We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a quiet break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alkion Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alkion Apartments to your Saves list
Alkion Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kriopigi 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kriopigi
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely for a quiet break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pleasant, but not luxurious. It's a 3* imo but the service is great.

The rooms are typically basic, but perfectly functional and cleaned everyday. The aircon wasn't very effective in our room, but we asked if they had a fan and one arrived almost straight away.

Some other people commented on the food and the walk to the beach...

The beach is accessed from the same road the hotel is on, it's a hill and is steep in places. The hotel provide a shuttle three times a day, and it is a 15min walk that is the time back up the hill. The beach is lovely with wide shallow area from about 1m out to at least 10m out... there is about a metre of rock near to the shore to swim over before getting to the soft sand shallows. It's also worth bringing snorkel as there are lots of fish around the rocks and we even saw an octopus!

With regard to the breakfast, it is a very good range of continental style breakfast: choice of breads - crusty white, brown, seasame, toast, 5 cereals, 2 plates of cheese, 2 plates of meats, fresh tomatoes, olives, greek yoghurt, peach slices; then a range of six hot items: boiled eggs, sausage, fried eggs, usually a hot sweet local pastry or croissant, the selection changed each day. There was then of course coffee, tea and juice. I felt it was much better than other posts had led me to believe before arriving. There was tons to start the day on!

The pool are was well furnished with plenty of comfy loungers we never had to hog them with towels. There is also a pool bar open all day, with a happy hour each night.

We ate in the local town each night, and the service is always great, with very friendly locals everywhere we went. As a vegetarian who doesn't eat cheese, it was hard to find many dishes but a greek dish of stuffed peppers or shameful french fries and salad was always easy to get - just like I have to get at the less progrssive chains back in the UK.

The location is not the typical white walls and blue roofs you see for say Santorini; it is more like any generic Mediterranean town. Also there isn't much that we found to do. The town of Kriopigi appears to be here for tourists. We drove around the peninsular and its the same all around, lovely beaches and tourist towns.

We wanted to sit by the pool and relax for a week and this did exactly that! It was perfect and the local hospitality was such a feature. If you are looking for something more ancient or with lots of activities then this may not be for you but it was just the ticket for us!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've stayed for a week in September. Perfect service. Definitely got the best value for money that we paid. We were very pleased with service at the hotel. The food was very good- at breakfast there was always some fresh baked croissants or some pie. At dinner there was one kind of meat (pork or chicken) and one fish and a variety of vegetables every evening - potatoes, steamed broccoli, corn, carrots, cauliflower, etc. There is an extensive garden around the hotel, that really makes you feel more relaxed. There is a minibus at the hotel, which transports the tourists to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our first stay whit our 2 years old son. We got a nice outdoor pool, an excellent food, nice people. Helpful staff, even if there was different nations. The beach is not that far from the hotel, at 10-15 minutes walking distance, and the water was warm and clean.

Room Tip: close to the reception, is close to the restaurant too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a lovely time!!

The food was lovely the staff were always helpful, rooms always cleaned and were spacious! It is on a hill, so bear this in mind as it may prove difficult for wheelchair users!

5 minutes from the town with bars and restaurants! Overall had a lovely quiet relaxing holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Arad, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a 4 members family 2 adults and 2 kids, we have found here a nice, beautifull, peacefull place where you can have a marvellous vacation. Lots of green, a playground for kids, 2 nice pools and most important very large rooms with balcony. Let's not forget the breakfast and dinner , you could choose whatever you like , good food, not so many soups.
Conclusion; excellent family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

There is no such thing as 4 stars,aspect only 2 plus. The food was poor, for 7 days we have absolutly the same kinds of cheep salami and feta cheese,coffe was abominable,the variety of dishes was none.There is no water dispenser or ice dispenser or other thing you are especting to find in a 4 star hotel.DO NOT GO THERE !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Alkion, it could be much better
This 4star hotel with big rooms, with simple furniture , refrigirator, but with old small TV, with just couple of channels, so if you are foreigner, you cant understand anything.
Rooms are clean , but dinning room could be cleaner
Dinner quality is very low, as well as quantity ( always waitng for stuff to bring meat or fish!), they probably expect that guests can eat potato and rice only? Swimming pool is nice, water clean, sunbeds are comfy, and that is good bcs beach is more than 500m away and it is accesable only by verry narrow road. Hotels shuttle drives guests only 3 times a day , so if you want to go to the beach early ,you have to walk ,first drive is at 10:30, and last from the beach is at 15;30
Wireless internet is free, but often with problem, bcs they have limited access!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkion Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkion Apartments

Address: Kriopigi 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kriopigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alkion Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alkion Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkion Apartments Kriopigi, Kassandra, Halkidiki
Alkion Apartments Hotel Kriopigi
Alkyon Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkion Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.