We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big waste o money!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aristoteles Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aristoteles Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aristoteles Beach Hotel
Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A big waste o money!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The seven days spent in this complex began disastrously. Nothing is what it says, and after reading other reviews here i tend to think from one year to another is becoming worse. I went to Aristoteles with the best thoughts and i kept them until I reached the hotel room. After a journey of about 11 hours by car (Russe-Sofia-Kulata-Thessaloniki-hotel) we arrived easily at the resort. All well and good at the reception, which really is the most beautiful and most decorated part of the complex. From start the receptionist asked me if I speak Russian, though I talked in English. I went over ... I got the room key, and instructions on the complex map to get there.

Accommodation - Hotel consists of several buildings, the rooms are numbered 1-7. Our room was 713, last body. I listened carefully to instructions received at the reception and went by the back. I came across a "dream" picture: in the basement stood some employees, and the image was one of a ghetto: garbage, bottles, cigarettes, clothes thrown everywhere. Already changed the image of 4 stars that I had seen at the reception. hard, with a smell of "lavender" (a breath of sewage flows along the residence) have arrived in the room. Front door looked like after a war and seemed to open with ease only if it was pushed a little. The room was a disaster. Last renovation? probably never! room seemed untouched since the inauguration. large beds, but stained and smelly. towels too, just for 2 people though we were three. air conditioning was ancient and when you turn it on it'll feltl like a jet engine. not an ashtray, and on the three glasses were still traces of previous visitors. However, the bathroom was the icing on the cake: not a soap, a stench to take your nose, rust everywhere ... And they say it was a 4-star hotel room. I did not need any second and went back to reception where I managed to find someone to understand me properly in English. After much discussion and threats we received the promise that we will move the next day. Later I found out that this happened to most Romanians who came to them.The principle of giving the rooms was simple: give them in that building, if they come and make a scene change, if not, not. Because serious threats were made, because of my job, the next day I was moved only 2 minutes from the hotel, in a residential neighborhood, in a small private apartment, studio ... that really was 4 stars. That's the accommodation.

FOOD - At all inclusive you hoped to have a lot. so it is elsewhere, but you'll get a shock at Aristoteles. restaurant by the pool, and employees are the most rude and dirty that I saw at any hotel in the world. Little food. I havent ate a good olive in seven days, although i was in Greece. Plus, the other tourists are mostly Russians and Serbs who have no job with good manners: put the hand in the food, push the others, put food in their dishes as if they have not eaten anything for two months.

Beach - I think the only dream thing there. Although water is with stones you can get over and have moments of dream. the advice is to buy shoes for water . I recommend them, especially because among the stones there are sea hedgehogs.

AREA - the hotel is very isolated and can not get to any city without a car. No entertainment in the evenings at the terrace, and also the music that was played was a lot old international songs, not even Greek.

Finally, irecommend you give money on something else! not worth it! too expensive for nothing. maximum 3 stars hotel, restaurant 2!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
18
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

From the outside the hotel looked good - but inside it was extremely dirty !!!! from 4 toilets at the pool 3 were out of order coz they were so messed !!!! it was so extremely disgusting!!!! we got fresh towels at the fourth day of our stay and this was because we asked the cleaning lady !!!! extremely poor cleaning service - the rooms and bathroom smelled bad.Food was booring - breakfast was every day the same-the whole week!!!
This hotel doesn't deserve 4 stars at all !!!! Will never go there again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I was in this hotel with my family, we were 3 adults and one teenager.

First got and apartment with two rooms. It was very far from the restaurant, the reception and the pool, and what is more important it was very old, cheap, and it looked as it would collapse, smelt extra horribly (probably because there was septic tank below), one of the two air conditioners didn't work, the door from the one balcony couldn't be closed (and at the reception the lady told us "Don't worry, nobody is going to go in through the balcony", but what if somebody did??!!). We complained about all those things, and the next day they switched us in another one.

The new apartment had just one room with one double bed and two other beds. Even we all slept in one room it saved our vacation, because otherwise we would have left. It was on the ground floor, near the pool, cleaner, newer and acceptable, even it still don't deserve 4 stars. The only problem was that the beds weren't comfortable for sleeping (we were waking with pain in the back), and the bathroom tub was musty.

The food from 1-10 can be rated with 4. It was almost the same every day, and there wasn't some big choice. For breakfast there wasn't any fresh vegetables (there was just some hot tomatoes, but why??), nor any good cheese (there was some vegetal yellow cheese which is the worst!).. For lunch and dinner was very similar, there were the same salads every day (mostly it was some tomatoes with unleashed cucumber and something else in it), the food was eatable, but nothing special.
Sometimes they had good sweet deserts, and there was almost always fresh fruits.

It was all-inclusive, but in the all was just filter coffee, frappé, the worse sweet unnatural juices, come lame Coke, wine from cardboard boxes or plastic bottles, beer, and water (probably tapped) -- which of course is nor enough, nor satisfactionary for 4 star hotel.

The best thing was the ice-cream which you could take only from 15-17 o'clock.

They got very good free Wi-Fi Internet just around the reception and the lobby, but there wasn't any Internet in the rooms, or near the pool.

The beach looked good from upstairs, but it wasn't clean at all, and there were some stone panels in the beginning in the water, so it was very hard to get in, and one woman broke her leg. And the pool, also didn't seemed quite clean.

All in all, everything there seemed to me very unhealthy. And almost every day you could hear near the reception other people complaining about the rooms, and asking them to change it, because they were nasty, with bugs, etc.

I think that the complex with the rooms can be divided into two parts: one very old, and disgusting (where was our first room) for which everybody complains (and if you don't complain you'll suffer all your vacation), and the another one which is newer, where they will put you just if you complain.

Spend your money on a better place, don't go there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warschau
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

It is a very nice hotel for families and people who want to spend their holidaytime in silence. Aristoteles Beach is located 2km from the nearest village - Afitos, so no discos and stuff around. It makes this place very calm. Staff is mainly from Montenegro or Bulgaria. They smile all the time and are very polite. The food is rather various, but at the end of our stay we had the same dishes served. Pool bar serves beverages and ice cream. The beach is rather nice and not far from the hotel, but you need to take a lift, which is very dirty and shakes whole ride (I took it just one time, because i was scared it will stuck). The sea is perfectly clean and clear. The beach bar doesn't provide "all inclusive". You simply have to pay there. Rooms are clean and all have a/c, towels were changed every 2 days. To sum up, the whole hotel seemed to be very old, but was very spacious and clean. The service met my expectations. I think it desrves for 3,5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel is maximum a 3 star hotel. Is located very nice over a beautifull hill , BUT far from the village of Afytos(1,5km) , soo you need a car. To go to the beach hotel, you need to take a lift . The waters were very blue and clear . The bar from the beach is not all inclusive. The hotel pool is large and deep. The food was awfull for this type of hotel. The staff hotel, 60% bulgarians, were unfriendly. I do not recommend...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Hotel was very nice. The choice of food was excellent. They have good Hotel beach. In the Hotel there is a children playground where you can leave your children for a while to play. Cleaning of the rooms were on daily basis. I would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BG
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

This is the most miserable - in any way - hotel I`ve ever been. Not comparable to the mountain lodges even.

The food, the rooms, the disgusting incompetent fat "chef" -incredibly terrible.
I won`t even recommend this "thing" to an enemy.
Misery all over........... Extremely disgusting..............Brrrrrrrrrr

  • Liked — abs nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aristoteles Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aristoteles Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Aristoteles Beach
Aristoteles Beach Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece
Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to regional architecture, Aristoteles Beach Hotel has been operating since 1991 and is a point of reference for Chalkidiki, and especially Kassandra. It offers the closest proximity to Thessaloniki, while at the same time providing access to the crystal clear waters and the sandy beaches of Toroneos gulf.The hotel complex comprises of 8 separate amphitheatric buildings. As a result, almost all of our rooms have a magnificent view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aristoteles Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aristoteles Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.