We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home, in Greece!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agistri Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Agistri Club Hotel to your Saves list
Agistri Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skliri, 18010, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Angistri
Paris, France
1 review
“home from home, in Greece!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recommended by English friends, who've been coming here for 20 years, my wife and I felt immediately at ease in this environment. A neat little hotel above the cliffs on Agistri Island, a green spot between the island of Aegina and the Pelopponesian coast, just one hour from Piraeus by Flying Dolphin.

We had excellent food, drink and merriment during the Greek Easter weekend at the Agistri Club, run by Bryan and Henriette, an eclectic house staff of unimaginable origins and assorted animals. The guests were also of diverse origin and age, putting you at ease so naturally. English is the main language spoken if you want to mix well at the hotel, but also with the island people.

The best length of stay I reckon is about a week so you can discover the island fully and spend some time lolling on the beaches and coves.

The ferry links are good and Bryan will pick you up on arrival.

Good value for money.

Nick Pendred

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel building if you want a big room. The rooms in the annex have nice balconies w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    27
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
115
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Delightful hotel with fabulous dining terrace overlooking the Saronic Gulf. The food was delicious - but not typically 'Greek' - no kebabs or pitta and tarama. But they were available in the town, if you want. Very low key - just beautiful clear water, quiet beaches, congenial company. More lively at the weekend when Athenians come for their break, but never too packed. Simple, clean rooms. Not large, but with private balcony which wasn't overlooked. Highly recommended either as a place to chill for a few days, or as a base to further explore the island and nearby Aegina and Epidaurus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've been to Agistri Club hotel in June 2013.
A few words about Agistri itself. It is a small wonderful island, population about 2000 very friandly and nice people. It is rather easy to get there from Athens, it takes about tow hours from the airport. Agistri is very green and quiet, especially from Monday till Friday). The sea is transparent, there are lots of beaches with sunbeds, that are free of charge.

Agistri Club is the most wonderful little authentic hotel we've ever been to (and we have a rather good travelling experience). The hosts - Bryan and Henriette are very hospitable and nice/ The room is very clean and has fridge, that is free of charge and a very good balcony with a marvellous sea view. Specail to mention are dinner in Agistri club. The food was various and delicious.

We will certainly return to Agistri Club someday and will advice this heaven on earth to all our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We decided on this hotel and this island after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The whole Agistri experience is something not to be missed. Staying at the Agistri Club hotel is like visiting friends that you have known for a long time. They made us feel very welcome and coming back to the hotel at night was indeed like coming home. The cosy atmosphere that Brian and Henriette created coupled with the fantastic meals that were prepared every day made this a very memorable vacation, and the amusing stories and anecdotes that George told made the mood joyuful and relaxed. If you are looking for a vacation spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A one hour ferry ride from Pireaus brought us to the very special world of the Agistri Club. Agistri Family might be a better name as once you enter the orbit of Bryan and Henriette, your hosts, George, the quietly helpful manager, Baski, the brilliant Albanian chef, assorted cats and dogs and friendly guests all of whom seem to have stayed here before, all else fades. Leisurely breakfasts with no defined cut off time merge into ocean swims from the nearby cove and relaxing on your waterfront terrace with views to Aegina across the water. Dinner is time to share stories around the bar and listen to Bryan's colourful descriptions of the menu tonight. What's it to be? Rabbit, coq au vin or a local moussaka? When you decide to venture further afield Bryan is there to tell you all about Agistri, a laid back island removed from tourist hoards and with virtually no cars. Just across the water, a ten minute ferry ride away, is the charming island of Aegina. Here you can explore the quaint shops, colourful waterfront or take in an Ancient Greek temple, Aphea or the atmospheric and very moving chapels of Paleochora, Athens too is on your doorstep, But all the time returning to the warm embrace of the Agistri Club. This is hospitality at its best. Simple yet stylish rooms, good food and best of all an atmosphere of friendship, kindness and good humour. True luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I ended up in Agistri quite by chance. I went to the port in Athens and asked for the next ferry to somewhere in the Saronic Gulf. The whole experience was just magic. I planned to stay one night and ended up staying three. This was not only because Agistri turned out to be so beautiful, but because my stay at Agistri Club was so wonderful. From the beautiful rooms to the welcoming staff it really couldn't have been better. In particular, the owners of the Club Bryan and Harriet make this place so special. They are both warm and generous people who truly value their customers. Most of the people I met staying in the hotel had visited Agistri Club more than once. Some had been coming for more than 10 years. That says it all really. Once you discover a place like this you are sure to return. I know I certainly will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had heard that Agistri was a little bit of paradise and that the Agistri Club Hotel was the place to stay; it more than lived up to expectation! Bryan met us as arranged on our arrival and we were well looked after throughout our stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful and helped make it a memorable holiday. The food was delicious, especially Henriette's homemade jams for breakfast. Our room was lovely with the added bonus of a seaview to wake up to. If you want a quiet holiday away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life; I can't recommend this highly enough. The memories have kept me going through a long wet depressing winter in the UK. It is time to book again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agistri Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agistri Club Hotel

Address: Skliri, 18010, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Angistri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Angistri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Angistri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Angistri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agistri Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully situated among the pine trees and directly above the water, the Agistri Club has nine traditionally furnished rooms each with double bed, en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, refrigerator, and a private balcony overlooking the Aegean Sea. Good company, good food and great hospitality in a casual and friendly atmosphere attract a regular clientele from throughout Europe and beyond. Informal yet stylish our cliff-top restaurant serves each night a large variety of fresh Greek dishes from around the globe and our terrace bar is a favorite with hotel guests, visiting tourists and those living on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agistri Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agistri Greece
Agistri Club Hotel Greece/Angistri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agistri Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.