We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not adequate to 4 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mendi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mendi Hotel to your Saves list
Mendi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalandra 630 77, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalandra
Skopje, Karpos, Macedonia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice, but not adequate to 4 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet, not very commercialized area near the place called Callandra. It is suitable for family vacations as it has both an outdoor and an indoor children's playground.,which was very important for us because we were travelling with our 2-year-old daughter.
The hotel has a nice big pool with warm sea water and there's also a small pool for kids where the water is almost hot. There is an animation team, a young couple from Bulgaria, who really have a special way with kids. The girl held aqua-dance lessons for the kids everyday, while the young man was in charge of animating the ladies in the pool (a 40-minute aqua-dance at 10 every day) and teaching tennis lessons.
In my opinion, the hotel has several downsides.
Firstly, they charged extra for sunbeds in the morning which we found odd since the beach was private (only for hotel guests). This wasn't the case if we went to the beach after 4 in the afternoon!
Secondly, although the beach is sandy, there is only one place of about 1,5 meter where you can enter the water walking on sand so, naturally, people want to use that 'entrance'. This results in a crowd at a very small area and it put us off going swimming in the sea several times.
Next, the outdoor children't playground is on grass which was always watered in the evening and ,because of the heat, the evenings were the only time when we could take our kids there. The problem was not really the water and the wet feet, but the huge number of mosquitoes that came out of the grass after the watering.
Then, the rooms are poorly decorated, even though I must say that they are clean and have a small kitchenette, which is pretty handy.
Finally, the choice of food for breakfast and dinner was the same every day! As we usually eat fruit for breakfast, we found it ok, but dinner mostly consisted of pasta. In ten days, not once did they serve cooked meat or seafood. On the top of it, they charged extra for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
30
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lazarevac, null, Serbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am very plaesed with this hotel, with beach and pool,although I have very large criteria about this things.The room we were in ,did"t have old furniture and there wasnt cockroaches like i saw in some coments,no it was comfortable room with air condition you can see on pics.Cleanliness is on high level.Only the wi fi is slow.This is great place for family with kids,particulary there is pool with sea water.Stuff are very kind,room service is exellent.Food is tasty,mostly Greak traditional,only objection i can find the breakfest is the same everyday.
For people who find more enterteiments like discos and bars,who likes crowded places,this isnt place they should stay.Beside that this is very good places for that price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic of Macedonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

this is good hotel suitable for family vacation with kids. beach and swiming pool are very nice, the garden is beautifull! The reception staff are nice and helpfull!
breakfast option is the same everyday and that is litle minus.

Goce, Republic of Macedonia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very nice and quite hotel in a picturesque location. Food is mostly a Greek traditional cuisine(which was fine for our family) do not expect anything extraordinary but rather good selection and always tasty. No any entertainment or busy bars and discos-you have to go to a nearest village (25km away). Rooms are a bit dated but clean. Overall it is good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel with my family (my wife, two little kids and myself) in the middle of July 2012. We were stayed at bungalows. Besides old furniter, poor food quality, unfriendly staff. extremly slow internet conection etc, Herewith I must warn everbody that bad smell comes from drainage spread all over the place and it was unbarable. But the worste thing, that cockroaches are regular "guests" in bungalows. So be prepared to run them all over the room.
This review I want to recomended to all, stay away from this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalandra hotels

Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for just one day so I can't really say whether the initial positive impression (the place looks clean) is sustained after a few days (i.e. whether they change bed-sheets regularly and the like).
This is certainly an old facility dating back to the 1960s, refurbished at some point but not fully. However it does not appear decadent at all. There are many different types of rooms, some literally half way under the ground! We were given a very good one with view to the sea. Our bed, supposedly twin, was actually 1 1/2. Food at the taverna is o.k., not very tasty, at least not pre-fab.
One sour point was their insistence to charge extra for the sunbeds (how lame is that?) Did not yield but, nevertheless, we were disappointed and left early whereas we could have stayed (and pay extra) for lunch which would actually mean more revenue for them. Not a very nice (neither reasonable for that matter) way to treat your guests...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

м разделе
We have just returned from hotel Mendi. It is located at the very south end of the first peninsula of Halhidiki - Kassandra. Stayed there from 20 till 25 June 2012 with friends. We liked the hotel a lot! It is a moderately sized hotel with beautiful, picturesque territory full of palm trees, olive trees and pine trees. The beach is sandy, the water is clean. As the hotel is the only one the beach and kms away from other hotels - the hotel beach is almost private. Mendi hotel is recommended for families with small children, couples and people that want to take rest in a quite atmosphere. One should take into account, that there are no restaurants, discos, bars or any activity nearby. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere right at the beach down the pine trees hills. The nearest town is 15-20 km away drive, so beware and choose another hotel if it is not your cup of tea.

The rooms are newly renovated, basic, but clean and comfortable. Most of the rooms have a breathtaking see view. Triple rooms at the ground floor have access to the ground and a separate entrance right from the garden and are good for families with small children. The food is nice, not very varied as it could be, but tasty. The personnel is very attentive and always smiling! Guys at the reception (not the lady) speak good English and German are very helpful and kind (which I could not say about our Muzenidis travel hotel guide, knowing nothing and seems to be there only to sell excursions!)

The hotel has a big pool with sea water (good for children and it was clean). A pool bar and a beach bar (a wonderful chill-out music at the beach bar in the evening I should say). A children's corner and a play-ground. Mini-golf (though I haven't seen anyone playing), a big court and some animation activity but very unaggressive (they do have some quiz games, aqua dance, but they keep calm and do not disturb anyone as may other animation activities do in some other hotels).

We had AL- 3 times meal, local bears, table wine, ice cream from 11 till 16.00 and a club sandwich at the pool bar + free aircon (you have ask at the reception to turn it on, not sure the aircon is free if you do not have AL), sun beds at the sea are not fee and cost 1 euro per day if you have AL and 3 euro if you do not have it. Wi-Fi in the common areas is available and costs 3 euros for the whole period of your stay (you pay only once). The beach towels are free but they ask 10 euro deposit for them (well, this is OK), but they change them every three days and not every day as it should be! In my humble opinion, sun beds at the beach (at the pool area all sun beds are free) and wi-fi should be free in a 4* hotel as well plus beach towels should be changed on the daily basis! So, dear Hotel Mendi, there is still room for improvement :)

There is also a spa (haven't gone there), a nice mini-market with souvenirs and everything you may need. It is not costy: 1,5l water costs 30 cents, olive oil - 19 euros for 5 liters. Oil cosmetics and other staff costs same price as in the small town Kassandria , which is 20 km drive from the hotel - 20 euros by taxi and 2 euros by local bus, whish goes from the hill only 5 min. walk from the hotel (ask the reception to show you the way) 3 times a day: 7.10, 13.10 and 17.40. But if you take the last bus to town, you should know that you would have to go back by taxi. There are no return buses after 18.00. There is also a possibility to rent a car, bike or bicycle. You should ask the reception about it a day in advance and a bicycle costs 15 euro a day. What else? We has an early morning flight and moved from the hotel at 4 o'clock and there was tea, coffee with small cookies and biscuits available for us!

The guests are mostly Russians (but do no worry - they are quite families with small children or calm girls like us in need of simple rest and sunbathing, so no vodka drinking, songs or anything like that), Germans, Greeks and guys from ex-Yugoslavia (do not know exactly which country they were from)!


Hope the review was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask corner rooms 212, 312, 412 ..., so you will have a better panoramic view from the balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mendi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendi Hotel

Address: Kalandra 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kalandra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mendi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mendi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendi Hotel Kalandra, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.