We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be carreful..they are cheating” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Afitis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afitis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afitis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“be carreful..they are cheating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Please be carrefull with this hotel the reservation department is playing some nasty games...as we didnt want the room we werent asking for and they were pushing us to take that, they have told us we shouldt come to their hotel, but a day after we have sent the 50% deposit ( of course for the room we have choosen)...it was even problem to get the storno from them.. but the money are not back yet...after month and a half...they are not replaying my mails but on the phone promising they will sent it, or they already made that etc....Sayin sth like I have to talk to my manager, or ask in the account.department, but there are working only 2sisters and a brother-childern of a owner.
And I think it has the last 4th star only because they have wellness..
Im in a contact with some other guests from last year ( we have stayed in that hotel for honemoon last year), they have almost same expirience...they didnt give them the baby cot, put them to other room they have paid for and as she was already pregnant her daughter was kicking her all nigt to her belly....so is that normal???

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athanasios_Voevodas, General Manager at Afitis Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear reviewer,

representing a hotel group with up to a half century of history in the hotel industry, it is really the very first time that we come in front such a misleading & suspicious review like yours. Our hotels handle more than 15,000 arrivals every year and as it is wise some cancellations always occur from our highly respective clients, though we strive always taking in mind our cancellation policy to refund all deposits back as soon as we can. Some delays might occur but that happens quite rarely and last no more that 20 days since verification is always mandatory from both our reservations & account department for all deposits to be refunded. Although we do realize the importance of money and we do our best to avoid highly bureaucratic procedures and that reflects to the fact that any of those refunds does not delay more than 20 days. Additionally, a hotel group counting such a huge number of arrivals & thus clients does not aim of course to delay, let alone cheating any one's penny's with all respect to our clients, since that is our priority anyway. We do not also understand the fact that since this reviewer has already received her money back with a delay no more than 20 days and has not even visited our premises to dare arguing that in such big hotel could anyway 3 brothers handle 15,000 arrivals and even more to argue that the current hotel could ever cheat even a penny. Of course it is visible to everyone to realize everyone's ethics and culture's background by uploading something unbelievably fake and thus our companies already took its legal measures to protect its benefits.

We thank once again all those clients who continuously show their preferences to our services for 50 years now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
22
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Small beautiful hotel. The location is perfect, the beach is rocky but the water is crystal clear and you can see many fishes and small octopus.
We paid for double room whit partly sea view but when we get there they give us room whit mountain view. I make complain and the receptionist told us that they are make mistake and because of this they give us junior suit with sea view.
Food was perfect and very delicious.

Room Tip: Take room with sea view, not mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolchugino, Vladimir, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Everything was gorgeous! The sea, the sun, the beach, the hotel!!! Really, unforgettable vocations. Especially thanks to Vasiliy - he helped us every time, and we appreciate the kindness of waitress Helena by name! Her kindness quite overwhelmed. And, of course, we much obliged to managers from the reception - Lizzi and Ognezhka - they are always sociable and polite! Best wishes, Afitis Hotel! Good Luck!
The Sarychev’s from Russia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I booked my holidays through internet in this "so called" superb hotel offering a great environment and superb facilities at a reasonable price. We arrived at the hotel -my wife and I- and the friendly Polish receptionist quoted "Oh you have a booking for our studios....
(Bell number 1_) The studios are located next door in fact 500 hundred meters from the hotel and of course you have to pay in advance !!! (bell no 2).
The studios turned out to be at a distance of five minutes from the Hotel ...if you have a car of course.!
If you decide to go on foot be prepared for an uphill struggle!! of 10 minutes(there is a shortcut here.) Of course don't worry you can always use the Hotel's facilities any time since they are included in the quoted (remember prepaid price !!).
We ended in a miniature room with basic furniture no window dirty floor and a very bad smell.
You find yourself in a place where you feel like a fly being stuck on a rock with no privacy whatsoever. And of course do not forger the promised 4 star hotel facilities awaiting for you 10 minutes away....
If you want to take a shower ,wash the left part of yourself first,then get out turn round and squeeze in your other half in the shower cubicle!!
Onother thing do not stay there on a Sunday. We were left with an uncleaned room for two days,without toilet roll.
I complained all right. The friendly Polish receptionist could do nothing about it,the reservations lady is still trying to contact Top management,and Top Management is still missing.
I will finish here with this. It is a shame to promise your customer accommodation and facilities of a certain standard and ruin their Holidays under false representations
I am glad that Trip Advisor is around ,to warn other innocent travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've made my reservation throughout the Afitis Hotel website a month before the arrival. All i knew was that I was planning a vacation in Halkidiki. After a careful review of many hotels I decided to pick Afitis. Mainly because the pictures on their website told a beautiful story about peace, quietness and relaxation. And of course it was located near the beach... So, that's a plus in my book.
At first I had some problems with my reservation but as it turned out the next day everything was solved. Like many on TripAdvisor I was placed in a different room. But I think that this is a common mistake everywhere in the world. Depends on your luck. Anyway, we were pretty beaten after the 770km drive throughout Romania, Bulgaria and finally Greece and we immediately felt very angry about the misunderstanding. But all in all, everything got sorted out.
The second day we began to experience the wonderful hospitality of the greeks. The services are excellent. The staff is very nice, always smiling to you and ready to accommodate you with everything you need. The food, drinks and cocktails are great. They are doing a great job. There is no high-level food (maybe you'll find it at the "A La Carte" restaurant that I've never been yet) but you don't feel like something's lacking. The garden is amazing. Palm trees, roses, a beautiful green lawn, stone pathways, orange and pomegranate trees. These days I will upload some more pictures.
Overall, I think that I will be back here next year. Although I'm still here, I wish that I could've stayed much, much longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel was located on the beach.We stayed in a room with sea view in villa sofia, which was next to the main building. İt was an average room with a nice balcony.
The hotel in general was good but lacks some final touch in decoration. The reception area was not tasteful for a beach hotel,but more suitable for a city hotel,for example.
On the other hand, outdoor areas were nicely decorated. İt has a rather small beach with beautiful sea.
Breakfast was good.
We could not get hot water to take a shower in the bathroom during our entire stay. When we asked the reception about this, they said that the capacity was not enough for the entire hotel and it was always like that between 20.00-21.00 hrs when eveybody got shower so recommanded us to be patient. This was not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. Anyway, there was not hot water in the morning neither. We had to shower with cold water.
İn summary, it was ok for us for two days to stay. Afitos is the nicest town to stay to see Kassandra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First of all here is shortest possible explanation about what happened upon our first night which we spent in the wrong room:

Following morning we were asked to pack all the things and to put all the baggage together in the middle of the room so the staff can move them in the new room - even though the previous night we were told to feel free to completely unpack and settle so we can feel comfortable and not to worry about moving things to a new room tomorrow...

The new room again was not in the category we paid for but again just the same as the first one with the parking view - just now with the partial see view (front view is towards the garden and the see is to the left). Once again - IT IS NOT JUST THE SEE VIEW is the CATEGORY of the room we are talking about. The one we paid for is better by all means including the view. I called Der Tour agent and she told me that she spoke with hotel and that she is fully aware of their unprofessional actin and putting us in not full sea view we booked and paid and the she requested that they move us again to right kind of room.

Two days later we were invited for a talk with Miss Lia. She was obviously sent to negotiate with us on behalf of the management and she did so being very, very polite, professional and full of understanding for what has happened. We excepted her sincere apology and hotel's offer for let's say sort of a settlement for the booking mistake - two complimentary massages and cheese plate, cake and the vine.
We never booked the massage - because we never wanted to (that is fine and was our decision) and the cake, cheese and the vine were really very, very nice done and selected.
The rest of our stay went without further discussion in terms of the room.

On the day of our departure we had a small talk with Lia and gentleman from the management to whom we talked the first night and we exchanged our impressions - very good once from the last year and some not very nice ones from this stay - including but not limited to the room issue. Both of them were very polite and nice that last day and gave us some reasonable explanations for example to our question where is the beach boy this year (he worked last year every day so the beach was much cleaner) - and we were told that he was injured and that hotel is waiting for him to recover and come back to work. I was sincerely touched both by the fact hat this very hard working and polite young man has been injured and by the fact ha the management obviously take care of the employes. All in all our last conversation went well. But after spending 2000 eur for hotel in Greece I think that is very important to stress some details:

First of all we arrived at the hotel precisely at 22:05 and didn't get any offer for at least cold dinner in room - they serve regular dinner till 22:00
WE NEVER GOT THE ROOM WE PAID FOR - we got just the partial see view but the room was not even close to the one we had last year - and we chose and paid for the same category.

Conclusion - Hotel is nice and the outdoor space is beautiful but the rooms are NOT 4 stars level and you can not argue on this. Here are uploaded pictures so anyone who ever stayed in 4 stars hotel can judge if this is anywhere near:

-the room is very small
-furniture is basic and except for the painting above the bad there is NOTHING to kill the white walls and ugly, cheep furniture
-there is NO equipment for the tee ad coffee making
-walls are paper thin
-air condition was leaking water directly to my  head and nobody reacted despite our complains!?!
-TV is the old one (not LCD or flat) plus the half of the screen is green !?!

On top of this, the building is air conditioned only at the reception area - all the other space is hot and humid, beach this year was full of cigarets waist and other garbage with no one to clean, internet went down every day so we had to call reception and advise them what to do in order to put it back to order etc....

We will NEVER go back and Hotel Afitis and it's staff has many things to learn and to mature a lot if they have planes to call themselves "a boutique four plus starts hotel" since they are million miles far from that at this point and unfortunately that professional lower staff including Miss Lia who was exceptional can hardly fight this fact.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afitis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afitis Hotel

Address: Afitos Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Afitis Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Afitis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afitis Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afitis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.