We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Супер” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afitis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afitis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Afitis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Kolchugino, Vladimir, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Супер”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Everything was gorgeous! The sea, the sun, the beach, the hotel!!! Really, unforgettable vocations. Especially thanks to Vasiliy - he helped us every time, and we appreciate the kindness of waitress Helena by name! Her kindness quite overwhelmed. And, of course, we much obliged to managers from the reception - Lizzi and Ognezhka - they are always sociable and polite! Best wishes, Afitis Hotel! Good Luck!
The Sarychev’s from Russia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
18
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nicosia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I booked my holidays through internet in this "so called" superb hotel offering a great environment and superb facilities at a reasonable price. We arrived at the hotel -my wife and I- and the friendly Polish receptionist quoted "Oh you have a booking for our studios....
(Bell number 1_) The studios are located next door in fact 500 hundred meters from the hotel and of course you have to pay in advance !!! (bell no 2).
The studios turned out to be at a distance of five minutes from the Hotel ...if you have a car of course.!
If you decide to go on foot be prepared for an uphill struggle!! of 10 minutes(there is a shortcut here.) Of course don't worry you can always use the Hotel's facilities any time since they are included in the quoted (remember prepaid price !!).
We ended in a miniature room with basic furniture no window dirty floor and a very bad smell.
You find yourself in a place where you feel like a fly being stuck on a rock with no privacy whatsoever. And of course do not forger the promised 4 star hotel facilities awaiting for you 10 minutes away....
If you want to take a shower ,wash the left part of yourself first,then get out turn round and squeeze in your other half in the shower cubicle!!
Onother thing do not stay there on a Sunday. We were left with an uncleaned room for two days,without toilet roll.
I complained all right. The friendly Polish receptionist could do nothing about it,the reservations lady is still trying to contact Top management,and Top Management is still missing.
I will finish here with this. It is a shame to promise your customer accommodation and facilities of a certain standard and ruin their Holidays under false representations
I am glad that Trip Advisor is around ,to warn other innocent travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've made my reservation throughout the Afitis Hotel website a month before the arrival. All i knew was that I was planning a vacation in Halkidiki. After a careful review of many hotels I decided to pick Afitis. Mainly because the pictures on their website told a beautiful story about peace, quietness and relaxation. And of course it was located near the beach... So, that's a plus in my book.
At first I had some problems with my reservation but as it turned out the next day everything was solved. Like many on TripAdvisor I was placed in a different room. But I think that this is a common mistake everywhere in the world. Depends on your luck. Anyway, we were pretty beaten after the 770km drive throughout Romania, Bulgaria and finally Greece and we immediately felt very angry about the misunderstanding. But all in all, everything got sorted out.
The second day we began to experience the wonderful hospitality of the greeks. The services are excellent. The staff is very nice, always smiling to you and ready to accommodate you with everything you need. The food, drinks and cocktails are great. They are doing a great job. There is no high-level food (maybe you'll find it at the "A La Carte" restaurant that I've never been yet) but you don't feel like something's lacking. The garden is amazing. Palm trees, roses, a beautiful green lawn, stone pathways, orange and pomegranate trees. These days I will upload some more pictures.
Overall, I think that I will be back here next year. Although I'm still here, I wish that I could've stayed much, much longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel was located on the beach.We stayed in a room with sea view in villa sofia, which was next to the main building. İt was an average room with a nice balcony.
The hotel in general was good but lacks some final touch in decoration. The reception area was not tasteful for a beach hotel,but more suitable for a city hotel,for example.
On the other hand, outdoor areas were nicely decorated. İt has a rather small beach with beautiful sea.
Breakfast was good.
We could not get hot water to take a shower in the bathroom during our entire stay. When we asked the reception about this, they said that the capacity was not enough for the entire hotel and it was always like that between 20.00-21.00 hrs when eveybody got shower so recommanded us to be patient. This was not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. Anyway, there was not hot water in the morning neither. We had to shower with cold water.
İn summary, it was ok for us for two days to stay. Afitos is the nicest town to stay to see Kassandra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First of all here is shortest possible explanation about what happened upon our first night which we spent in the wrong room:

Following morning we were asked to pack all the things and to put all the baggage together in the middle of the room so the staff can move them in the new room - even though the previous night we were told to feel free to completely unpack and settle so we can feel comfortable and not to worry about moving things to a new room tomorrow...

The new room again was not in the category we paid for but again just the same as the first one with the parking view - just now with the partial see view (front view is towards the garden and the see is to the left). Once again - IT IS NOT JUST THE SEE VIEW is the CATEGORY of the room we are talking about. The one we paid for is better by all means including the view. I called Der Tour agent and she told me that she spoke with hotel and that she is fully aware of their unprofessional actin and putting us in not full sea view we booked and paid and the she requested that they move us again to right kind of room.

Two days later we were invited for a talk with Miss Lia. She was obviously sent to negotiate with us on behalf of the management and she did so being very, very polite, professional and full of understanding for what has happened. We excepted her sincere apology and hotel's offer for let's say sort of a settlement for the booking mistake - two complimentary massages and cheese plate, cake and the vine.
We never booked the massage - because we never wanted to (that is fine and was our decision) and the cake, cheese and the vine were really very, very nice done and selected.
The rest of our stay went without further discussion in terms of the room.

On the day of our departure we had a small talk with Lia and gentleman from the management to whom we talked the first night and we exchanged our impressions - very good once from the last year and some not very nice ones from this stay - including but not limited to the room issue. Both of them were very polite and nice that last day and gave us some reasonable explanations for example to our question where is the beach boy this year (he worked last year every day so the beach was much cleaner) - and we were told that he was injured and that hotel is waiting for him to recover and come back to work. I was sincerely touched both by the fact hat this very hard working and polite young man has been injured and by the fact ha the management obviously take care of the employes. All in all our last conversation went well. But after spending 2000 eur for hotel in Greece I think that is very important to stress some details:

First of all we arrived at the hotel precisely at 22:05 and didn't get any offer for at least cold dinner in room - they serve regular dinner till 22:00
WE NEVER GOT THE ROOM WE PAID FOR - we got just the partial see view but the room was not even close to the one we had last year - and we chose and paid for the same category.

Conclusion - Hotel is nice and the outdoor space is beautiful but the rooms are NOT 4 stars level and you can not argue on this. Here are uploaded pictures so anyone who ever stayed in 4 stars hotel can judge if this is anywhere near:

-the room is very small
-furniture is basic and except for the painting above the bad there is NOTHING to kill the white walls and ugly, cheep furniture
-there is NO equipment for the tee ad coffee making
-walls are paper thin
-air condition was leaking water directly to my  head and nobody reacted despite our complains!?!
-TV is the old one (not LCD or flat) plus the half of the screen is green !?!

On top of this, the building is air conditioned only at the reception area - all the other space is hot and humid, beach this year was full of cigarets waist and other garbage with no one to clean, internet went down every day so we had to call reception and advise them what to do in order to put it back to order etc....

We will NEVER go back and Hotel Afitis and it's staff has many things to learn and to mature a lot if they have planes to call themselves "a boutique four plus starts hotel" since they are million miles far from that at this point and unfortunately that professional lower staff including Miss Lia who was exceptional can hardly fight this fact.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here a couple of years ago, it was one of the best holidays We have ever had. It is a stunning small boutique hotel in such a gorgeous location, right on the beach, surrounded by lovely gardens with afitis town a short walk (although up a steep hill) away.

The staff were very good and the food was nice. Our room was lovely, although reasonably small this didn't matter as it was beautifully furnished with a huge balcony.

We cannot wait to return to this hotel sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Prefectly sized boutique hotel with a great pool and superbly relaxing views. The trek up into the village is not so bad. The village is cute and plenty of places to eat but no places that would offer anything like high level dining (including the hotel).

The hotel beach does not offer easy access into the sea although a 10 minute walk away gives great sandy options.

Everywhere in the area offers great value F&B, including the hotel itself. Breakfast not bad at all.

No elevator at the hotel and "groom" not always available although the staff are very friendly and carrying the bags is good practise for the walk up to the village.

Public areas and outside areas stunning rooms, 3* quality but clean.

Attracts couples and families with young kids. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afitis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afitis Hotel

Also Known As:
Afitis Hotel Afitos
Afitis Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece
Address: Afitos Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Afitis Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Afitis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afitis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.