We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food & atmoshpäre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sousourada

Sousourada
Afitos, Greece
+30 23740 91594
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Afitos
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Baden-Baden, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful food & atmoshpäre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had two evenings in that nice Restaurant -very good wine and the Food was just perfekt... You have to eat the chocolate cake ...!
Nice Music and a very family atmosphere - sure we come back next time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal of the Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Whilst looking for a break from traditional Greek food, I found Sousourada. From the outside the restaurant looked nice and the menu was very appealing.

The bread before the meal was of a better quality than what we had elsewhere and the starters were delicious. The mushroom risotto was perfect! The main courses were also top quality and full of flavour. It was very easy to tell that someone who loved food prepared the dishes.

Along with the bill arrived a free desert, which rounded off the meal as brilliantly as it began. We paid €57 for two starters, two mains, two glasses of wine, a bottle of water and the bread. This may be marginally above the average price in Afitos, however, it was well worth it due to the quality of the food.

We considered it to be the best meal of the week and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In a class of its own.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best restaurant in Afitos by a mile. Fabulous food and hospitality was excellent. We ate here after reading Trip Advisor reviews and weren't disappointed. We will be returning again and again in what's left of our holiday. Go here, it's a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Gourmet & Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Have to say that on the whole I have been slightly underwhelmed with the restaurants in Afitos. They all seem to be run of the mill (though with one exception all pretty sound) perhaps with redeeming feature of costing on average of €30 with soft drinks. This restaurant is a little more dear, but on a very different level. We had risotto/traditional pie for starter and as a main both opted for beef casserole with aubergine purée. Being addicted to the ice cream shop opp. the Church in the square we swerved desert though will try the chocolate ganach next time. The bill came to €48, though we had a more expensive than the average main. This was very good value in our mind for a superior meal.

Setting is very pleasant. Service by the owner was again very knowledgable.

Well worth visiting this place for a superior meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best gourmet restaurant in Halkidiki.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you want to try some of the best Greek food, look no further than Sousourada, the award-winning gem of Halkidki.

The cuisine is original Greek/Mediterranean, as opposed to the "touristy" Greek cuisine often served in the area. Dishes are based on local, fresh ingredients, expertly combined and prepared. The menu is fairly limited and changes often, reflecting the availability of raw materials.

Mr. Nikos, the owner, is a fascinating character and one of the best and most knowledgeable chefs in Greece. My advice: Instead of selecting what to order, have Mr. Nikos decide for you! You're guaranteed to get a well thought out series of dishes brought out to you, in the right quantity and timing. Even better, have Mr. Nikos pick the wines to match and just sit back, relax and enjoy.

Overall excellent food and an excellent value - one of my favorite restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sousourada also viewed

 
Afitos, Kassandra
Afitos, Kassandra
 

Been to Sousourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sousourada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.