beautiful waters and positive energy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Before I wrote this review I looked at couple earlier posts. I was surprised to see so many negative reviews of the food. Maybe it was a bad batch of food that was delivered on a particular weekend or something, but we loved the food. Further, there are warnings on all the sinks to not drink the water from the tap, which is obvious. If youre coming from a place like Chicago as we did your body is used to that tap water. If you drink the water here or in mexico or elsewhere, you WILL get sick... its common sense. They stock your room with 5 bottles of water a day and coke in a bottle. awesome, My wife and I came for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The treatment we received at all of the restaurants was great, and if you can tolerate a couple bugs, eat at the Jungle. If you cant, eat at Bordeaux, they are both amazing.The service staff is phenomenal, they all speak multiple languages and are always smiling and looking to help. The activities are fun if you embrace them. The facilities seem to be pretty well maintained. I will say that the room isn't 5 star but is sufficient. If you are spending more than an hour in your room other than sleep then youre doing something wrong. The entertainment staff is so wonderful and the shows they put on are impressive for a resort in the Dominican.

We will be recommending this resort to others, and again.,,, don't listen to the haters who drank gallons of tap water in a foreign country and got sick.....

Room Tip: don't spend money on an upgrade, you shouldn't be in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;