We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emperor's Clothes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nostos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nostos Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Emperor's Clothes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We look, like many others, at Trip Advisor to help plan independent holidays. we chose Nostos hotel on the basis of excellent reviews. However I'm wondering if everyone stopped at the same hotel. Ok it was not bad, some parts were lovely but I can see why Thomson Holidays are not using it next year. It is a little 'tired' with things like mould around the bath and trim missing from the edges of furniture in the room. Perhaps because of all the previous excellent reviews we expected much better than we got. Maybe some reviewers do not want to submit average or poor reviews of establishments that generally seem to have very good reviews.

We chose a suite, with a spa bath. When you have no water on one night and tepid water on others, a spa bath is not much use. We did report it but got a shrug of shoulders in response and "it should be better tomorrow...."
People talk about the 'wonderful welcome' perhaps that is given to 'returners' as all we got was "Hello, do you have your booking reference....he will show you to your room" That was it!
The indoor pool was very cold, the jacuzzi was freezing, the sauna was not working - all these you pay for in your overall price. Others have commented on the breakfast - only average at best. Orange squash is not what I would expect from this type of establishment!

There are plus points to Nostos, it is very clean - really exceptionally clean! the pool is good and the price of food and drink is also good. The yoghurt and honey was the redeeming part of breakfast. The staff are friendly.

Many people have commented on the walk to Afitos - 25 minutes - how can the hotel say it is in Afitos when Kallithea is 5 minutes away?

So we are reminded of the story of the Emperors New Clothes - everyone saying how splendid his clothes were....... If the hotel addresses the issues it can be a great place. It is located in a lovely part of Greece.

If you have a car try the west coast - through Kassandria to the lovely beach at Siviri and excellent taverna.(10 minutes away from Nostos)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    52
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
176
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have been back now 3 weeks from 10 lovely day at the Nostos and we have already booked for May next year and are waiting for flights to be released so we can book for September. Once again the hotel excelled. The weather helped but as normal the owners, staff, food, cleanliness and the other guests meant the holiday was great. Most of the reviews here mention guest returning and this does give a good atmosphere. Thompsons have dropped the Nostos for the 2013 season after cutting the rooms they take by half this year. As thompsons were sold out. (Again! Why are they dropping it.?) we came via easy jet and booked direct. We saved £300 on last years Thomsons price. I would highly recommend this hotel to mature couples who like food and the odd drink but also a good laugh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband booked a holiday on a whim and I was too busy beforehand to check it out. I spent the whole flight freaking out about letting him choose unaided! I should not have worried!

Lovely modern room, very clean, gorgeous quiet pool, stunning views, scrummy food and unbeatable service. Oh and the location wasn't bad either. We were the only people on their first visit and I can see why.

We'll certainly be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, everything is perfect, the setting, the rooms, the staff, the service, the food and the welcome.

Helen, her family and all the staff make you feel so welcome. Your relaxation and enjoyment is their top priority and they really have got everything right.

The whole complex is well designed, in a beautiful location and very, very clean. It's just a short walk to Kalithea and only minutes down to the beach. A little longer walk and you are soon in to Afitos (20 minutes).

The food is very nice, we tried lots of different dishes on the menu and enjoyed them all. Breakfast is fantastic, plenty of choice with various hot dishes each day. Sitting on the balcony looking out to sea is a very pleasant way to start your day!

We will definitely be going back next year, loved every moment of our stay.

Room Tip: Sea view/pool view rooms are the ones to pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Nostos, our first visit to Halkidiki having visited a few greek islands over the past couple of years. Could not fault the hotel for cleanliness and friendliness. Our bedroom was on the ground floor, quite shaded and only got the sun on the terrace late afternoon but on the plus side this did mean we could do without air con. Every credit to the cleaners who did a great job, rooms cleaned every day and bedding/towels changed every 2 days. We had a TV which had the usual Sky TV, music channel and few others. The fridge was great to put water, beer etc. in. The hotel had a full size outdoor pool with kiddies pool, indoor pool which was great on the 4 days we got rain with adjoining sun terrace. There was a jaccuzi, sauna, steam room, internet cafe (2 computers 1 euro for about 1/2 hr) 3 bars, board games, books, full size chess set. Something for everyone. The bar was a great place to socialise in the evenings with a very friendly barman. Waiters were also very friendly and again worked hard, as did all the staff. We ate at the hotel quite a few evenings/lunchtimes and never had a bad meal and prices were very reasonable too. We walked to Afitos quite a bit which is a lovely traditional greek town and great tavernas (Tomato & Pepper our favourite) again prices were very reasonable. The cocktail bar was my favourite bar, happy hr 4-11 and good atmosphere/service. The only disappointment I had (and not the hotel's fault) was the amount of litter in hedgerows and on the beaches. Not the first time I have encountered masses of plastic bottles tossed in hedgerows and also rubbish washed up on beaches in Greece. I make one plastic bottle last 2 weeks and then dispose of at the airport - shame on people who discard rubbish like this. A real shame for the area as this does put me off revisiting. Conclusion - if you are after a relaxing holiday in a great hotel this will do the job. I know lots of people revisit every year but I like to go to different islands so won't be back for that reason but loved the hotel/staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

we found nostos and what a find,as hard as we tried we couldnt find anything to fault with this hotel,Helen,makis and all the staff were amazing,nothing was too much trouble,we always said one day we would find somewhere that we would return to and this is it,the food was fantastic especially the meatballs,bar service amazing,pool and grounds immaculate,rooms cleaned to a very high standard and wonderfully decorated,we are looking forward to going back next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic week at the Nostos, I travelled with my wife and we had an excellent stay. The rooms are smart and very clean. Helen cannot do enough for you. Bar staff are great and the place has a lovely atmosphere and we made some new friends. Out and about is great too lovely villiage of athitos is just tweny minute stroll away and only 5 euro in a taxi. lots of lovely restraunts and a great little cocktail bar. The hotel food is excellent quality too, very tasty and not expensive. Its a shame thompsons are not offering the hotel next year but it wont stop us making our own travel arrangements to visit this fantastic place again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nostos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Hotel

Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nostos Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nostos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.