We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by History and Lush Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Motte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau de la Motte to your Saves list
Chateau de la Motte
59740 Liessies, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Liessies
Lakewood, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Surrounded by History and Lush Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a glorious chateau, appearing to be 17th century or so. The room was warm and comfortable, with an incredible marble (non-working) fireplace with ornate iron inlay. The dinner was magnificent -- excellent wine/beer choices, eclectic menu items and wonderful, gracious service. Breakfast was equally wonderful with the assortment of breads, meats and cheeses -- and requisite chocolate croissants :) If you prefer quiet and peace, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Quiet and peaceful this lovely old moat (Motte) is home to a family of hoteliers who really know their business. The welcome is warm and the food is incredible. It is very comfortable and peaceful and worth going to for destination dining. They do their best to communicate in English and a knowledge of French is useful but not entirely necessary.
I liked the old world charm and breakfast in the room is a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

we have just returned from a short stay at Chateau de la Motte and cannot recommend it highly enough. It is a little of the tourist trail in a beautiful area called Avesnois near forests and lakes and very peaceful. The aim for us was to visit battlefields of the first and second world wars and Waterloo as we enjoy history. Although it was a drive it was lovely to come back to the peace and seclusion. The food was amazing we were going to upgrade to a better menu as sometimes on half board the food is disappointing but there was a choice of three things every night for three courses and not one was duplicated during our four night stay. The food was HOT! Unusual for France but for us English a delightful surprise! The owners were delightful and every night came round to see that we had enjoyed the meal. The first night was quite chilly even in May and there was a roaring log fire in reception to enjoy our aperitifs by. The rooms were lovely and ours had just been decorated and we had an extra room with a sofa bed in it. They were warm and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was the usual Continental breakfast but a juicer was put out so we could have fresh orange. The ham was home cooked and not out of a packet! Viennoisrie was very fresh and breakfast coffee very smooth. It was extremely good value and of course we benefited from the weak euro at the moment which is always a bonus! A walk before or after dinner took us to the lakes and into the forest on our doorstep. All in all a wonderful few days. We hope to return at a later dater. Monsieur has promised to enquire about the fishing rights!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had twice dinner in the restaurant. The menu offers a nice selection of modern french kitchten. The prices are gently and the quality is very good.
The setting makes it a good place to go with a group or family.
In summer they have an outdoor terrace

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

This Chateaux is relatively small but has all the history, charm and character. We stayed 3 nights and there was plenty to see around the area.
Monsieur is passionate about the Chateaux history and gives guided tours which are very informative and interesting. He knows every block - he even makes his own replacement blocks for repairs!
Madam is an excellant cook - We had drinks outside before a several course meal around the dining table. I would definitely recommend doing this as we met some very interesting people who were mainly european. It was excellant value and the price included wine.
We stayed in 3 different rooms as people request particular rooms.
All the rooms were beautifully restored and decorated. They all had lovely views across the countryside. Some were bigger than others but all were geat for couples.
This is off the beaten track and you would need a car to get there.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Hospitality and dining experience.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Had prebooked for our last night before returning to U.K. and would certainly never have come across it by accident! It is completely off the beaten track and very peaceful. We were greeted by the jolly patron who seemed to do everything, took our bags to our room, cooked the meal and served the breakfast! We had a large room overlooking the garden with a good bathroom. Because of booking ahead we had arranged a half pension rate and so had the menu of the day, which was a lovely meal, if rather filling for us! Breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate. It was very good value and a well run establishment. We would certainly use this place as a first or last night when visiting France in future.

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

Stayed for two nights on half board at this impressive Chateau situated in extensive grounds. The food that the Chef prepares is excellent and the atmosphere in the vaulted restaurant is very pleasant. You can upgrade to higher priced menus, but we found the one offered was just right for us! The staff are friendly and professional. Good cold buffet breakfast, ham, cheese board, yoghourts, cereals, fruit, eggs, usual bread and croissants, etc. and
you can squeeze your own orange juice (other juices available) and make toast - last but not least good coffee!

  • Liked — Sharing in the luxury of yesteryear but with no snobbishness.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de la Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Motte

Address: 59740 Liessies, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Liessies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Liessies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de la Motte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Motte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.