We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strouboulis

Strouboulis
Afitos, Greece
+30 6944 734501
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Afitos
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in the Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Best grilled food, fresh fish daily, super salads and a wee treat at the end of the meal. Take the time to walk up to the top end of the main street, you won't be sorry!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“unbelievable !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We ate here on Monday, just the 2 of us
Red snapper was delicious although this was all we were offered, as we intended to have fish we thought no more about it.

Last night we visited again with 4 other diners, 2 we're non fish eaters.

As soon as we arrived we were shown 2 fish, 1 for 2 people and 1 for 4

We decided against either of these as the 4 fish eaters wanted sardines

We were told there were no small fish anywhere in the village !

The only meat available was chicken, pork or meatballs

We decided on 4 chicken and 2 meatballs

Meal was "OK ish"

A 2nd bottle of water arrived which we hand'nt ordered

As many of you will know, many Greek restaurants offer a free desert or small drink, knowing this, we were'nt surprised when the owner appeared with 6 brandy's

However we were surprised to see the owner had added the 2 bottles of water AND the brandy's to the bill

The owner was quite surly throughout our meal

Having eaten many delicious meals in the restaurants of Afitos during our 3 wonderful holidays in the village, we were very very disappointed with both the food and the staff

The only blight on what has otherwise been another fabulous holiday !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely meal by tealight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited here with fellow guests from our accommodation who had eaten here several times previously.
It was pouring with rain and we understandably opted to eat indoors in a charming, stonewalled room with lots of interesting artifacts.
We had absolutely delicious starters of baked feta and chilli and baked aubergine with cheese and tomato. We all chose fish or seafood of some description for our mains.
Unfortunately just as they arrived the power went off!! The staff were wonderful, bringing as many tealights as they could and with much amusement we tucked in to some terrific prawns (huge yet they called them shrimps), octopus and dorado.
Tricky boning and peeling when it's dark but maybe that added to a cracking meal and evening rather than detracted from it!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beware of the menu board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A little disappointed because the menu board had loads of meat dishes advertised however there was only one on offer. Advertised as a fish restaurant it would have been better to have known beforehand so that the non-fish eaters would have been warned however the fish was excellent and the staff friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still Greek”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Great place lovely food just a shame they don't have everything on the menu or they should display a menu of the food they have to avoid disappointment

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strouboulis also viewed

Afitos, Kassandra
Afitos, Kassandra
 

Been to Strouboulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strouboulis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.