We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bona Taula

Bona Taula
Calle Rafael Adrover, 3 | Calonge, 07669 Santanyi, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 16 71 47
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 50 Restaurants in Santanyi
Price range: $12 - $75
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Bona Taula Mallorcan house next to the Church of Calonge, people in southeast Mallorca, 4 km from Cala D'or is a meeting point for the area.Since 1987, Tomeu Vallbona and Stuart Magee, run this cozy restaurant.Family atmosphere, with an international audience. A table with an older couple, smartly dressed, England, another young German tourists, along with another table in a Spanish family.In the summer months, all tables are located in the interior garden, surrounded by several lemons and plums, grapes Mallorcan courtyard covered terrace.In winter, enjoy dinner in the main dining room by the fireplace, or one of its private dining rooms, distributed in the old Mallorcan house.The kitchen dishes include traditional Mallorcan (Majorcan fried, tumbet, sopes Mallorcan trampo, ...) produced by the market products. Its crispy suckling pig baked, or grilled meats (lamb chops, sirloin, steak, ...) over low heat, are a specialty.Restaurant serving lifestyle "slow life and food".
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nothing much has changed hear for 25 years, including the menu and the staff; always a recommendation for a happy establishment. It remains one of the longest established restaurants in the area and well worth visiting, for really good, simple food, in friendly surroundings.
If you are a regular you might get your picture taken and put up on the wall in one of the collages of photos.
Not cheap, but meat excellent and cooked on a BBQ, although kitchen dishes are also available like suckling pig.
In the winter you eat inside, in the summer outside in the garden under the trees.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food but cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to this place on a recent holiday on the recommendation of locals to the area, the setting was lovely and romantic but very cramped! There was no space and felt as if I was sat right on top of another table! I understand that they need to get as much custom as possible in the height of season but I felt very uncomfortable! The food was nice but this was the most expensive meal of the holiday, very expensive for what you get. Everyone in our party of eleven enjoyed their meal and would go back but I think it's out priced itself! The cuts of meat are the most outstanding thing about this place, a butter knife cut through the fillet steak my husband ordered. Even though it was lovely food I wouldn't go back as I was squashed and uncomfortable because of this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal with family on Friday 9th August! Wow. What can i say? Suckling pig under the grape wines and excellent service! The staff are so friendly and make the evening so pleasant! Had cheese cake for dessert and i can honestly say it was the best cheese cake i have ever had! We will definately return next year with more of the family! Thank you all. And check out all the photos...beautiful place. Really is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

i went here on the recommendations of my parents who like this restaurant alot.
we were greeted nicely and shown to our table.
the outside is nice and has a romantic air about it.
The owner came to take our order, but in the middle of me telling him what i would like he saw some people who he wanted to say hello to... and left while i was still speaking and started kissing and hugging people as they walked outside. Slightly rude but i got over it.

food was OK - nothing more than that.

However when we asked for the bill, we waited 50 mintues for it to come and we couldnt 'flag down' a waiter to get someone to chase it.
when it arrived there was a small apology but waiting 50 minutes for our bill to arrive was ridiculous!! the waiters seem to ignore you if they dont know you and it certainly wasnt the dinner we were expecting.

my parents said they have never had a bad meal there, so maybe we were just unlucky?!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice location away from the main centres, good meat (we were a party of 8 and had the suckling pig, lamb, pork and duck between us). Slightly over priced but it is high season, and the restaurant was 80% full on a Wednesday evening. Would stay away from the cream of courgette soup - not creamy and not tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bona Taula also viewed

 

Been to Bona Taula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bona Taula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.