We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 3 star hotel in a lovely small city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stratos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afitos, Kassandra | Halkidiki, Afitos 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Super 3 star hotel in a lovely small city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First about the hotel itself:
rooms ok, very clean,furnished correctly,tv, AC and fridge.Bathroom a little bit small but shower place ok ( very ok rooms for greek 3 star level).Many rooms have a small balcony that is very enjoyable in the morning or evening.Beds are comfortable.Pool is not very big but very clean and nicely designed.Breakfast was super for our taste ( classic but quite large variety and nicely served, tasty and fresh ) and the breakfast area is charming especially the terrace.Anastasia is just lovely and all of the staff is very ok!Cleaning is very well maintained. Anastasia gave us a lot of info for beaches around the area and she was very helping.

Location:not far from the main street of Afitos,but the location is quiet.A small minus is that there no parking space at the hotel but you can find a dusty free public parking just at the end of the street ( be aware to shade your windshield at least !!! ) Afitos is just lovely and the main walking street is just 2 minutes away ; you can find bars, tavernas , live music etc....and the city looks so lovely !!! Now about the beaches in Afitos : a little bit hard to get to them especially with small children as you have to climb down and up a little ...water ok but not quite the perfect beach area in Afitos. But for us it was perfect as from Afitos you can get to many super beaches in the area by you car! We really enjoyed this combination as we went with our car to a different beach every day and in the evening we enjoyed the hotel, the pool , and the atmosphere in Afitos. Strets are paved , a lot of traditional live music,many good tavernas and the walk on the cliff in the evening or the bars and souvenir shops located on the cliff and of course the view is suuper !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear ionut81,

Good morning from the sunny Afitos!
We would like to thank you for your great review in tripadvisor!
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We take every step possible to provide our guests with excellent accommodation conditions as well as helping them enjoy the best of Halkidiki.

We would like to inform you that since last year we have our own private parking space!
It’s completely free of charge while a reservation is required.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
49
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a beautiful city of Afitos. Hotel location is not the best possible, but since in Afitos you have to use your car to go to the beach in any case, exact location of the hotel it's not so essential. Since Stratos is located very close to the main road of Kassandra it was very convenient to reach other beaches in other towns.
The most important feature of this hotel is their extraordinary hospitality. Sisters who are running the place were absolutely fantastic in welcoming guests and making them feel like home.
We were there with 2 kids and we always had some requests and needs and they were always ready to help us.
Hotel itself is quite nice. New, well decorated rooms. Quite enough space for general Greek standards where you can get very small room. Breakfast was also very good. My only remark that breakfast starts quite late for people with kids that usually wake up at 6 am. But that's also a bit my problem.
Hotel has nice swimming pool that get's a nice shadow during the day so you can spend the hottest hours by the pool. You can order some food and drinks there as well and prices are fair.

I highly recommend this hotel as good value for money especially in it's own category. You will get much more then what you usually expect form this kind of vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear EstebanBelgrado,

We would like to thank you very much for writing this review!

Thank you for your words abour our rooms, breakfast, pool and staff. We would also like to thank you for your information about Afitos.

It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to seeing you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stratos hotel is a great place to have a calm and restful holiday. We are a couple who stayed there for 5 days and we had some wonderful time. The rooms are well maintained, very clean and cosy. The reception is great. The staff is always ready to help if you need an advice. Breakfast is well served and tasty. We also enjoyed the pool and the wifi connection.
The hotel is situated in the center of Afitos, a traditional village, a very peaceful place with a lot of restaurants and shops. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the nearest beach. The water there is very clean. There are also a lot of interesting places to visit nearby and beautiful beaches not very far by car. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Iana A,

Thank you very much for choosing Stratos Hotel during your vacation in Halkidiki - Greece!

We really appreciate your marvelous review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Stratos Hotel!

It would be an honor to accommodate you again in the future!

Merci beaucoup!!!


Anastasia Nikolaidou
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is situated right in the center of the most beautiful and best preserved town on Kassandra Peninsula - Afitos - a must visit place when in Halkidiki. The setting is well maintained and offers all that a vacation goer would need - clean rooms with terraces, A/C, pool, car parking...
Special attention of the hotel managers - two nice ladies - deserves high appreciation as well - they were always where needed, ready to explain, call a taxi, or provide whatever assistance you might need. Breakfast is reasonable (espresso and a fresh orange juice would have made it even excellent :). Overall - a good value for money and a right starting point for exploring Afitos and Kassandra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Elias11,

We would like to warmly thank you for the honor to visit our premises and more for your lovely review in tripadvisor!
It’s a real pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied from our service and hospitality and moreover that you consider Stratos hotel as good value for money!

We would be glad to welcome you again!

All the best,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing exciting, just simple rooms with poor decoration and ugly brown furnitures (the photos were bit missleading). The bathroom was also ugly and dark. We noticed also that the air condition was emitting a dusty smell - not sure why. However the rooms were cleaned everyday which is a big plus for the hotel. Also the location is excellent - near Afytos centre. Breakfast was adequate, only the orange juice was really bad. In overall if are not looking for something special then it is ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear RoosterGr,

We would like to thank you for your beautiful words concerning our cleanliness, the breakfast and the location of Stratos Hotel!

It’s true that our room are simple as a 3 star hotel that we are. However, we do offer brand new furniture, air-condition, refrigerator, flat screen television, safe box, hair dryer , mosquito nets and much more in every single room.

Concerning the misleading photos, you can find guests photos too, on trip advisor site, and those can’t be misleading.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied from our decoration although from your rest of your reviews on tripadvisor, it seems that you are not satisfied from any other hotel that you have visited.

We wish to welcome you again in the future, even for a short stay.

Best Regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Staying in Stratos hotel was one of the best ideas we had. The girls were so kind and helpful. They explained us where we had to go in order to have a good time or a great meal! Anastasia helped us to rent our car and made us sandwiches when we were leaving hotel before breakfast. Stella showed us some places to go in Halkidiki, explaining every time the way to go there. She absolutely knew how to entertain us and to make our day. We were so excited about the girls. Thank you for these beautiful days we had in your hotel. But . . . when something happens with respect to the hotel, please do not try to wake Anastasia up (the manager). Ever if you apologize and talk to her with the kindest way you can, she will act unprofessionally by talking to you sharply and ironically, blaming you for waking her up and for being uninformed about things that SHE had to informed you about the hotel’s facilities. You might be right but she doesn’t care about it. I am sorry about Anastasia because I was so enthusiastic with her. Try to inform and help your guests correctly. Otherwise, everything was fine and we had a great time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Stelios 1992,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Stratos Hotel.

We are more than glad that you enjoyed your time in Halkidiki and grateful for all your beautiful words concerning our staff and me personally.

Regarding the incident that you woke me up at 1.30 in the morning I apologize if I was sharp to you and the same I did next morning when I saw you. The truth is that I was bothered to be informed that I had to wake up so late because you entered into our private parking without informing us and then you couldn’t go out because you hadn’t a remote control to open the bar.
We do offer parking free of charge to our guests although they need to reserve a spot. As you let me know you where already informed about it through our website.

Since you entered into our parking it probably means that another guest opened the bar and you passed through at the same time. So I believe that even if I had an intense in my voice I wasn’t rude to you and it seems quite logical to ask you how you entered into our parking place and why you didn’t ask earlier a remote control but only so late at night?

Concerning your last advise “to inform and help your guests correctly” we all doing our best and we are really sorry when we are not succeed it. However it seems from your review that we informed you and helped you as much as we could helping you with your car, preparing you sandwiches when you were leaving early in the morning or just informing you about beaches, restaurants or sightseeing in Halkidiki.

All the best,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Read the reviews and didn't know how close the hotel would be to the great reviews. We were not disappointed. Lovely hotel, small enough to care, big enough to be professional. Visited for a week with our teenage daughters & we were all impressed by the welcome we received. Anastasia and Stella make great hosts and are very helpful whether it is special food requests for breakfast (which was great) or tips on the best places to go on the peninsular. POOL was lovely - just the right size. Rooms cleaned and beds made daily. Breakfast had a good choice and replenished constantly. Pizza night in front on the BIG telly around the pool was a lovely evening. AFITOS itself small village with good choice of places to eat and lovely small gift shops. Beach was a good walk down hill, ok when you got there though very busy. Definitely advise a car for other beach choices and supermarket nearby. All round just what we needed - a FAB holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Ian P,

Thank you for sharing this lovely review of Stratos Hotel with tripadvisor members!
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and grateful for mentioning all those positive details about the rooms, the pool, the breakfast and even the pizza night in front of the big screen!

We would be glad to accommodate you again in the future!

Best Regards
Anastasia Nikolaidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stratos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Hotel

Address: Afitos, Kassandra | Halkidiki, Afitos 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratos Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the enchanting Afitos the most beautiful and traditional village of Chalkidiki in Greece, Stratos hotel welcomes you! Matching perfectly the benefits of a hotel with the family atmosphere of a hostel, represents the ideal proposal for your vacation, while it consists of 41 rooms and 9 suites with air-condition, television, refrigerator, hair dryer and safe box. Do not hesitate to dive into our pool, relax drinking something refreshing at the pool bar and taste the home made breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stratos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratos Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;