We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean Blue Studios

Save Saved
You added Aegean Blue Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegean Blue Studios
Afytos, Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Afitos B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I didn't think that our hotel/apartment experiences could get any better than before, but they have now!
Aegean Blue was absolutely wonderful in every way.
We stayed the last week in August and first week in September - in a studio (105) with (as with all of the others) a stunning view of the sea. The studio itself was spotless and very tastefully decorated, and Nicoletta did an excellent job of keeping it clean for the fortnight.
It was my birthday during our holiday (the same day as hosts George and Sophia in fact) and when she realised she put fresh flowers in our room every day for the rest of our holiday, and gave me a big hug and wished me a happy birthday all day!
The room had a lovely double bed which was extremely comfortable and extra pillows were provided by Nicoletta when she saw that we had folded the one each we had on our first night.
The bathroom was great, with a very good and powerful shower and hot water at all times of the day and evening. Complimentary soap and shampoo was replaced whenever needed.
Can't really comment on the kitchen area or facilites, as we never used them, but it seemed well stocked, and had extras like a sponge/scourer and washing up liquid.
The linen and towels were changed every three nights without fail and the apartment was cleaned from top to bottom each day. A mosquito plug was also provided for us, and air conditioning was included in the price - and despite the sign saying it was switched off between 10 am and 2 pm - it never seemed to be!
The balcony area was lovely with a table and two chairs and a very helpful folding clothes airer with clothes pegs.
The facilites at the apartments were very good, the pool area always spotless with a very nice toilet area and ample beds and umbrellas around the pool.
It was never crowded around the pool and in fact on many days we were the only two there, which was lovely. Very few people hogged beds with towels - this may be because most other guests were Greek/Russian, with the only bed hoggers being British!
George and Sophia were excellent hosts, despite the fact that they were always very busy, seeing to guests every needs - nothing was too much trouble.
George manned the pool bar every day, and cooked up a mean omelette, along with a number of others things, and served us with some great complimentary fruit and ice cream, along with the odd Greek delicacy.
George was also there during the evening when we went to the bar before heading out into the village for dinner, and again provided lovely little complimentary snacks with our drinks - the prices of which were very reasonable.
Lots of others have talked about the view from the pool, and it is spectacular - at all times of day and night, particularly with the full moon reflecting on the sea, as we were lucky enough to see.
The walk into the village of Afytos took about 5 mins at a fairly slow pace - with a couple of bars and restaurants on the edge of the village, before getting to the main street into the square. The village square is a wonderful place to sit and people watch, with a couple of cafes, bars and shops surrounding the very pretty church. We were also lucky enough to see a couple of evening weddings at the church, which was lovely, and seemed to go on forever!
The village itself is very pretty, but quite deceptive as there is much more going on than on first glance. There is a row of fish restaurants along the balcony which overlooks the sea, and then further bars and restaurants in the streets off the square. We sampled many of them and didn't have a bad meal. There was also a very nice little Italian restaurant on the main street into the village from the apartments, although more expensive than the other places, it was pretty special.
We walked to the next village one day - Kalithea (about 30 mins each way and hot!) but we didn't stay! Afytos is a very traditional Greek village, Kalithea is not! We were told that it is frequented by Russians mainly, and caters for their tastes. It was basically all very flat, with lots of fur(!) shops and a large number of shops and places to eat - with very few traditional Greek influences - not for our tastes but much more lively than Afytos and definitely more busy and commerical - so clearly liked by some tourists.
All in all an excellent holiday - fantastic hosts (even a very friendly dog - Bartez), spotlessly clean apartment and pool area, and within easy reach of the very lovely village.
Thomas Cook informed us that they are not covering Halkidiki at all next year, but this is definitely one to search for elsewhere!

Room Tip: All the studios seemed much of a muchness - with the same good views. The rooms in the apartment bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here in August 12 and what lovely, clean accommodation. The views out to sea were lovely espcially when the sun set. George was an excellent host, always friendly and helpful. Afitos is a lovely little town. The Thomas Cook Ref Russell was very good, easy to understand, informative but most of all honest.
I just have a couple of minor gripes - car park at the side of the studios spoils the ambiance of the pool area. Too many families (local i assume) visited the pool with loud children and loud fathers constantly talking on the phone, this spoiled the romantic feel of the place which is more suited to couples than families and does state in brochure as being romantic. Not the fault of the owners but way too many dogs nearby that barked constantly, again spoiling the overall ambiance. Maybe if you vist May, June or September it would not be so bad but overall a lovley place and excellent hosts.

Room Tip: First floor room - you get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Aegean Blue in June 2012 for a week. As soon as we were told that the coach couldn't get down the village roads to the property and we were transferring to a mini bus, we knew we were heading somewhere peaceful and genuinely Greek. The other reviews here have said it all really, and I know it sounds too good to be true, but it's lovely. George and Sophia are excellent hosts. There are 16 studios and about 6 apartments in a newer building. Sophia said most of the rooms were taken the week we were there, but there were always sunbeds available and the pool area never felt crowded, in fact sometimes it was as though we had our own private pool! Many nationalities use the studios which adds to their charm,(especially as the European football was on when we were there!). Afitos is a lovely village, just a short stroll away, with numerous bars and restaurants serving simple, delicious local food. The beach below the village is very pretty, albeit with a steep uphill walk at the end of the day. We travelled with Thomas Cook and our rep Chrysafis lived in the village. He was very helpful, had a great sense of humour and always said hello if he spotted us in the village. There had been a lot of negativity in the UK about visiting Greece in the weeks before we left, people saying it would be really expensive, the ATMs would run out of money, there might be rioting, the supermarkets would be empty etc etc. Nonsense! I'm vegetarian so my meals were cheaper than my omnivore other half, but even so we were only paying about 30 euros for an evening meal for 2 with wine (1.20 euros to the £ when we went) and we had no problems finding provisions for lunches and breakfast in the village. We wanted a week away to unwind and relax and this delivered, with bells on!

Room Tip: The first floor studios in the block facing the sea and overlooking the pool give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks at the Aegean Blue Apts in June. The apartments are spacious, cleaned every day and the bed linen and towels changed constantly.
The view from the balcony is spectacular, very relaxing sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine!
The pool and bar area are lovely with nice gardens.
Sophia and George cannot do enough for you.
Afitos village is just a couple of minutes walk with its winding streets with shops and lots of places to eat, it's a beautiful village.
We enjoyed it so much we would definately go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Aegean Blue a couple of weeks ago (June 2012), choosing it after reading all the great reviews on Tripadvisor. It was everything we wanted and more. The rooms were lovely and cool, the beds were really comfy and the shower was always hot. The whole place was spotless and I've never had so many clean towels! Sophia was always available should you need anything else. We didn't see a cloud for two weeks and it was very, very hot but George was always ready with a cold beer and some crisps. I liked the fact that they were so easy going - anything you want from the bar can go on your bill and you can pay at the end of your holiday.
The village is a 5 minute stroll down the road - it really is the most beautiful, old village with lots of places to eat and spectacular views if you choose the tavernas overlooking the sea. Esteki was my favorite taverna (opposite the pharmacy) - lovely food, great service and busy every night.
Thanks Sophia and George - hopefully we'll see you next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a perfect holiday at the Aegean Blue. Stunning views, lovely apartments, wonderful hosts in Sophia and George. What more can I say except we'll be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My fiancee and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The views across the bay are absolutely stunning and just to sit there looking out to sea atop the 100 foot cliff is worth the trip alone.

Sophia and her husband could not have been more welcoming. I had work to do and the free WiFi and good connection were most useful. And, ensconced in the poolside bar, I could not have wished for a better work environment.

When I wasn't working, we were given expert tuition in snorkelling by a fabulous English instructor called Karla Brooker. The sea was so warm and crystal clear, it was a truly memorable experience

In the evening, were were just a six minute stroll from Afitos and some lovely restaurants and shops where we could stock up with cheese, olives, bread and wine.

On our last night a large crowd gathered for a wedding and we figured there'd be little sleep that night. But Sophia promised the music would be over at 12.30 and, sure enough, it was. As ever, the comfort of her guests was her main priority.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aegean Blue Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Blue Studios

Address: Afytos, Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly,family,quiet complex of studios on a unique location at the edge of a cliff at the picturesque village of Afitos.Shared in 3 buildings, first operated 2004,in a garden of 1500 sq.m overlooking the beach and with a breathtaking view to Toroneos gulf and Sithonia peninsula.All studios sea view,self catering,sat tv,a/c, free wifi, daily cleaning also large swimming pool with jacuzzi, children pool,private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Aegean Blue Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Blue Studios Hotel Afitos
Aegean Blue Studios Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean Blue Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.