We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Come Back To” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nostos Hotel to your Saves list
Nostos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Place to Come Back To”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

On arrival it is obvious that the owners of this hotel take great pride in keeping everything clean and maintained. The landscaping and grounds are immaculate. The room we had was clean and sufficiently appointed.

The bar and restaurant area next to the pool is a great place to chill out in the shade of large pine trees. The staff were all very friendly and service was very good. Meals were good value and well prepared and presented. The fish night special was particularly an excellent value.

Free wifi - a bit dodgy in the room, but worked fine in the bar area.

All in all, good value and we will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    59
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
188
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a stunning 10 days at the Nostos the end of May. All of our previous stays at the Nostos in May have been great but with the odd rainy day. This time the weather was the best we have ever had anywhere , including cooling down in the evening to make eating and drinking comfortable. Most of the reviews here describe the wonders of the Nostos so I looked at some of the less complimentary reviews, which for the Nostos means anything less then 5 stars. Most of these are quite old and are no longer relevant. For instance, some complain about the pool bar being exposed to the cold and wind in bad weather. The bar in question was replaced many years ago by a wonderful indoor restaurant and bar with sliding double glazed walls. The owners are only too happy to address any problems are have improved the Hotel every year in some way be it a major change or a small tweak. All this is done of season so no disruption to the restful tranquility. We will continue to have our holidays at the Nostos as we will not get the welcome and service anywhere else let alone afford a hotel with similar facilities. It is a great mystery why Thomson's no longer wanted to be associated with this ex jewell in their crown. But airlines like Easy Jet allow holidays of 5,7,10, 14 and 15 days. 15 days is our favourite as it allows 3 barbecues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have been to this hotel before but this time I went with my huband for the first time (who is very difficult to please) my youngest daughter, husband and child (who have been on many occasions) and to attend Helen and Simon's wedding. My husband was so happy with the accommodation, food and facilities that he would like to go again. There are beautiful gardens, play area and a tree area (for shade if you need it) leading down to the sea. The rooms have balconies, refridgerators, hairdriers, tea making facilities, air conditioning, Safe and Sky TV! The rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels. I would like to thank Helen, Makis and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable not only for our wonderful holiday but also for the amount of work they all put in to make Helen and Simon's day. The food at the reception was excellent. Wednesdays is special fish night and Sundays is BBQ night (all you can eat) well worth the €10 for each night. They are open all year round as they also have an inside pool and gym. Our thanks again to Helen, Makis and staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: This is an ideal family hotel and therefore there is little noise due to children sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I would just like to tell anyone spending time to read reviews about Hotel Nostos after having our very own wedding and 2 weeks holiday there i can safely say it was the best 2 weeks of our entire lives.
Helen, Makis and the staff at Nostos are brilliant at creating the perfect atmosphere at this beautiful hotel and best thing about it is that you don't even notice them doing it!
There is a magical feeling which consumes you more and more every day and until you try it you will never fully understand.
My new wife and I have only stayed at the hotel twice but we are now hooked, I have never been one for going back to the same place over and over but I will find it very difficult to even consider trying somewhere new after discovering this wonderful hotel.
Thank you once again to everyone at Nostos for making our wedding holiday the most perfect occasion it could possibly be!
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have returned to this delightful hotel many times over the years. It is set in beautifully maintained gardens with a wide variety of bedding plants, roses and potted plants on the many terraces. There are pomegranate trees, quinces, peaches, many olive trees and pretty climbing plants. Since last year additional paths have been laid to make easier access to the gardens and beautiful, hand cut local stone has been used and perfectly laid. Low level lighting is used throughout making for both beautiful and safe outdoor areas at night.

The hotel rooms are well fitted, nicely decorated with use of a neutral but warm palate of colours for walls and soft furnishing. Bathrooms are beautifully tiled and fitted. Sheets and towels are changed very frequently and cleaning standards are high.

The food offering in the bar/taverna is excellent, bread is made on the premises every day and is
delicious. All the food is delicious, but a special mention must be made of the weekly fish meze. We were served a selection of dips, bread, Greek salad, aubergines and peppers in tomato, stuffed peppers and a platter of small, whole white fish, gavros, and squid. We haven't had better anywhere in Halkidiki - it was simply perfect. And tremendous value for 10 euros per person. We also enjoyed roasted aubergines stuffed with onions and tomatoes and the fabulous stewed green beans with beef and potatoes made by the lovely Tassoula.

All the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. They genuinely go out of their way to look after guests. The Kelektsoglu family has created an extremely beautiful and peaceful haven which makes the most of the natural features of their land and is perfectly complemented by the owner's careful selection and use of local materials and plants to perfect it.

We love this place.

Room Tip: They are great and many have sea views. We have never had an unsatisfactory room and each has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently went to the Nostos Hotel and had a fabulous week, the hotel, pool, bar, food could not be faulted, all the staff were very friendly and the owners Helen and Makis were a dream come true, nothing was too much trouble for them, Afitos is like a small village but the small centre is built up of restaurants, bars and shops a fantastic mix and worth every penny whichever one you go in, the rooms were fantastic with great views from every balcony, we would certainly go again and recommend it to anyone, thanks Nostos for a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: If you ask for a balcony looking over the sea the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was nice to go back to Nostos after missing out last year by going to Sorrento. We flew out from Manchester using EasyJet and got a cab from Thessaloniki airport to Nostos. The trip out was fine, no delays, no problems, faster and more comfortable than using the coach transfer.

Nostos seems to be constantly tweaking it's offering, sure there's no big changes since we last went but why change what works so well. The seating area outside the bar has been extended along the front of the 'restaurant' windows, which is ideal for a bit of shade or to get out of the wind if there's a breeze blowing. Staying with the bar, the prices are still as good as you'll find anywhere in the area and often cheaper. The food's still excellent and they've got a coffee machine that does a really nice Cappuccino at breakfast. The bar staff are very nice too, helpful and polite.

This time we were back in the same room we originally stayed in all those years ago when I went for the first time. However the rooms have been refurbished, amongst other improvements there's flat screen TV's on the wall and the bathrooms have been refitted with a lovely stone/marble effect tiling.

During our time there (end of May) the weather was lovely every day, temperatures of 28 to 32 degrees C with a breeze blowing. My biggest decision all week was what I should have to eat and drink, the beer's cold and the food just right, my favorites being the special omelet, club sandwich, Stefado and baked Feta.

Kalithea isn't as busy as it was (no doubt due to the economy) but it was still nice to have a walkabout before lunch. The place I really liked to visit was the Fregio Ice Cream shop. Great choice, nice quality and good prices make it a place to visit. Another excellent recommendation from Helen was the 'Worlds Best Pizza', having eaten Pizzas in Italy I wasn't expecting to agree with them but it was top quality, sure the place looks like an average take away but the food is a world away from it.

A walk to Afitos showed that it hasn't lost any of it's charm and seems relatively untouched by the recession. A quick chat with Maria (she runs the shop just before you get to the church) and a few beers at Edwards restaurant rounded out the morning.

Needless to say I was sad to come home and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nostos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Hotel

Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nostos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Nostos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.