We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean Aparthotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kriopigi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aegean Aparthotel
Save
You added Aegean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Kriopigi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“everything we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed 3/09/2012-10/09/2012 aged 19 & 20 from Hull


I booked this as a late deal for me and my boyfriend and after reading previous reviews we where a bit sceptical, when we arrived in Greece it took around ten minutes to get our luggage and find the coach, we had to wait around 30 minutes to set off as we had to wait for two passengers, i would recommend sitting on the left side of the coach as it has the scenic view. when we got to the hotel we thought wow! the interior is gorgeous, there are a few half built buildings around Kriopigi which i found very depressing as it was a reminder of the current economic climate.... we decided to pay for air con and a safe which was €50 for the both of them(cheaper then other places we have been) we absolutley loved the boutique feel of our room, except the bathroom which was fairly small and the shower curtain looked like a umbrella, the pool was very cold but after been in the sun a few hours it was glorious, we found the staff to be very friendly and always had a smile for you. we stayed on the BNB option through thompsons and so glad that we did! the breakfast was beautiful, definatly the best continental we ever had. the food at the aegean was good, i would recommend souvlaki. the downside was the wasps, it was the beginning of September when we went and learnt it was getting in to wasp season, they never stung anyone but they were just very annoying! there is also a family of stray cats who live just behind the hotel, they were very friendly but like the wasps they got around you when you had food. it took around 10 minutes to walk up to the village, if your not in the best of shape i would recommend stopping half way up the hill. all of the resteraunts we ate at were lovely, no complaints from us. the walk down to the beach was gorgeous as long as you are in comfortable sandles/shoes, the beach was crowded but not over crowded it was very nice, the sea was amazing, next to no waves... perfect for swimming and snorking. the little train costs €1 each way and comes every hour, but there are scheduals around! this was the perfect holiday for us, we met some very nice people and we hope to return to the aegean! some of the reviews on here are so picky and fussy, please dont let them put you off! :)

Room Tip: loved our sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
81
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked last minute with Thomsons and were not expecting a lot after reading the reviews on here. The Hotel is owned by two brothers and if you take the time to speak to them they are very hospitable. If the first thing you do is moan about everything to them then they would naturally take offence, they are very proud of their hotel. We were greeted with a handshake and a smile every day by the brothers. They even waved us off on our coach. We found it very comfortable. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the towels and bed linen changed once during our weeks stay. However they will change your towels if you request it or leave them on the bathroom floor. The rooms have no self catering facilities other than a fridge but there are loads of restaurants up the road to choose from and the bar do a good range of snacks - Good portions and reasonable prices. Anthoulas restaurant up in the old square by the church is fab - went there 4 out of 7 nights. Bar staff were excellent and good fun. Yes there are wasps, but you can't really blame the hotel for that, can you! My husband and I met some nice people, the rep Nikki was fab and we had a lovely stay. Take the bad reviews with a large pinch of salt!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in May with my boyfriend and we had an absolutely fantastic holiday. We had paid so little for it that we were not expecting a lot and we were pleasantly surprised. We were slightly disappointed that there was no double bed but this is quite common for 3 star european hotels. We found the rooms clean and the staff friendly. The bar tender's (George) Cocktails' were really good and I miss them to this day!
It was only a small hotel but this suited us as it gave the hotel a really nice/friendly ambience and you got to know everybody else who was staying there.
I would say the downside was the breakfast, it was awful. We went twice and never again. The bacon was just covered in lumps of fat and the sausages were european frankfurter type ones. There wasn't any fruit or yoghurt either.
The resort of Kriopigi itself was quaint with a handful of restaurants and bars but still just enough to eat out :) We loved Bistrot and ended up eating there 3 times! The Italian, Olive, was also really tasty. The beach wasn't fantastic so if you're a beach person, the beach at Sani is man made and lovely. There was lots of walking we could do around the resort and it was a very green version of Greece. Overall, I would definitely go to this hotel again and had a great holiday but if you don't want anything too quiet or are expecting 4/5 star quality then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at the Aegean for one week 3/9/12 till 10/9/12. They village is small but plenty of restaurant for a weeks stay.( A must visit Anthoula's food fab went twice its off the main street up a lane past a church) The Hotel is just off the main strip about a five mins walk only draw back its up hill to the village. The beach is 10 mins but its down hill, it is a beautiful beach a bit stone getting into the sea but love once in. two sun beds table and umbrella 4 euro's they is a small bar selling beer and soft drinks and snacks, coming back you can get the trolley train for one euro and it runs every hour and you get dropped of right out side the Hotel.
All the rooms face the pool and if you are on the upper floors you a can see the sea they have good size balconies with wooden table and chairs there is a fridge in the room with an ice compartment ( great for your ice ) We took a travel kettle and if you like a brew I recommend you do that. the room was large with a double bed at one end and a single a the other with a shower room in the middle the water pressure on the shower was great the shower curtain not like you get at home but it was more like a wet room very very clean and the room was serviced everyday sheets changed once a week and if you wet your towels and left them on the floor then they would change them.
Breakfast was a good selection from cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast you make yourself or crusty bread, cheese ham and each day the hot selection changed fried egg sausage, scrambled eggs bacon also they was cake and biscuits you will find something for everyone and tea coffee and juice.
The pool was very cold and deep but it was ok the bar area was very quiet no loud music like other review said. They do a bbq on a Wednesday and the Thomson Rep Nikki puts on a quiz which is good fun and after the bar staff put on some dance music it was a good night but the food was only just ok it wasn't worth the 14 euro's they do need to improve on this.
All in all a great place to stay for a week in the sun at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went on holiday from the 3rd of September for a week and stayed at the Aegean Apartments in Kriopigi. After reading some of the reviews we were not to sure what to expect. Ok the pic on this site is wrong but we found the correct one while looking on different review sites.
Ok it has a very basic room, and only a fridge so don't expect to be able to cook in the room, It was an Ok room, clean and had everything we needed for the price we paid. It was very clean, although the towels were only changed once in the week not enough times i felt, we had a problem with the shower and reported it, it was mended the same day.

The Breakfast was ok nothing special, Coffee, tea, juice, toast, tinned fruit, eggs, bacon, Bread, and 3 cereals and a few other bits.

Yes there is a hill a steep one to the beach, it took ten minutes to walk there, down one road and it is a lovely walk, but it is hard walking back be warned. Still its a lovely walk.

The town is small but lovely every one is nice, Its only a 3 minute walk to it up a bit of a steep hill again, ps I am not fit nether!!!!!!!.

The old town and the Tavernas are lovely the food is great and they are so not shy with there portions be warned..

The beach is lovely by the way lovely clear water and clean, the toilets are not so clean by the way.

Ok in a nut shell my Girlfriend and me loved this place, it was quiet with lovely places to eat, so if your after a quiet holiday with lovely people this is perfect for you, the staff were lovely as we made a bit of an effort to learn there local lingo, its not a five star hotel but we did not pay five star prices!!!!!!!!!!!!.

We hired a moped from (Explore Rent motor SAFARI) in the town, That was the best thing we did it was cheap and we got to see most of the Island, Kostas the owner was lovely and told us where to go and what to see. But if you do this its best you can ride a motorbike, and feel confident on one, still what a great way to see the sites.

I loved this place and we we be back next year for two weeks.

Room Tip: High as possible for the best view, as trees are getting tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked this hotel through Thompsons, and were thoroughly disappointed. Myself and my partner went for a week from 20-27 August 2012. Firstly, the picture on here is not the same hotel!! We were told it was near the beach and in the town, which it definitely isn't!! The beach is a 20 minute walk down a very steep hill, with limited signs! There is a train but it only seems to go once an hour. We were prepared for the hotel to be basic, but it was too basic to have 3 stars. We had one pillow each and when we found another (stained) one in the wardrobe, it was whisked away by the maids (about the only thing they did!) As many other people have commented, the shower is a nightmare and it left the bathroom feeling grubby - which wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there. Considering its been recently refurbished it felt shabby and unclean. Breakfast was very basic and limited, and although there were a few bar snacks round the pool, it was expensive for what you got. The town of Kriopigi was extremely quiet, to a flaw. When we went to the bars in the evening, we were the only ones there and the restaurants were also deserted - not what you expect for August. The town is also a 15 minute walk up the hill from the hotel. All in all we were very disappointed so after 4 days into a 7 day break, we got the coach to Thessaloniki for the rest of our time in Greece. Even though it meant paying for another hotel, it was the best decision we made that week!! Definitely will not be recommending this to ANYONE!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have recently come back from a holiday at the Aegean Apartments in Kriopigi. We were slightly apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but we needn't have been. When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised by the appearance of the hotel. We then were checked in by the owners who were friendly and welcoming. We then went to our room which was of a very high standard overlooking the swimming pool. We also had a sea view albeit a very distant one. The swimming pool area was always clean and tidy and there was no putting towels on sunbeds and then not using them which made a very nice change. The bar had a wide selection of drinks with limited but very tasty food. George and Alex always worked unbelievably hard and were always friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was nice and there was a choice but the hot food could have been a little bit hotter. The hotel is on a hill and is a short walk up to the small but pleasant town of kriopigi where there is a wide selection of bars, shops and restaurants. The walk to the beach is a pleasant 15 minute walk downhill but a long steep walk back to the hotel. Luckily there is a little train that comes back up at a cost of 1 euro.We had a fantastic holiday and hope to return soon. Would definitely recommend !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aegean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Aparthotel

Address: Kriopigi, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kriopigi
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Aegean Aparthotel Hotel Kriopigi
Aegean Aparthotel Kriopigi, Kassandra, Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.