We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine du Moulin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine du Moulin
Save
You added Domaine du Moulin to your Saves list
Chemin de la Begude, Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A wonderful place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our family, with 3 children aged from 5 to 12, really enjoyed staying at Domaine du Moulin for 5 days last September. We booked 2 rooms of the downstairs "apartment". The kids simply loved it, lots of space to wonder around, playground & trampoline, cute dogs, a gorgeous pool and a little salon / TV room ! The rooms are tastefully decorated with an eye for detail and very comfortable. The breakfast, with flexible hours (!), beats by large any hotel breakfast, a large variety of local breads and croissants, different fresh fruits, completed with a healthy juice. The breakfast alone kept us going during the day on various excursions in the region, the Pont du Gard - cool for the kids - to charming Saint-Remy & Uzes, Orange, Avignon and Aix ! The charming hosts, Antoinette & Otto, are very knowledgeable about the region and their generous insights and recommendations made our stay highly enjoyable. We will definitely visit again !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Everything is beautiful at the Domaine, place, style, hospitality, food, with special mention to the charming owners, Antoinette and Otto. My son stayed here once and immediately told me, you have to go there. We live in Madrid but we travel to Rome many times a year, and is a joy for us to stop there a couple of nights every time.
Carmen and Claudio Fabi

Room Tip: We loved Juliette
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for a second time last summer, having spent a few days here four years ago. What a truly beautiful place! First of all the grounds are immaculately kept, flowers everywhere. Well worth our daily stroll. The interior is very welcoming, warm with incredible attention to detail. The lovely owner Antoinette clearly has a knack for interior decoration. Best of all is the very elaborate breakfast table. Fresh rolls, fresh fruit salad, home made jams, cheese, ham, yoghurt, etc. Just writing about this place makes me want to return soon....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We (2 couples) stayed for 3 nights at the Domaine du Moulin in early September. We had the room 'bleu' whilst our friends went for the smaller (without bath) room 'meunier'.

The Pros:
- Wonderful grounds and beautifully restored buildings
- Large (but cold!) pool that gets cleaned daily (but there are many trees so it does not look picture perfect)
- Cute dogs that belong to the owner
- Must be a great place for families as there is a playground, trampoline, games room and kitchen
- Rooms are clean
- Good location for exploring the many sights and activities in the area (St Remy, Orange, Pont du Gard, Avignon, Glanum etc) - there is so much to do, we specifically enjoyed kayaking along the sorgue
- There is a fantastic restaurant La Louisa across the road, it does not look like much from the outside but the food and decor inside is amazing
- BBQ area

The Cons:
- The downstairs rooms and kitchen are all quite dark (but we were out and about most days)
- Early checkout (the housekeeper told us we werent allowed to use any facilities past 11 but the owner was much more generous and let us keep our bags in the little TV room and use the washroom facilities)
- You will need a car as there is not much in the immediate surroundings

All in all a good place for a weekend break.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We are a young couple who stayed here on a weekend getaway from monaco. We were very impressed at the driveway and first impressions of the old mill though we had to wait a while for someone to arrive and let us in. The old mill itself is spectacular, turrets, the river running under it, lovely grounds... though the interior for me is a little traditional and dated. We picked the 'most expensive room' which looked the nicest from the internet and though it was very nice, again it was a little old fashioned for us. The owners were lovely, though we did feel a little like we were intruding on their home and space. We viewed other rooms and apartments in the newer part of the house and they were indeed more welcoming than our room 'juliette', more modern and warmer feeling though very typically provencal. We also thought it quite pricey out of season. We really enjoyed our stay here and if you are part of a large group with children I think this may be a great place for you as there were large apartments with communal areas for rent, though for us it was not ideal. We stayed at chateau Beaupre Deluze the following night and preferred this very much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Good points:Lovely grounds, very nice chambermaid, bed.
Bad points:Not enough room (kids were even sleeping in corridors), loads and loads of kids, very few pool chairs, very expensive and stale breakfast, rat eating leftovers under the breakfast table in the morning.
The property was being reviewed by an estate agent for sale while we were there-it is definitely past its best.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettie K, Owner at Domaine du Moulin, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our B&B. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

We just now joined TripAdvisor as owner, so please apologize for this late reply. We will keep track of all reviews from now on and respond immediately.

I would like to apologize on behalf of our B&B and its team for your stay. We have never received any similar complaints in over 12 years since we've been in business. Please refer to our new website where you can read over 30 reviews we've received in our guestbook from our old website.

As a matter of fact, we've actually become quite renowned for our Breakfast over the years, offering numerous types fresh French breads, pastries, juices and fruits etc every day. Since our baker delivers the breads each morning, I am surprised you dubbed your bread as being 'stale'. Moreover, we don't have rats, and I was rather hurt by your remark about rats and rat droppings. In the 12 years we've been in business this has never happened to us.

I would have appreciated you informing us about the quality of your stay to us personally as well upon your departure, but I can not recall such feedback. Should you read this, please contact us as I would like to hear more about this.

We sincerely do hope that the remainder of your trip to the Provence was most enjoyable.

Antoinette - owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We spent 2 lovely nights here. The house was beautifully situated with the river Nizon running through the 4.5ha garden and under the house. Our room was big and furnished with great taste and style, as was the whole house. The grounds contained a lovely swimming pool and dozens of places with loungers dotted under the trees, so that one could sit and relax in solitude or in company depending on one's whim. Antoinette and her husband were most welcoming and produced delicious breakfasts on the terrace and recommended a fantastic nearby restaurant for dinner.

Altogether a great place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine du Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Moulin

Address: Chemin de la Begude, Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine du Moulin welcomes you to the heart of the Provence! Our Bed & Breakfast is situated right outside Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres, a medieval village that once belonged to the Popes of Avignon. The domain dates back to the 15th century and offers a large swimming pool area, several secluded terraces, a gorgeous landscaped parc covering well over 4 hectares (10 acres) where you can find an orchard with figues, cherry trees, plum and peach, a small rose garden and a vegetable garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine du Moulin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.