We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander The Great Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kriopigi 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Kriopigi
Kronstadt, Brasov, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

great beach, great food and different every day, excellent staff, excellent services

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    26
    29
    27
See reviews for
46
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I just came back from a holiday at this hotel and I can honestly say that the only good thing there is the beach. Actually, not so much the beach itself but the sea water.

First, we arrived late in the evening after the end of the dinner that is offered by the hotel and which we have booked as well. The good thing was that the staff was able to organize a dinner for us (at 22:30 in the evening), the bad thing was that we were not able to pay at that moment because their credit card reader was not working. However, the receptionist was pretty relaxed about this and told us that once it was fixed, he would call us.

We went to our room and I have to say that this was the room with the best view ever! It was in one of the adjacent building, on the top floor, a corner room which gave us an incredible view of the sea and the garden. However, the furniture was poor. I have to say I didn't really pay much attention to the furniture - what I wanted was a hotel that has a beach so that I didn't have to drive a few kilometers every day to reach a nice beach; I also have to mention that the room had a big terrace with nice comfortable chairs which gave me and my partner the chance to spend some nice evenings there and witnessing one incredible sunrise.

Now comes the bad part. Imagine you are on a holiday: you wake up in the morning, relaxed, knowing you are not working today but you can spend the whole day lying on the beach. Yes, but first you need to wake up between 7:30 and 10:00 so that you can have some breakfast (Ok, I know it is like this with all of the hotels but I never understood this - who was the one who lied to the hotels staff around the world that the guests would like to wake up early in the morning every day just for a breakfast when this could be the one week of your whole year where you actually have the chance to sleep in?). I survived the idea that I have to wake up early in order to get some food for which I have paid but I could not survive the thrill of being right there in the restaurant trying to make my way to get some food - every day there was a problem with the coffee mugs - they were always missing; the plates were not enough; the juices - better don't even try them, my perfume tastes better; the salami and the cheese were just 1-2 types, same with the jams; the pastries were of a poor quality (except one with apricots, I highly recommend it); and finally, the kids - I was just on the queue to get some fruits when a kid sneaked in in front of me and took the last piece of watermelon. OK, you say, it's just a kid, let him have it. Yes, but when this repeats a few more times, you realize that the kids are your greatest enemy if you want to make it to the food!!!

Then your day continues pretty calmly - you go on the beach, you see the serene water and the life seems perfect. Of course, you have to pay for the chairs and the umbrellas while it would be way more useful if their price was included in your final bill; of course, you have to deal with babies' crying, kids' screaming, and parents' inadequacy to take care of this mess but, unfortunately, kids are not forbidden there. I don't want to sound like a person who hates kids. I just dislike badly raised kids, and I dislike their parents as well. When I was a kid I was not allowed to move a cm away from my chair and not a single sound was coming from my mouth. However, if you ask the parents nowadays whether they can get their kids to their room so that they can scream there, the parents give you a mean look and start shouting at you that it's just a kid. So much for the silent afternoon. However, somehow you manage to listen only to the small waves and enjoy the fish swimming around your feet.

Later, after this generally chill day on the beach you are extremely hungry and in need of a proper food. And here comes the greatest nightmare. The hotel is providing dinner but the hotel does not have the capacity, the facility and the proper services to accommodate everyone. So, we had to wait in a queue for at least 20 min. every day until we were seated. Then, on of us had to sit to keep the table while the other is walking around like a mad person trying to find some plates. Then the fight for the food starts again - you are just about to get the last piece of something, when a kid sneaks in and gets in front of you. Not only that, but there was absolutely no variety in the dishes. The only thing that we had more choices was the salads - usually 5-6 different types. Otherwise, it was just a pasta with tomato sauce, a meal with some meat and sauce, and some pastry. The first day they had fish - my partner doesn't eat fish, so he got some of the meatballs - I honestly believe they were made with the sand from the beach. Moreover, I will never forget how a new plate of watermelon was brought and immediately a mother with her three kids armed with plates and forks took all of it and brought it to their table leaving a few more guests like me looking blankly at the empty plater.

Oh, another thing to mention - at least in our room the red sign for hot water was for the cold water and the other way around.

From all of the above, I can definitely recommend the place for the families - please, feel welcome to go and make a mess. However, I do not recommend it to anyone who actually wants to have some peace and order and wants to have a break.

And, finally, it is ridiculous nowadays for a 4 stars hotels to make its guests pay for internet connection that can't be used anywhere else but in the lobby and the hotel cafe and bar.

I wouldn't give this hotel more than 3 stars!

Room Tip: Choose room 837!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

On first sight, this hotel looks idyllic......

Then you get inside and the horror movie starts playing......... This is the first time in nearly 4 years that I feel the need to post a negative review of a property, and during that time, I have been dismayed to read reviews of some hotels I had booked, only to find that they were unlike the majority of the reviews posted. But not this time.... This hotel deserves very bad review it's got and then then some!

Let's talk about the positives first it will only take a moment. The situation of the hotel is great, on a hillside on a shelf above a beautiful beach. They obviously make a lot of effort with grounds keeping and external maintenance, and their staff are so friendly and helpful. That's the end of the positive experience.

We drove into the overflowing car park and tried to find a small place to park our little hire car. There was nowhere on site and we were directed to a field across the busy road, which I refused to do until I had offloaded our luggage. The security guard who asked me to move did it so nicely and while we were checking in did manage to find me a space on site, so kudos to him.

Then we got to reception which was a long hot walk down a steep hill (this hotel is not for those who have mobility problems), and one of the two staff on duty decided to walk away without dealing with us, or offering any explanation of why she wasn leaving us to her colleague. Then, despite handing over a voucher which clearly said we had booked a twin bedded room with sea view, the receptionist first tried to put us into a small double dungeon with a fabulous view of the wall of the building downhill from it. We went straight back to reception who tried to tell us that there was no other room available... I stuck to my guns and funnily enough, a twin room with sea view in the main building was suddenly available - except when we got there, it was on the hillside view side of the hotel. Back to reception we went... To be told that there really was no other twin room available, and if we would give them tonight they would sort us in the morning. While we accepted the twin room, I did get on to our tour operator, who managed to speak to a manager, and got us an assurance of a move, with an apology of free sunbeds and umbrella on the beach for our stay.

The twin room we spent the first night in was small and at first had no functioning zircon. The shower room was tiny, and using the shower meant flooding the floor as the shower tray was so shallow it overflowed.

Then we won't to what was described as a full breakfast........ Well it wasn't what I would call a full breakfast, it was a continental breakfast with eggs in many forms (fine for those who can eat the horrid things - not so good for those like me who are allergic to them and even the smell can make me quite ill ) it wasn't worth the 10 euro/ person it would have cost had we been paying, and the breakfast experience put us off the dinner offering which was an extortionate 25euro/ person. In fact explorations of the nearby restaurants saw us getting food and drink for two for less than 25 euro for both of us!

When I went to reception, I was told that I had indeed been earmarked for a new room, but it wouldn't be available until around 2pm and I was given my free beach set voucher. The sea view room was a million times better, with a double and single bed, and a proper bathroom, so kudos for that, but as I was collecting my new room key, I couldn't help hearing another couple who had just arrived being given the same runaround as we had had the day before.

Short answer is that I wouldn't stay in this dump again if you paid ME to do so. The food is really bad, the majority of the accommodation is pretty dank and it's very overpriced for what it offers. If I wasn't on a tight budget, I would be looking for an alternative place to stay, as it is, we are spending on eating out as much as possible and frequenting the local supermarkets for bottled water.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms in main building are worth fighting for. The rest aren't worth it! Go elsewhere t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Although the surroundings are beautiful the hotel is a hole. The service is miserable, the rooms are outdated and full of ants. No shampoo, no towels, bad odour. The personnel is stupid and arrogant. It's a typical family hotel in Greece, meaning you can find lower income people from around Romania and Greece, uneducated, filthy and noisy. Don't go there under any circumstances!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Comfortable hotel with very clean beach (has a Blue Flag). Hotel is very good for relaxation, not for active people. Very green big territory with pool and beautiful garden.
It has a good infrastructure for disabled persons.
Walking 10-15 minutes to Kriopigi village and 30-40 minutes to Kallithea. Bus stop is near entrance to the hotel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Very nice hotel! Magnificent beach! Food is mostly typical Greek. As we were on honeymoon we got suit and it was lovely room with see view. I kindly recommend this hotel as well for young people as for older. Overall we had beautiful vacation and honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

was there in '02 with girlfriend, all arranged by Tui and Dertour. First receptionist tried to put me n some house opposite of the street and hotel, after little quarrel with manager we got small room in hotel. After 4 days they gave my better room cause I paid first 5 days to Dertour and other 5 days to Tui. Halfbroad was avarage, w/o choices for 4* hotel, furniture was dated in that time, restoran service and maid stuff was avaragepool insufficient for number of gests, nice garden, view, clean beach with blue flag but stairs or elevator down there. My good friend was there 2 weeks ago, didn't listen to me and past worse then me; food hellable, poor service, rooms for 2-3* hotel etc. Position of the hotel is correct, but all in all this is no more than 3* hotel needed total restauration and change management approach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Kriopigi 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Kriopigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glorious and peaceful setting in a rural environment 2,5 kms south of cosmopolitan Kallithea and 1,5 kms before the traditional village of KRYOPIGI, on Kassandra, the most legendary peninsula of Halkidiki. Distance from Thessaloniki airport is about 1hour driving. Just above a beautiful cove, with a smooth sandy beach descending gently to the water's edge. The length of the beach is about 2 kms of natural sand at its best and the waters are turquoise blue. On the pine hill 80 meters above the shore lays the Alexander the Great Beach hotel which is owned and operated by the hotel family P.A.P Corp. For the last 30 years. The hotel rooms, smoking and non smoking, fully renovated during the winter of 2003, are decorated in a modern relaxed style. Each room has shower or bath, WC, hairdryer, balcony/terrace, soundproof windows, private heating and air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone, music, mini-bar, satellite TV, internet connection and safe. Rooms with sea view are also available. The single rooms have shower, WC, balcony or terrace. The rooms in the bungalows at ground level have the same amenities as the hotel rooms, and additionally they have their own terraces. Parts of the hotel are also the family studios which include additionally a living room, and a kitchen. At the hotel there are also double and four bedded suites, junior suites, interconnecting rooms and rooms for people with special needs. A well-run hotel complex of a 5-story main building under the name FILIPPOS with fully renovated rooms, and 5 more 3-story buildings with 21 rooms each under the names: ARISTOTELES, AMFIPOLIS, VERGINA, PELLA & THESSALONIKI. The main building has an elegant lobby with the reception desk and a comfortable lounge area & Internet Corner. Other amenities include the ROXANI Main Restaurant, the a la carte restaurant open air "ANTONIS TAVERN", the "OLYMPIAS cafe", a games room, the CAVIROS Conference Hall, the PLOUTARCHOS Mini-Market and Souvenir Shop, an exclusive AIGNER corner and the "KASSANDRA DECK" Bar, with its spacious terrace where one can enjoy the superb view of the sea, the moon rise while tasting a cool cocktail under the sounds of international music to sail away. In the hotel's beautifully tended garden you can enjoy the freshwater pool with its separate children's pool, as well as the PANORAMA Pool bar, sun beds and umbrellas. On the beach the OASIS BEACH BAR operates all day. Beach towels Service available. Laundry, Secretarial services upon request. Hair dresser & Baby sitting upon request. Exclusive Spa Therapies. 24 Hrs Client Service guaranteed. All meals are specially designed on the Mediterranean recipes by Tassos Ferekidis, the Executive Chef, Famous Professor with numerous national & International awards. He is also the Dean of HOTELIA the Culinary Art School of P.A.P Corp. The Executive Chef uses the best quality local products, fresh fish from the region daily and P.A.P Corp.'S Home Made Products. The P.A.P Corp. Home Made Products, certified and organic are also available for sale as souvenirs at the CAVIROS Mini Market. Breakfast is offered in a Greek buffet with fresh choices of freshly baked traditional bread, and marmalades from the hotel's gardens. Buffet breakfast available from 07:00 till 10.00. Early & Late Continental Breakfast is served in the Kafenion OLYMPIAS after previous application at Reception. Once a week a Byzantine buffet, pick nicks, barbeques, Beach or Pool Parties, Greek night Folklore Dancing, Welcome Parties, Cooking classes and special theme events take place. Tennis (hard court with floodlights), billiards, table tennis, Beach Volley, Childrens playground. The beach is described as FREE of SEA TRAFFIC but for any sea sports rental, there is 3rd party associate, who has his base 3 kms from the coast and is available upon request. Excursions, Bikes & Car Rentals. For short incentives, a weekend, four days to a weekly fully length corporate agenda, the CAVIROS meeting room is fully equipped with any updated technological request available at quests disposal. The F Zone Events Planning & Party Service, Catering Department by P.A.P Corp. Is well qualified for any size of event. The best proposals and offers tailored to the customers needs unique and professional are accurate to the last detail upon request. A vast list of successful events that took place as reference is available upon request. Suitable for families and young people, Alexander the Great Beach Hotel is ideal for those who like pleasant vacations in an international atmosphere with elements of traditional Greek architecture. In addition, it is the best choice for those who wish to combine the social life of the urban Kassandra peninsula with the comfort and the tranquility of a hotel resort, which has the atmosphere and personal touch of a private summer villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alexander The Great Beach
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel Kriopigi, Kassandra, Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.