We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad expiriance, Afitis never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Afitis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afitis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afitis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad expiriance, Afitis never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First of all here is shortest possible explanation about what happened upon our first night which we spent in the wrong room:

Following morning we were asked to pack all the things and to put all the baggage together in the middle of the room so the staff can move them in the new room - even though the previous night we were told to feel free to completely unpack and settle so we can feel comfortable and not to worry about moving things to a new room tomorrow...

The new room again was not in the category we paid for but again just the same as the first one with the parking view - just now with the partial see view (front view is towards the garden and the see is to the left). Once again - IT IS NOT JUST THE SEE VIEW is the CATEGORY of the room we are talking about. The one we paid for is better by all means including the view. I called Der Tour agent and she told me that she spoke with hotel and that she is fully aware of their unprofessional actin and putting us in not full sea view we booked and paid and the she requested that they move us again to right kind of room.

Two days later we were invited for a talk with Miss Lia. She was obviously sent to negotiate with us on behalf of the management and she did so being very, very polite, professional and full of understanding for what has happened. We excepted her sincere apology and hotel's offer for let's say sort of a settlement for the booking mistake - two complimentary massages and cheese plate, cake and the vine.
We never booked the massage - because we never wanted to (that is fine and was our decision) and the cake, cheese and the vine were really very, very nice done and selected.
The rest of our stay went without further discussion in terms of the room.

On the day of our departure we had a small talk with Lia and gentleman from the management to whom we talked the first night and we exchanged our impressions - very good once from the last year and some not very nice ones from this stay - including but not limited to the room issue. Both of them were very polite and nice that last day and gave us some reasonable explanations for example to our question where is the beach boy this year (he worked last year every day so the beach was much cleaner) - and we were told that he was injured and that hotel is waiting for him to recover and come back to work. I was sincerely touched both by the fact hat this very hard working and polite young man has been injured and by the fact ha the management obviously take care of the employes. All in all our last conversation went well. But after spending 2000 eur for hotel in Greece I think that is very important to stress some details:

First of all we arrived at the hotel precisely at 22:05 and didn't get any offer for at least cold dinner in room - they serve regular dinner till 22:00
WE NEVER GOT THE ROOM WE PAID FOR - we got just the partial see view but the room was not even close to the one we had last year - and we chose and paid for the same category.

Conclusion - Hotel is nice and the outdoor space is beautiful but the rooms are NOT 4 stars level and you can not argue on this. Here are uploaded pictures so anyone who ever stayed in 4 stars hotel can judge if this is anywhere near:

-the room is very small
-furniture is basic and except for the painting above the bad there is NOTHING to kill the white walls and ugly, cheep furniture
-there is NO equipment for the tee ad coffee making
-walls are paper thin
-air condition was leaking water directly to my  head and nobody reacted despite our complains!?!
-TV is the old one (not LCD or flat) plus the half of the screen is green !?!

On top of this, the building is air conditioned only at the reception area - all the other space is hot and humid, beach this year was full of cigarets waist and other garbage with no one to clean, internet went down every day so we had to call reception and advise them what to do in order to put it back to order etc....

We will NEVER go back and Hotel Afitis and it's staff has many things to learn and to mature a lot if they have planes to call themselves "a boutique four plus starts hotel" since they are million miles far from that at this point and unfortunately that professional lower staff including Miss Lia who was exceptional can hardly fight this fact.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
22
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here a couple of years ago, it was one of the best holidays We have ever had. It is a stunning small boutique hotel in such a gorgeous location, right on the beach, surrounded by lovely gardens with afitis town a short walk (although up a steep hill) away.

The staff were very good and the food was nice. Our room was lovely, although reasonably small this didn't matter as it was beautifully furnished with a huge balcony.

We cannot wait to return to this hotel sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Prefectly sized boutique hotel with a great pool and superbly relaxing views. The trek up into the village is not so bad. The village is cute and plenty of places to eat but no places that would offer anything like high level dining (including the hotel).

The hotel beach does not offer easy access into the sea although a 10 minute walk away gives great sandy options.

Everywhere in the area offers great value F&B, including the hotel itself. Breakfast not bad at all.

No elevator at the hotel and "groom" not always available although the staff are very friendly and carrying the bags is good practise for the walk up to the village.

Public areas and outside areas stunning rooms, 3* quality but clean.

Attracts couples and families with young kids. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My housebound and I stayed in this hotel in June 2011 and were all in all satisfied, minus the price which meets European 5 stars hotels price range and Afitis is defiantly NOT 5 stars hotel. But, OK, to be honest we were amazed by the spotless beach and quiet atmosphere and we decided to give them credit for the quite small room (not more then 3 stars level) and repetitive menu... 
But, what happened to us this evening when we arrived to Afitis again, hoping to repeat our lovely last year vacation is more than disappointing and very disturbing, making us both ask if our decision to come back was very wrong.
We booked the room through Dertour just like last year choosing the more expensive option out of two. By the way all the rooms Dertour offers are good and they all have sea-view. (we know from our last year experience that not all rooms are the same and that some of them are in very bad condition but we thought that we are safe since those rooms are NOT in Dertour offer). You can imagine our surprise when we got the room with the parking view, which is by the way by all other criteria also worst in comparison to the room we had last year). We immediately complained and the lady at the reception asked us (not very polite) to wait in the pool bar until she checks with the manager. (by the way situation was from the very first moment clear and there was no question about if we were right or not - our request for the seeside view is clearly listed n the voucher). After half an hour (!?!?) we went back to the reception to find out that they do not have solution?? Then we requested to talk to the manager and waited for him to show up for ten more minutes! It was really devastating to find out that the manager was the very same man who had dinner in the restaurant (we saw him while waiting) - the very same dinner that was not offered to us since we checked in late (few minutes before 22h)!! So no dinner for late quests but indeed yes to the manager who is by the way need and expected at the reception to solve the burning issue.
To cut the story short we ended up in the room with the parking view and the promise that we will be transferred to the one with the see- view first thing in the morning. 
We will see what happens and we will inform you guys, but the fact is that our impression about this hotel has been ruined and will hardly be repaired. The main thing is the feeling that management doesn't really care about quests (we are on full prepayment so they are safe with us) and that except default excuse thy offered NOTHING in return, even more they tried to settle with nothing convincing us to take the room with the parking view!!!
To all of you who are considering this hotel - think twice.
Will be back with the news tomorrow. 

Room Tip: Whatever you choose and pay the management will put you where thy like....
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athanasios_Voevodas, Manager at Afitis Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

we would like first to warmly thank you for the honour to visit our premises once again this year to spend your vacations. Furthermore, despite the first impression of your given review, obviously not the best one, we thank you for all your good words during departure We hope you will depict those impressions on TripAdvisor community as well.

Of course we express once more our sincere apologies for having spent your first night in a garden view room, despite you had booked a sea side view room. As we have explained to you at the very begging, that was due to a mistake from our reservation department and that is why was solved immediately the second day of your stay. As you have been explained by our front desk officer, since you came to our complexes close to midnight time and we were fullybooked, we unfortunately did not have any alternative on our hands so we could give that to you. Of course, we tried to make up your bad impression about your first night with a voucher (up to 150euros) offering you a cake for your anniversary, as you claimed, along with a family plate of a wide range of cheeses and one of our best champagne wines.

For all of us, it is a great pleasure to satisfy our guests, since we have been doing that for up to 50 years now, having acquired many excellence awards on a year basis, and we are still doing that having our clients in the core of our attention.

Although we sincerely believe that since you spent up to 2 weeks at our hotel is a bit unethical to upload a totally reversed review on TripAdvisor within 4 hours of your arrival postponing your rest impressions for the end of your holidays, by simply saying ''We will back soon!".

We hope all the best for you,

Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

It was our first trip to Greece and we stayed at Afitis Hotel. We had an amazing time there. We stayed in a nice renovated room with a beautiful view. Sooo...romantic. The bed was comfortable and linen clean and crisp. The staff were always there to help with any of our inquiries. I wouldn't hesitate to come back, as it is a perfect escape from a busy city life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went with my partner for a couple of weeks in this lovely Boutique Hotel.. Everything was perfect.. First of all the location. It’s perfect situated! Only 5 min walk from the village! Also we were given a very nice room with sea view.. !! It was very comfortable. The room was cleaned every day .! The service in general was really good, and the food delicious!.. the staff was friendly and polite. We are definitely going to book in this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We booked through Olympic Holidays online who have turned out to be absolutely horrendous to deal with and will not accept a complaint about their representative and their failure to private a Complaint Form because of the poor quality of the room provided. We had booked the lovely looking newly refurbished hotel but on arrival ended up in the annexe which had paper thin walls, chipped and stained bath and poor (looked liked second hand) fittings. It was stuck up in a corner of the grounds behind a fence and although I could see the sea (just over the top of it) it was not the seaview I was expecting, albeit a side seaview. We called the representative to complain and requested a Complaint Form - she turned up with a welcome pack which she had failed to provide previously and said the complaint form was enclosed. She left and I then decided to fill in the form, but would you believe no form was enclosed. The rep was immediately called (within 10 mins of her leaving the meeting with me) and I said I wanted the form and it was NOT enclosed. She said she would call back and we arranged a time, which she failed to turn up for. I then telephoned and arranged another time which she failed to turn up for. I never received the complaint form and as the last appointment was made (on purpose I now know) just before we were due to depart for the airport, guess what, she did not turn up! Numberous letters have been back and forth to OLYMPIC HOIDAYS and they will not accept my compalint about either the room or the representative.

I will close by saying that if you book this hotel then make sure you are in the main hotel and are not fobbed off with an annexe room. The main hotel is very nice, newly refurbished and the staff are lovely. One other criticism would be that the food in the restaurant needs to be covered. Not very appertising if a fly has landed on your lunch. If you do visit make sure you make the trip up to the old village.

Definitely do not book through Olympic because when you need them to sort something out you have no chance if the same representative is still working for them.

Room Tip: Do not accept any of the annexe rooms, insist on staying in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afitis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afitis Hotel

Address: Afitos Halkidiki, Afitos 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Afitis Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Afitis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afitis Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afitis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.