We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when you book!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Knyz Boris I No. 219, Pomorie 8200, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Be careful when you book!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a complex of six hotels. We were placed in the last one on the complex 'Eta'. This is the oldest of the six and is absolutely NOT what you expect from 5 star accommodation. No proper working aircon, dark and dingy and very poorly sound proofed. The resaurant closest to it was the worst of a bad bunch also (the food is acceptable, but no more). We asked to be moved after one night, and wasted the entire second day of our holiday arguing furiously with various hotel management to try to get what we had paid for (nearly 500 Euro a night). They begrudgingly put us in 'Sigma' at 6pm on our second day, which was vast improvement. Eta should be walled off and made a separate hotel. It is a disgrace to call it 5 star.

Check out was similarly awful. They had agreed in advance to let us extend our room (at a cost) until 7pm, but when it came to the last day, they refused point blank to let us do this. Two children age 3 and 4 in tow and no room for 7 hours... Jusr great. Thanks Sunset.

Inbetween was spoiled by the attitude of the staff. I understand that if you are from one of the poorest countries in the region and have to serve rich Eastern Europeans all day, you are probably going to struggle to smile, that I can live with. But seriously, the staff didn't even try to disgise their displeasure of you being there. One staff member in particular was completely out of control and up in folks faces shouting at at the top of his voce... no doubt you will spot him if you are unlucky enough to be going there.

Shame... the management and staff with their default answer of 'No' to everything and agressive stance really let this place down. It's clean, impressively laid out and in a quiet location with a good beach, but at the end of the day, you just don't feel welcome.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel 'Eta'. this is an 1990's cast off that should be given 2 stars. No proper Ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    100
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
165
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience! We had 'all inclusive' but we had to pay for: parking, internet, gym, sunbeds, and for drinks suchs as Fanta, or Coke or alcohoolic drinks.
The food was horrible, the cheapest you could ever eat! The drinks also are very cheap, I drank only water.
The staff was extremely unpolite as you would disturb them when asking for something.
Even if it's a 5* star hotel, the room looks like a 3* with no facilities!
Very, very poor entertainment program for kids and/ or aldults!
I'm not coming back again!

I recomand you Sunny Beach, Golden Sands.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nothing wrong to say about this hotel complex next to the town of Pomorie and near to the city and airport of Burgas.
Have chosen half-boarding.
Excellent pools - great design; tasty and varied food; very clean room/hotel and the whole complex. The personnel very friendly and helpful.
Very diverse clients for this hotel: locals, eastern and western europe in rather equal shares (rough appreciation)
The value for money is good at least for us for a 2 bedrooms room at 160EUR/night with HB.
Highly recommended from my point of view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a pretty good time at the Sunset Resort in Pomorie. I'd describe it more as a suite hotel than an "aparthotel". The "apartment" was adequate but a bit tight. The smaller bedroom, with two single beds, had no windows, which was a bit uncomfortable. The main room and all the hallways in the hotel are tiled, which felt to me a bit cheap. Everything was very, very clean. The kitchen was nice, included a dishwasher and even a washing machine; unfortunately it was barely equipped at all--a few glasses and some silverware but nothing at all you could cook with, not even a coffee machine or a teapot.

The room had a really large balcony with a beautiful view of the resort and the sea--wish it had had more furniture, instead of two tiny chairs and a little table.

We didn't have the all-inclusive package, but the breakfast in the all-inclusive restaurant was very generous. Not as high-end as some luxury hotels--no smoked salmon or sushi--but lots of good different varieties of meat, and pastries, and bread, and fruit, and pancakes, and they would also make you an omelette. They had filter coffee (not always easy to find in Bulgarian hotels) as well as Nestle instant-coffee machines and hot water for tea. Breakfast room was not excessively crowded and the staff was really good about taking away dirty dishes.

The specialty restaurants were just ok: they had Italian, French, Seafood, and "Asian". We tried them all; they were affordable by western european standards but much more expensive than in town. The Italian was a bit of a disappointment, especially the pizza, and the French wasn't special, though service was good. The Asian restaurant was really slow but offered servicable sushi, and also a range of barbecue offerings, not Asian at all but I think very popular. Best was the fish restaurant which had a patio with a partial sea view, good service, and a nice menu. (Not terribly kid friendly but lots of good stuff to eat.)

The pools may be the nicest thing about Sunset: there are lots of them, including one with waterslides and another with human hamster-balls for the kids occasionally. We didn't use the kid's club but it looked active and fun. Temperature was great, water was very clean though a lot of people were using it. Lazy river was very lazy (like hardly any current at all) but still fun. Grounds were attractive and well-maintained.

The various bars were ok: the lobby bar had the best selection and service and cheap beer and drinks. The pool bars seemed to close early and had spotty selection and service.

The beach was mixed: a lot of the best space was taken up by "cabanas" that you had to pay 50 or 100 lev to use--not very fun. Either you set up your umbrella behind them or walked quite a ways to the open beach. I think there was some space for the all-inclusive people to use, and there seemed to be free soft drinks for them down there which was nice. The sand was soft and nice, and the water was great. Clean and just the right temperature, it shelved down slowly enough that I could always tough bottom but I could still get some real swimming in. Hardly any surf at all, just a bit for the kids to play with but nothing that was ever scary.

They had a water-sports offering including a "sofa" float dragged by a jetski, jetski rentals, and some similar stuff (no paragliding.) It was a bit pricey but looked fun and pretty professional.

Pomorie was a bit hard to get around in but quite charming in places. (Ugly in other places.) There is a nice water park about 20 minutes away in Nessabar, and old Nessabar is only a few minutes further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Resort in Summer 2012 but I have not got around to reviewing it until now. I was quite nervous before we travelled after reading quite a few negative reviews on Trip Advisor but we had a great week and found the resort ideal for a family with young children (7 & 4yrs).

We travelled with Baltic holidays who I believe offered a good level of service for the price. The flights were better than I expected although because this is a flight to Burgas there are generally quite a lot of rowdy people heading to Sunny Beach. Don't be put off - the Sunset Resort was very quiet in comparison. The Sunset Resort is the first stop on the coach journey from the airport which is definitely a bonus.

We were given a two bedroom apartment in the Eta building and were generally delighted at the room facilities and cleanliness. The rooms are not luxurious but they fairly reflect the price of the hotel. We did not pay for a sea-view and I agree that the view on the other side of the hotel is not great but that did not bother us at all.

A BIG concern before we left was the food. We had gone all-inclusive and some of the reviews we read before leaving were concerning about the quality of food and the business of the restaurants. I am glad to say that we found the food excellent in both the variety and quality. When travelling abroad it is always best to eat the local food because this is the food made from local ingredients and often the best quality. The 'western' food that was also provided to accommodate the unadventurous was pretty nasty - chicken nuggets, pizza, chips of poor quality. But the local food was varied and great. Breakfast was a special favourite with the family with a great selection of fresh bread, egg dishes, pancakes, fruit etc.

I was also pleasantly surprised to find that there were times during every meal when the restaurants were not very busy. We found that the beginning of each meal time was quiet and then it got crazy after the restaurant had been open for ~45 minutes. So my advice is be there just as the door opens for lunch & dinner and you will have a more relaxed meal, with food that is hotter. We ate all of our meals except one at the ' Diamond' restaurant in front of the Delta building. We did try the 'Brilliant' restaurant once but found the selection was not as good, and the outdoor seating at 'Diamond' has a better view.

The swimming pools were just fantastic for a young family. So many different pools to explore and many had great area where the water was shallow enough to leave little ones to play with supervision from the sun loungers. There are 3 water slides which are only open at certain times and can get a bit busy but it was more than sufficient for our kids.

The sun-loungers are an issue. My only advice is to get up early, get the towels down and go and have a relaxed breakfast before going to swimming. If you got up at the start of breakfast everyday there will be sun-loungers available.

The sun-loungers on the beach cost extra, but we would just set up on the sand and never had any problems. The sea is fantastic for a young family. Warm, shallow and we did not see any jellyfish which can be a problem in the area. Occasionally there were some medium size waves but generally it was very calm, ideal for small children.

The entertainment in the evening was limited and the bars not particularly great but we had no reason to use these. The kids were asleep early after having such a great time at the swimming pools and beach.

We found that the staff in general were excellent. They don't smile & joke excessively but the are polite and courteous and we found speaking a few words in Bulgarian to them made them far more willing to help.

In summary - this was the perfect holiday for us with our children at that age (7yrs & 4yrs). It was good value for money. It did not cost 5* prices so don't expect a 5* hotel. Eat the local food provided and get up early for those sun loungers! We were genuinely sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived in this hotel ,our reservation was about 4 nights.When we entered in it ,we were just about to leave at the same second!!!The reasons are:
1.An auful welcome
2.We booked an apartment for 110 euro per night,but they gave us small room -512,which room had an old lock with key.So everyone who was there before us could own a copy of that key.
3.There is no internet connection in the rooms,neither wire nor wireless
4.No minibar in the rooms
5.There is no parking places except if you pay an additional tax for it
6.If you want to use safe you must pay 6 euro per day
7.Breakfast is served far away from the building you stay-10 min.
8.Small swimming poll with not enough places according to the capacity of the hotel
9.if you want to use the private beach of the hotel,you must pay an additional tax 12 euro for 2 places
10. There is no "DO NOT DISTURB" ,so the housekeepers entered the room everytime they want and they woke up us 3 times
11.Very poor breakfast
12There is no bathrobes,slippers,sewing kit in the rooms ,which is unacceptable for 5 stars hotel
13.Our room was situated at the side of very noisy road and we could not even open the balcony door
14.TV was very old and small,bad channels quallity
According to all that reasons i want to advise you:Do not visit this hotel! It is not more than two stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Sunset resort is a plush fab resort consisting of 5 hotels in one complex. It has numerous pools and pool side bars. It's also located on the beach which you can just stroll out to. If your not all inclusive, the food is dear by Bulgarian standards but cheap by Irish/English standards. Take a taxi or bus to pomorie town centre for authentic Bulgaria food at half the price . The staff are not the most friendliest but the odd one tries to crack a smile !!! It's also just a 10 min drive from the airport which is a bonus.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Knyz Boris I No. 219, Pomorie 8200, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Pomorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Pomorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pomorie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.