We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dominican never lets us down!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams La Romana to your Saves list
Dreams La Romana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe
East England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dominican never lets us down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel (April 2011) as a family who totally adore the warm crystal waters and white beaches of the DR. We were not disappointed. When we arrived we decided to upgrade to the Preferred Club, nicer rooms, preferred pools and Top brand drinks. It was so worth it. Mudslides in the afternoon were such a treat. The pool was so much quieter and it felt really special. The restaurants were all very good with lots of choice. We especially liked having breakfast on the board walk by the water. The rooms are all very nice and have a modern feel to them, very comfy beds, the best we have ever had in the DR. This hotel is totally beautiful and managed very well. We would definitely return. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,188
    1,349
    499
    171
    103
See reviews for
1,710
2,399
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We are traveling back now from Dreams Resort. Each year my friends and I travel the world on a week of just girls fun. This year we decided on Dreams. The beach was beautiful and the staff was out of this world. The entertain group was amazing and nice.( Good luck Louis) The food and bev manager was very concerned about the group every need. On the last night of the stay Kenia Ramirez assisted my friends in planning my birthday dinner. Its was at the bayside cafe, OMG so nice. We had dinner under the moonlight. We are planning to return soon. Kenia and Dreams thanks for the best birthday.

Travel Date: Oct 12- Oct 19

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I just returned Sat. from a 1 week stay at Dreams. Myself & 46 friends & family attended my daughter's wedding & it could not have gone any better.Jenny, the wedding planner, was awesome. I had anxiety about the planning from Ohio & the resort sight unseen.The entire staff - photographers, servers, cosmetologists, bartender, DJ, fireworks people &,Spanish minister made the ceremony & reception memorable. I would suggest & urge anyone thinking about a destination wedding here - to do it! The entire stay at the resort was great also. The only hiccup was the travellers' bug that some got.I cannot wait to go back to the area.I would suggest to fly to Punta Cana. Santo Domingo Airport is a precarious 2 hours away.Have fun!

Room Tip: Building 4 first floor toward the pool makes easy access to pool, pizza & 1 of the many bars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Pros:
-The Beach is amazing.....and I mean AMAZING. White sand, crystal waters, it was absolutely picturesque.
-The service at restaurants and at the bars, for the most part, was excellent. Everyone, and I mean everyone, responded to any request with "it's a pleasure."
-Besides my issue with the bathroom (in the Cons section), the room was nice. The high, vaulted ceiling made the room seem larger than it was.
-The grounds were kept clean and beautiful.
-Though I had a couple of issues with the spa, the staff was very nice and the rooms were lovely.
-Because of being on an island the beef was grass-fed and tasted great (which helped cause they don't use seasoning in almost all of the restaurants).
-El patio is the best restaurant hands down. Only place you can find food with flavor.
-There are flamingos in the middle of the resort. That was particularly great.
-The Casino is small, but they have tables which many resort casinos don't, so we still had fun.
-I did not bring children, but the kids at the resort seem to really enjoy themselves, especially with the gigantic floating fun areas in the pool/beach.
-They are not cheap with liqueur and the swim-up pool bartenders are really great guys.


Cons:
-The food was bland. I know resort food is not going to be abundantly flavorful, but I'm a Puerto Rican woman in DR. I expected them to put some seasoning on at least SOME of the food.
-There are certain aspects (nightly turn down, daily fridge stocking, quiet pool area, heck you don't even get towel art) that were given to preferred club members only that I'd gotten just for being a guest at other resorts. I understand why they do it, but there are certain things that should be a part of a resort experience.
-The plumbing. We had to call the plumber three times, twice for the toilet and once for the sink. Each time was a different problem with the toilet was stopped up, the toilet stopped working or the sink was stopped up. The toilet broke one last time when we left and at that point we were checking out so we didn't even bother calling again.
-One of the plumbing issues mentioned above had us going to the concierge at 10pm and asking for someone to come fix it...then calling at 11pm....then at 12am...by 1am I was tired of waiting and went to sleep. No one was coming and anyone I called for help at that time of night just kept saying "no problem, no problem." I called again in the morning and they finally sent someone.
-I think offering people anti-bacterial going into a buffet is great. I think MAKING everyone use it is a bit aggressive (and they wouldn't even seat you til you used it).
-The Spa, while mostly lovely, need to clean their steam room, jacuzzi and cold pool. The Steam Room looked gross (tiles should not have massive grout and dirty mops should not be left in there) and the jacuzzi and cold pool need to be cleaned daily if not twice a day to deal with all the falling leaves and debris.
-Small issue: Those pool tables need to upgrading
-The beautiful and amazing jacuzzi by the sea is never on. Some workers say it is only for preferred club members, some say its only for special occasion with couples. It would be an amazing addition to the resort if people could use it.
-The only working jacuzzi by the main pool is barely warm and was only hot once in 6 days of staying there (that first day of hot water kept us going back hoping for similar results with no avail).
-Gri Gri Divers near the towels and the souvenir vendors that show up on Thursdays are wayyyy too aggressive about selling their product. I shouldn't feel harassed to buy anything on resort grounds.
-The bed is kind of hard, so if you don't enjoy that it may hurt a bit.
-They need to upgrade the hammocks. They are so old that unless you are a child you are very low to the ground. They also should add more hammocks on the resort grounds.

Things to note/tips:
-You can use floats in the pool areas. So bring and don't waste your money buying it in the resort.
-Saw a lot of people complain about the food. I didn't get sick once. However, I drink peppermint tea after most meals because it helps keep the stomach calm.
-The resort shop doesn't use coin...at all. So pay in cash and they sometimes round up and sometimes round down. Just be ready with your credit card in case they round up.
-In most all-inclusive packages tips are included, but I always leave little tips for everyone just in case.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at Dreams at the end of August and the reason for the delay in submitting this review is I wanted to let the after holiday 'big up' cool so as not to be too over the top.

Firstly the negatives, which are very minor. We were in block 2 which was quiet and down near the bar pool and several restaurants, which we loved. However we were disappointed with the room mainly because it was very dated and the bathroom in particular could seriously do with being updated. The electrical sockets were very 'ropey' in fact my husband got an electric shock from an exposed cable behind the bed and the bedside lamps went on and off when we opened and closed the bedside cabinet drawers. That aside the bed was extremely large, comfortable and there was plenty of storage space and space to move around the room.

Another minor niggle is the snack bar on the beach, whilst there were burgers cooked every day they were mainly beef and/or fish, and the hotdogs were always dry and insipid. On a couple of occassions chicken burgers were available and on Labor Day there was a far better selection which I think could be offered as a matter of course.

Also the Coffee Bar, whilst being really excellent and one of our favourite places to go could do with refurbishing. The furniture needs to be re-upholstered/replaced and a general lick of paint wouldn't go amiss. The same can be said for some of the furniture in the main reception, re-upholster or replace expecially the settees.

The positives far outweighed any negatives though. The resort is extremely clean and well maintained. Everyone is polite, extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

The foods is phenomonal especially in the Italian, French, Seaside Grill and Oceania restaurants, but that's my personal choice. The main buffet restaurant has a wonderful range of fresh cooked food every mealtime and I especially loved the idea that everone entering the restaurant was asked to sanitise their hands. We all have to handle the same utensils and germs can very easily be passed this way resulting in upset stomachs etc which is easily blamed on the food. The choice of drinks is amazing and I loved the Cocktail of the Day both alcoholic and non. (but mainly the alcoholic ones!)

We are already planning to return next year, this time with our daughter and her friend.

All in all I think once the already started refurbishment is complete the resort will definitley be 5*

Roll on next year........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Dreams La Romana a few times before whenever they had good rates. We have also stayed at resorts in Punta Cana and we find that the club level at the Dreams La Romana is a better value. We spent September 2012 in one of the Anniversary rooms and it was great! The club level attendants/customer service reps were very attentive to our needs and did a great job (especially their Supervisor/Management). We had similar service at the Excellence in Punta Cana, but we had issues with theft at the Excellence with no cooperation from management, security. It would be nice if the Dreams pack their club level in Room Bar with better selections to include some top shelf liquor and light presidente beer. It is very difficult to find light beer. We were able to get the Ripiao band to sing happy birthday to our Mom during the Dominican Night at the buffet restaurant (Their Management and staff were also great). They should also have a separate club that offer merengue/salsa/bachata only. Their club had hip hop all night without an alternative. The water aerobics was great, but they should have a separate area with music and dancing both on the beach and pool area. The shows were okay with room for improvements. They should consider having a local band play nightly in their banquet hall (Spanish/Merengue style one night and maybe Rock/Pop the other night Alt. Days). We would definitely go back whenever they offer good rates again. Maybe they can have some sort of membership for those who intend to stay often. We would make it the place to go resort on a yearly basis if they offer a good deal with their membership and make the necessary improvements.

Room Tip: Must stay in club level if you prefer quite upgrade newer rooms with ocean views and top shelf drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent 9 days at Dreams La Romana.It is very clean and nicely kept hotel.Most of the staff are very friendly.If you are like us beach lovers then it is a place for you.
The beach is fantastic. Very calm ocean ,practically no waves.
Unfortunately I would have to agree with other reviews the food there is not the best we've tried.There was not much of the food choice in the main buffet,the same kind of foods every day . After a couple of days it became kind of annoying.At the a la carte restaurants, all of the meat dishes were overcooked. If they would improve their restaurants we would! definitely go back since we loved the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana

Address: Playa Bayahibe | P.O. Box 80, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 751
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa on the sun drenched southeast coast of the Dominican Republic is an unforgettable adventure for singles, couples and families. Here, you’ll discover a tranquil world that gives you one of nature’s most pristine beaches, a sea of vivid turquoise and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as a most honored with all attendant privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® — where everything is included.You will be transformed by the calming power of the tropical jungle and palm lined beach that borders your vacation hideaway. Lounging by our large crystalline pools, or wandering among our tropical gardens, you’ll soon feel time and tension melt away. From the moment we greet your arrival, you will be delighted by your surroundings and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreams La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.