We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nostos Hotel to your Saves list
Nostos Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

First impression when getting off the coach is well presented buildings with Tarmac car park fully marked even has disabled bays

The check in process is quick in the large reception area which also has a bar

The room we had overlooked the pool from the balcony and was well decorated and spotless the room was cleaned every day and towels and bed changed on a regular basis the staff cannot do enough for you and are always cleaning something

The pool has sun beds all round and we had no problem getting one and we found we didn't need to get down there at the crack of dawn with the towels

The bar is the focus of the evening doing excellent food at a reasonable price and the guests just sit around chatting into the night.

This is a small and friendly family run hotel is ideally located between kalithea and afitos

Hopefully we will back for a week in September

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    59
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
188
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Just home from a 2 week holiday at the Nostos, what a place! Helen and Makis the owners have a little jewel there, it is immaculate with everything you need to relax and enjoy your holiday. the food is extremely good and excellent value for money, the staff are so attentive and remember names of the guests which makes you feel special, will be going back very soon can't wait!!!! 5**********

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Returned from the Nostos last week and I must say practically everything that we read about the hotel before we went was certainly true. A lovely hotel set in a great location with a big pool (a bit cold when you first got in but then it was early May ). The rooms were large and spotless with really comfortable beds, the bathroom again was very clean and a good size. The breakfasts were more than adequate, lunches good and cheap and the meals at night were excellant, very tasty and not over expensive, we booked for the fish meze and this was the only meal that was dissapointing, we were only served one variety of fish and it wasn't particually tasty, mabye we were just unlucky, we had booked for the b.b.q. but after the fish decided not to bother but when we saw the food on the b.b.q. I think we may have made a mistake it looked and smelled delicious, maybe next time. The hotel is in wonderfull grounds, Afitos is a lovely little village, well worth a 5 euro taxi ride at night were there are plenty of nice places to eat, now to Kalithea, we last came here 15 years ago and it was a nice place, a lovely square with good places to eat, I'm afraid it has gone down big time, dirty & many places shut down, not just becouse it was the start of the season but many have obviously been shut many years, a shame it has been neglected so badly, don't let this put you of though there are plenty of other places that you don't really have to go into Kalithea at all. Would we go back to the Nostas? certainly, very relaxing and great owners and staff, there are a lot of people who return year after year which says a lot for the hotel. Thank's to all.

Room Tip: In all honesty I don't think you would be dissapointed with any room, all seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a fine B&B with added facilities, big time! Just over an hour from Thessanaliki Airport, admittedly through sad non performing Greek bank loan properties. Worth the grief when you get there. Nostos benefits from family management, and staff are thus committed to getting it right. Look at the finishes in the rooms. Think of the large pool, the indoor pool, the gymnasium, even the life size chess! The restaurant adopts several poses. Fine breakfast, then evening varieties.

But don't fall over the edge. The cliff walk to the sea cove below is steep, and won't be for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just returned to the Nostos Hotel , after an absence of 8 years. The hotel as completely changed This family run hotel as continued to upgrade the hotel facilities and the gardens and attention to overall cleanliness and detail is to be admired.
It's fair to say we have visited many Greek islands and whilst Nostos is in mainland Greece you will find it hard to find a better three star hotel.

All staff from cleaners , bar staff to the security guards are polite helpful and pleasant.

The rooms are ample clean and tidy, the continental breakfast is more than ample there is no English fried breakfast choice , but let's remember when there is one the bacon and sausages are never English when we're on holiday.

You can purchase midday snacks around the pool and even some very good evening meals the prices are very competitive.

We did venture into Kalithea but were not impressed, the majority of our time on an evening was walking into Afitos the local Greek village, quite charming and laid back the walk is around 20 minutes and about 1.5 mile or you can use a local taxi for 5€uros.

Drinks in the village for example Mythos large 500mill bottles cost 3.5 €uros you can purchase bottles in the local supermarket for 1€uro and drink these on your hotel balcony for those on limited budgets.

Average starters ranged from around 3-4 €uros and main meals can be around 6-10€uros on average two courses for two people plus a drink or wine estimate 25-30€uros total.

The tomato and pepper do an excellent moussaka and the restaurant opposite with Edward was excellent as well.

The Thomson trips are expensive you can use local bus service to visit a couple of places, if you remain around the hotel complex the pool area is very good and the indoor swimming pool for the over eighteens offer a retreat from children. The hotel as a path that leads down to a small beach.

Room Tip: This is an holiday for those who just want to relax and enjoy the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed there the last three years, fantastic hotel, great staff and the rooms are amazing ! The pool bar has the best views ever ! Hope to go back again (Thomson Holidays bring back our flight)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

this is a family run hotel and really make you welcome.the rooms are of good quality and spotless.we had aroom looking out to sea and overlooking the pool,great.we went for two weeks end of september begining of october the weather was fantastic. we met some great people there and are still in touch with them.food was good and staff where exellent.i would recommed this hotel to anyone you will come back relaxed its more for the mid age and familys.go you will not be disappointed.many go back year after year.

Room Tip: we had a high floor sea and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nostos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Hotel

Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nostos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Nostos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.