We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews we had a fantastic holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caria Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caria Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Caria Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Babadag Mevkii | Sarigerme, Sarigerme 48600, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sarigerme
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews we had a fantastic holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just come back from the Caria where we stayed for 2 weeks and we had a fantastic holiday thoroughly enjoyed it, we had read other reviews before going and were dreading it, but it was nothing like what we were expecting. The hotel is built into the side of a mountain so yes it is steep while walking to and from your room but the views are absolutely amazing. There is a free shuttle bus which takes you to the beach every hour (you couldn't walk it) and there are always taxis on standby to take you into the town whenever you want (we never paid anymore than 10 Lira which is about £3ish). The rooms are fine, basic but always clean and we always had fresh towels every day. The staff were friendly and helpful as much as they could be and the entertainment staff were brilliant and made sure there was always something to do during the day and night (our two boys really enjoyed the entertainment staff being around). The food was great always plenty to choose from not much in the way of English food but when you go abroad its always nice to try the local dishes. A lot of the reviews complained about the amount of russians, yes there were a lot when we stayed and only a handful of English but we didnt have many problems with them, they are a bit rude but if they push in front of you we just said something and generally they apologised. The most important thing to remember is a 4* hotel in Turkey is more likely to be an English 3*. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and would go back to the Caria we recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    21
    27
    23
See reviews for
67
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We went to the the caria for 2 weeks from 4th aug 2011-what a brilliant holiday! the staff were friendly,helpful-nothing was too much trouble.The entertainment team were second to none(especially Anastacia).Our 10 year old daughter was constantly involved in the entertainment programme-they always asked if we wanted to join in but were not in your face.The pool was beautiful -cleaned every night.There were plenty of sunbeds so no need for towels!The free bus took you to the beautiful private beach where you could have lunch from the caria hut there-again brilliant friendly staff.The food at the hotel was lovely- of course there were moaners who wanted english food!Plenty of choice-salads,meat,fish,breads-the turkish pizza which was cooked while you waited was delicious,as were the omlettes and pancakes which were sometimes cooked at breakfast.The rooms were basic but cleaned daily with fresh towels.On our last night our daughter was presented with a certificate by the team -she was in floods of tears and didnt want to go home-she says it was her best holiday ever-and we agree it was one of ours!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I visited this resort in sept 2011 with my 10yr old son was a litte concerned going to Turkey as a single mum but i have to say i can not wait to return! I had read alot of reviews on this resort before i left and was really worried what sort of hoiday we were going to have but i couldnt of asked for anything better.we arrived early hours of the morning and were quickly shown to our room and shown how to operate the air con,we were on the 4th street which yes is up a steep hill but as i was fully aware of the hills before i went this didnt concern me although i must admit i wouldnt of wanted to be any higher!!
The hotel was amazingly clean,alot of people said rooms were disgusting but i found mine to be fine..yes mabe they arent ultra modern but everthing worked and i dont know about you when im on holiday i only want a comfy bed as all i want the room for is to sleep in!!! there was always people cleaning around the hotel weather this was the pools (every eve) or preening the gardens it was nice to see how well the hotel is looked after.
I have nothing to complain about regarding the food there was always a selection and we never went hungry..as with any all inc hotel after a week the food may get a little repetative but you could eat in the town that had some lovely restaurants even though i didnt feel the need to.The restaurant staff are very very quick to take away plates though so make sure u keep your eye on your plate if uve not finished with it!!!!
I had read alot of bad things about Russians and rudeness...again i find you will get rude people anywhere in the world so if someone does push infront do what you do at home if you thought someone was being rude to you its no big deal.
The staff and animation team were all fantastic...some evenings i did find the entertainment a little cringeworthy but it gave my son a laugh! the only thing i will say is some of the reception staff didnt speak english which proved to be difficult but i soon learnt the ones who could and spoke to them if i needed to.
The pools are lovely...the little one with the slides in is not near the main pool which may be a pain if you have more then one child and also the depth is quite shallow so be careful and remember to lift arms and legs so you dont hit the bottom!!! it was a shame the sides are only open from 10.30 am for 2hours.
There is a free mini bus every hr taking you to the beach which is really clean and the sea was gorgeous if you want to go to the town you can get dropped off at the beach and get on the tractor trailor that will take you to the town where you can get some real bargains!!!!
We went on a day trip with serigerme tours and again i couldnt of asked for more,we went on the dalyman boat trip our guide was very attentive and made our day fab :)
So all in all we had a brilliant time and i will def go back...my son wants me to book it already!!

Room Tip: any rooms after street 3 are up hills or steps so if u do have major mobility problems this hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

On august 19th i flew to this hotel and stayed for 14 days with my two teenagers and my husband, after reading all the other reviews i was preparing myself for a terrible holiday, little did i know that it was to be nothing like that...

Yes, the hotel is 'dated' but compared to the hotels around it, it shows the most turkish culture. The pool and sunbeds where easy to get even if you did come down later on in the day you could find somewhere! the beach was beautiful and all the staff were friendly and worked ever so hard!

if i were to complain about something i would say that there was not as many english familys as we would of liked but as the weeks went on more started to arrive but by then we had enjoyed spending time as a family. At the bottom of the hill which the hotel is percherd on there was a club called m&s we let our 15 and 16 year olds go with the animation team (witch were also fantastic and new a variation of languages) they said they had a great time and we didnt hesitate to let them go again.

Many of the reviews complain about russians but if they push infront of you , you simply say something and they suddenly apologise, but when they did it to my daughter the chef noticed and served her first anyway.

Some nights i worried wether the kids would be bored but they just did there own thing, some nights we went into the town and nearly everyone knows english, they do try and drag you into the shops but a simple no thank you seemed to get them to clear off, during our stay we took two boats trips, one to turtle beach and the other a 12 island tour, they were great fun! especially turtle beach we had a mud bath, i felt 10 years younger!


overall i would stay here again, it was brilliant value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

As with many others we were a little concerned before departure after reading the available reviews but off we went anyway....
We arrived after midnight and had booked 2 rooms specifying that they be close together but we were given 4th street and 7th street so we asked for a change. we were told to come back in the morning and were skeptical that anything would be done.....however the next morning they had arranged a move from 7th street to the adjoining room in 4th street (including a free upgrade from a double to a family room!)
The hotel is a little tired and dated but during our stay the exterior walls were being painted, the ampitheatre seats were replaced and new loungers were added.
The hotel is definitely not suitable for those not able/prepared to climb steps all day and those with pushchairs might get frustrated.
The food was edible but quite limited and repetitive after about 9 days we just started going into the village for our meals (do try the fish house restaurant with free shuttle back to the hotel and the dolphin for cocktails and lovely ice cream)
The staff were very good but under pressure due to lack of crockery, cutlery etc. and a little biased towards the Turkish guests
The free shuttle to the beach is valuable as the beach is a lovely spot and there is an all inclusive facility there
Not sure that we will return as we tend to try somewhere different each year but if the price was right I would not complain if I ended up back there!!

Room Tip: try to get 3rd or 4th street as not too close to noise in evening and not too far to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Overall great hotel if you're Turkish !!!
Rooms : very basic , in need of refurbishment. We had family room , very spacious. We had to be move, room 6101 had sewer smell and later found out room next to it also. Rooms over 8 levels. lower levels for the special ones (Turkish). We were level 5 , 127 steep steps. After a few days very tiring and we are quite fit.
Food : Basic choice but not too bad. We found going at 8.00pm seemed the best time. Staff a bit slow on cleaning tables, unless of course you were Turkish.
Evening : Only one bar for whole of complex. tables limited. Entertainment was an old bloke playing keyboard to backing music and saxophone, badly. Otherwise Turkish music Surprise surprise. Animation was run of the mill, same stuff you get at every hotel.
Pool area : Only used this once. Not enough sunbeds for complex. Sunbeds cramped together. The usual towels on beds and nobody there. Music played all day, mixture of English and Turkish. Pool games by the animation team.
Beach : The beach is best part for us. 10 min free shuttle ride. Sand is fine and beach is clean. Walking into sea is relaxing , no pebbles just pure sand. Not quite enough sunbeds with no mattresses , we took airbeds. Very busy in the morning , then dies down at 12.00. Shuttle back is hit and miss. The last ones at 6.15 is every man for themselves. No queuing just jump on. Beach bar is okay.
Location : Very isolated, nowhere to go for a walk to get off resort. Everything is a shuttle ride or taxi ride. Free shuttle to town at 9.30pm back at 11.30pm, but you do struggle to use up 2 hours. Market on Sunday morning about 10.00am. Just catch Beach shuttle , ask driver to stop for bazaar , turn left at junction walk for 5 mins and its on your left. Walk past all the shops and market at end.
First half of our week was okay, but then the Turkish invaded. The resort was at full capacity. 50% Russians, 45% Turkish and 5% Europeans. The Russians are bolshy but we just got bolshy back. The Turkish just seemed to walk round the resort as if they were the special ones. We felt like third class citizens. Defiantly not a 4 star, lucky if it was 2 star. Don't worry about changing into lira as they prefer English. The only place that didn't like English was the shop for a paper (5 lira). The resort is not big enough when at full capacity. Would I go back? NO WAY. Would try a different hotel due to beautiful beach.

Room Tip: If you have small children it will help, or lie about a serious health matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

To say that you need to be fit is an understatement, we were on the 5th road and had approx 105 to climb up and down , you had to use them to go to anything, it soon takes it toll on the fitter person. Rooms were clean, staff helpful. Beach was nice and clean. Entertainment was awful, meals very basic all geared to Russians who (as previous blogger said) are very rude, barge pass you fill their table with as much food they could (esp on the puddings) and walk away and leave half of it uneaten. Even though all inclusive food not available all day ( no snack or ice creams).

The village you cannot walk to in the evening you need a taxi. Too isolated.
( as one Turkish lady told us.. its for honeymooners who only need the room)!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caria Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caria Holiday Resort

Address: Babadag Mevkii | Sarigerme, Sarigerme 48600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Sarigerme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sarigerme
Hotel Class:4 star — Caria Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Caria Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caria Holiday Hotel Sarigerme
Caria Holiday Sarigerme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caria Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.