We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the excitement mounts!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nostos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nostos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the excitement mounts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we return to the Nostos year after year, sometimes twice a year and we NEVER tire of this wonderful place. We are going as a whole family this year, 14 of us!! Grandparents (that's us) son, daughter, their partners, grandchildren ranging from 6-15 years, our niece and her family. Our eldest grandson loves this hotel, and, he's a trendy footballing, skateboarding young man of 15. Can't wait for our holiday to begin even thinking of booking an earlier trip, just to get in the mood!! We love you Helen & Makis you are a wonderful couple & make all of your visitors feel special,

Room Tip: no need, all the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    58
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
187
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

It's taken us quite a while to post this review which is ridiculous given that we had a fantastic two week break at the Nostos othe summer of 2011. The whole of Nostos, from the rooms to the service; from the pool areas to Afios itself are top of the range.

Room: stylish, double bed, modern, great views over the pool, dark and cool at night. Very high standard for Greece but ver, very affordable.

Hotel Facilities: charming complex, clean, bright, well set out, pretty. Different levels, steps down to the beech, a variety a seating areas. Pool outdoor is superb and chilled. Pool indoor is fantastic and we had this to ourselves on many occasions for an hour or so.

Bar and reception: staff very friendly, generous, good food, simple but tasty. Breakfast is a little repetitive but hot and tasty and I did crave baked beans some days but that's just me.

Owners: attentive, friendly, nothing too much trouble.

Afitos is fantastic, charming, pretty and stunning views over the water. A real find. Worth the short walk.

We also we to thesalonika for the day which we really enjoyed. Excellent shops, museums, galleries and cafe bars on the front.

Overall, we had a fabulous time, one of the best hotels we've been to in this price range. We definitely would come again and we don't often say that!



Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

we stayed at the nostos for the first time in may 2012 and for the first time EVER my husband said that he didn't want to leave, the view from the room we had was just amazing, we got chatting to a chap called brian who had being going there for 15yrs, surely it couldn't be that good ?? well let me tell you the hotel welcomes you, puts its arms around you and makes you relax like never before. Helen and Makis are truly passionate about their guests and their staff have the utmost respect for them. We where made very welcome, met some nice people and ate at the hotel restaurant most evenings and enjoyed freshly made food at a good price. Altin the head bar man is passionate also about this hotel, never once do you see a single member of staff sitting around with nothing to do they are at it morning and night always with a smile. We returned again in september (we never go back to the same place) to see if our first visit was a one off - you guessed it we had an amazing holiday yet again. We are going back in may this year we have found our second home at the nostos and will be returning for many years to come. So contact Helen and book your stay you WILL NOT be dissappointed, thanks thompson because we don't have to pay your chunk for booking means we can have an extra holiday. As janet said we are not exagerating about this place it really is complete joy and relaxation at its best.

Room Tip: pool facing has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nice place, especially for out-of-season stays, when it is usually hard to find nice accommodation on Chalkidiki. The Deluxe-rooms are great value for the price; clean, nice furniture and rather big. The gym and the sauna are great for cold / rainy weather. Very nice staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

this hotel is incredible! Stayed 3 times so far and will definitely return this year! There is nothing to worry about once u arrive, your every need is catered for. The food is exceptional and the staff are just incredible! Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely with all u could possibly need for your stay, decorated to an extremely good standard, we travel around a lot abroad and in all the years we have done so we have never found ANYWHERE as lovely as this place! Carry on doing what u are doing Helen and family, it works! See u all very soon with our new grandson!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this place 5 times and think it is absolutely lovely. Lovely staff and wonderful owners. Can't wait to return. Both pools are fantastic, the rooms are very modern and spacious. Lovely food and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am writing this review while sitting by the indoor pool enjoying a cup of coffee...
Makis and Helen are such a warm couple. They made us feel like family once again from the moment we arrived. They were so glad to see us come back. I think it says a lot about this place that most of the guests were also returning from previous years.

The rooms are so much better and more comfortable than just 2 years ago! I was impressed... it's the details: brand new towels, new coco-mat bedding and linens, the complimentary waters for us on arrival in our room. We are only here for 2 nights but I would happily stay here forever!

Once we were settled, Altin took us on a tour and in the end we see that magical red sunset over the sea of Athos.

We can spend all day by the indoor pool, and get a snack or lunch or drink at the little bar there. When I get the urge to explore, we walk 2 minutes down the hill to the beach, or take a day trip to Athos Mountain. Makis has this map where we would do our "morning brief" of where we could explore next. Loved it!

We had a wonderful winter weekend at Halkidiki once again. Makis and Helen, we'll come back again soon!! Maybe next weekend.. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nostos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Hotel

Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nostos Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nostos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.