We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee on coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roasted Berry

The Roasted Berry
Mingara Recreation Club Ltd, Mingara Drive, Tumbi Umbi, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
+61 2 4349 7799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Tumbi Umbi
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: From a humble seed grows a coffee plant... As the plant matures, it produces brilliant red berries. Housed inside these berries is a seed. Farm workers pick the berries by hand so the seed inside can be extracted and roasted. Once roasted, it becomes a coffee bean used to create the world's most popular drink, enjoyed by many and is the heart of many social occasions. Share special times with family and friends at The Roasted Berry. Situated in the heart of Mingara, The Roasted Berry offers its own blend of great coffee, sourced directly from Rainforest Alliance certified coffee plantations in South America. The Roasted Berry's talented Barista's turn its special blend into your favourite cup of coffee...With a little bit of love in every cup. As well as great coffee, The Roasted Berry creates delicious meals created from freshest produce, complemented by home-style delectable cakes, breads and pastries.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee on coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Enjoyed a coffee and croissant with family at the Roasted Bean. Coffee exceptional, croissant delicious; buttery and flakey and the service warm and friendly.
Already planning to return for lunch and sample the tomato + haloumi salad. Yum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi T, Manager at The Roasted Berry, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi there Amy,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our coffee and beautiful french butter croissants. They are you die for!

Thank you for your review and kind words.

Warm regards,
Naomi Taylor, Cafe Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Vale, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and fantastic meals. The Roasted Berry is a must visit on the central coast NSW.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Well this is a great place to be for several reasons one of which is the staff who obviously are happy to be there and look after the customer. Someone has put in a lot of work into the decor as it's welcoming and warm. Somewhat eclectic I think as there's old books, plants and the odd radon display item. I like this as it give various points of interest.
Food offer is just fine presented on cute mini clip boards very informal which I also like, after all I'm not at the club for fine dining.
Coffee good and cake offer adequate, presentation simple, neat and clean with non of the pretentious fanned strawberry that one often gets. This is the second time I have eaten at the Roasted Berry and I haven't been let down yet. Prices are on par with what one should expect, mind you I need to join the club to get the cheaper prices. Can get expensive if your paying for a family. Look forward to going back and trying a bit more of their food. It's got the thumbs up from my daughter and my wife enjoyed the basics of the bacon, egg and tomato in toasted sourdough. They also do baked on the premises bread which I haven't looked at yet. So I recommend this place if you are a bit sick of the club thing and slot machines don't interest you. I might hang out there and read a book next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprising find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Read one review on trip adviser and thought we'd give it a go.
Strange to have such a cute little place in an rsl....but if you have an open mind, it us just lovely.
The presentation and quality of the food was great, a good start to long weekend trip home.
The best breakkie we had on the central coast!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The BEST place for breakfast on the Central Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Every second Saturday,to coincide with the local farmers market, we like to have breakfast out. Somewhere special. As a result we have tried most of the local eateries. While some have been better than others all seem to serve up the same old menu in one form or another. This week we tried The Roasted Berry at Mingara and what a surprise it was. The old Coffee Club site has been reinvented. It's homey an all the bread (sourdough) is baked fresh on site. The breakfast menu is outstanding, good value and very tasty. We will definitely be going back. I have no hesitation in recommending this eatery to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roasted Berry also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to The Roasted Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roasted Berry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.