We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site, if you take away the British..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine des Ormes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine des Ormes to your Saves list
Domaine des Ormes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Ormes Epiniac, 35120 Dol-de-Bretagne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great site, if you take away the British..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from this site after a 10 night stay in a tent with Keycamp. We really enjoyed our stay. This was my first time travelling and driving on the continent, and after around 30 mins I was OK, and the short journey to the site went quickly. My wife used to stay at sites like this when she was young with her family and she said that it brought back some great memories.

Anyway, as I said it was a great site, the Keycamp tent was all you needed, fridge, great little hob and grill, pots pans and storage and a BBQ thrown in too. After we arrived my youngest son (13) was straight into the smaller and much colder pool situated behind the Spar shop. The following day he was enjoying a game of "anyone can join in" football on the arftificial grass pitch, where there seemed to be around 40 little Messi's running after the ball. Great fun to watch.

There is so much to do, and the brochure tells you what is available, so I won't. I tried my hand on the golf driving range, although I had said I wouldn't. Great stuff. Quick tip though, take your own clubs as there are only irons available to hire and they are crap, to say the least. There is a pitch and putt, great for the family, just don't show your competitive side, let the kids win for once.

Our neighbours were a Dutch family, very quiet but fun to be next too. My eldest (18), just relaxed completely reading a few books and drinking a few beers in the shade. Evenings were BBQ's and French wine, summer sun and the smell of the Pine trees on every pitch. Speaking of the pitches, they were very good, great size for your table and chairs, sunbeds, clothes drier and your car.

The toilet facilities were very good too, clean, and no queues for the showers, which were hot at any time of day, so NO complaints there. So all in all a really relaxing holiday, until it was time to turn in, which was usually around 23.30 to 00.00. Which is when the site seemed to spawn the very worst that the "Brits on Tour" can achieve. Every single night there would be a constant torrent of loud and probably drunk British kids roaming the site. As previously mentioned in another review, there is a sign on the camp that clearly states that any trouble makers after 23.00 would be expelled from the site. Why put this sign up, if the bar is kept open until 01.00.

This is such a shame for the families with toddlers who manage to get their kids into bed having had a great day, finally get them to sleep, only then to have the dross, that would usually occupy the local park on a Friday night with cheap booze, screaming at the top of their voices for the next few hours. It was only on our last night that we heard a Holiday Rep at about 23.45, telling a family, yes, you guessed British again too keep the noise down, as there were families with young children trying to sleep. At no time did we hear any Dutch, German, Italian or French making such a noise. Says it all really.

So to summarise then, this is a great site, completely brilliant, great for families with younger kids too. Very good activities, all reasonably priced, however, you WILL have to endure the noisy element as mentioned above as soon as it is time for bed, but hey, your on holiday, you don't need to sleep do you???

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    149
    47
    21
    17
See reviews for
229
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Spezia, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pay attention to the money: the hotel is not a 5 stars as indicated but a low profile 3 stars. The managment is very unkind: if you have a problem they don't face you bet they answer you only by phone. The crew is completely unskilled (not able to book a dinner in the hotel restaurant). The castle showed on pitcure has nothing to do with the hotel. It is a private property - no access allowed.
The room is managed once in a while so you have to sleep in dirty bed where someother unknow has slept before. The rooms are very small so if you are more than two you will have problem with space for luggage. Last but not least, if you are lucky you can enjoy a very good landscape from room window: the trush depo with trush tanks.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arrived without a booking and were greeted by a charming receptionist, Melanie, and were fortunate to be given a room with a balcony and spent five glorious days in the hotel. We also enjoyed three evening meals in the hotel with good food and wine at very reasonable prices. All of the staff we encountered were smiling,helpful and professional.
Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and had the benefit of a separate loo - everything being spotless.
We didn't take advantage of many of the facilities on offer at the adjacent 'resort' which is a perfect venue for families but did see the wonderful firework display one evening.
We shall have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from a nine day break at Domaine des ormes, there were 20 of us in total and we had a superb holiday. Only one complaint and that is restaurants shut to early and food in the pizzeria was sub-standard and the service poor, other than that would highly recommend the site and all other services were excellent.

Best suited to families with teenagers I feel, we took three teenage lads who thoroughy enjoyed it and we would definately go again we stayed in a two bedroom caravan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed on this site in August 2012 for 5 nights, 2 adults and a teenager. The booking in procedure was very straightforward, we arrived with our own touring caravan. You are issued with wristbands to wear, and as my son said, you feel branded!

There are various types of accommodation, we saw serviced tents, mobile homes, wooden huts, tree houses to name but a few.

As a touring caravan holidaymaker, the pitches are a very good size, we were near to toilet blocks and dish washing facilities.

Toilets and showers are very average, quite smelly in fact in the toilet cubicles, and also there were screwdriver holes in the walls between the toilets, which I found very disturbing on a family site, and you would think maintenance staff would address this. The showers however, were cleaner, but I would advise showering mid afternoon, as in the evening I found the water to be cold!

There are kids clubs for various ages, plenty of activiites, which have to be booked, also bars and restaurants, and a well stocked Spar shop. We did not use the bars and restuarants, but my son used the bar to obtain wi-fi on his I-pod!

If you like a Haven/Butlins type holiday, this will be right up your street, but we personally found there to be too many British there, and like to have more of a mix of nationalities when we caravan in France.

Probably would not return to this site, mainly because we don't have young children anymore.

The area is very nice and Dol de Bretagne and Dinan are well worth a visit, they are pretty medieval towns.

If you are self catering, there are good supermarkets in Dol de Bretagne, which is a short drive away from the site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just returned from 1 week with Key Camp (Children aged 16+13+7) and we all really enjoyed this very attractive campsite.There are lots of reasonably priced activities for children & teenagers as well as great pools.Our children particularly enjoyed the treetop course & zipwire.
The entertainment staff were enthusiastic & clearly enjoyed entertaining everyone but don't expect too much!
Would recommend visiting Dinan-a picturesque cobbled town full of shops & art studios.If visiting St Malo set off early as it's a nightmare to park-took us ages.
Only real complaint was the onsite pizzeria-food was nice but service was a shambles-it took 1hr 30mins to even take our order & then it wasn't even correct when it came!
All in all the site exceeded our expectations & we'd definitely go again.
-

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Can't remember how many times we have been here now but its great, the kids even say France when we ask them Florida or France. I have 2 boys 9 and 13 and each year we have been something else appeals to them. The reason we keep coming back is we cannot find anywhere as close that we can take the car with the amount of facilities. The 18 hole golf course is just great and always in fabulous nick, its not cheap but it does mean you get your more serious golfers only which helps keep it not too busy and in good condition. Just a list of the things we did this year..big boy golf, driving range, go ape(parcours), zip lines across the park, paintball, lots and lots of water slides, BBQ most nights, evening entertainment with fireworks...don't miss this, they never really advertise this well but its quite an enjoyable event. lots and lots of football, amusment arcade, table tennis, climbing wall and soccer coaching session. One week and I am totally knackered. I think we will be back again next year a bit sad I know but unless we find somewhere with the level of facilities and within driving distance from a ferry then don't know where else to go. Excellent time and very safe and secure lots of nice people on site and friendly.

Room Tip: If you book a mob home get one with the decking and an awning...it comes in handy when it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine des Ormes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Ormes

Address: Les Ormes Epiniac, 35120 Dol-de-Bretagne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dol-de-Bretagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine des Ormes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Domaine des Ormes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Ormes Hotel Dol-De-Bretagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine des Ormes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.