We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nyungwe Forest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nyungwe Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Nyungwe Forest Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Nyungwe Forest, Gafunzo 00250, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super-luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The rooms are super-luxurious - everything has been thought of from the duvets to the bath to the veranda with wooden pillars. The scenery is stunning and from the infinity pool you can see monkeys playing in the trees. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

My only slight niggle is that the food, while good, didn't quite live up to everything else. Also, this kind of place tends to attract rather snooty guests, including a surfeit of NGO types with aid money to spend - that goes with the territory, I suppose.

Overall though you can't fail to love it! Oh, and I recommend the massage in the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
57
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow! This place just takes your breath away. One of the best lodges I've ever been to. Starting with the incredible friendlyness of the staff that goes out of its way to help. Main building is lovely, having breakfast or an afteroon tea looking at the plantation withe the jungle in the background is fantastic. And the rooms! Oh, the rooms! Immerse yourself in the bathtub, open the windows that give you a look on the room and the balcony with the forest in the background and rest your bones after a long day of trekking and you'll feel reborn.Everything about this place is amazing. Do not miss it! And do not miss the infinity pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is an incredibly beautiful setting in high altitude, closed canopy forest with abundant opportunities to explore the amazing natural surroundings. The birding is amazing, and the primates are often easily found. The lodge is very beautiful, and does well in embracing its natural setting without compromising creature comforts (excellent meals, cold drinks, and high speed wi-fi in all the rooms). It also has the added advantage of only having 25 rooms, and its remote location means that you will definitely feel like you are off the beaten path.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here with my family in June 2013 and it was one of the best holidays I have ever had. It is a five hour journey from Kigali and the road is not all smooth but upon arrival, we realized that the trip was worth it.

The lodge is in a beautiful tea plantation and on the edge of a forest. The cabins overlook the forest with local monkeys dropping in to say hi occasionally. The rooms are very clean and beautifully designed and the food is good (best soup I ever had).

The highlight of my stay was the customer service, the staff are very friendly and helpful and they even gladly put up with my 3 year old hyperactive son. They repeatedly made us meals that were not on the menu for our two children who were staying free. The manager Jerry and his staff are doing a fantastic job and my family felt very welcome.

I found the rates very reasonable given the good service and beautiful rooms. I would definitely recommend this place and hopefully go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We almost didn't stay here, given the expense. But once we were installed, it felt like it was worth every penny. The central lodge is breathtaking -- both the architecture and the views. Service was stellar, and our accommodations could not have been more comfortable. The food wasn't world-class, but it was nonetheless excellent. The wifi seemed lightning-quick. The only negative thing I can say about it is that because we didn't have our own transportation (we were dropped off by one driver and picked up two days later by another), our hiking choices seemed to be limited to one: the waterfall hike. But that took four hours and satisfied our hunger to spend time on the magnificent forest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'm currently sitting on the best bed of all time, wondering why I have to leave this magical place tomorrow.

This place is a splurge, but you get so much more than you pay for. When you arrive, you are greeted with hot towels and drinks (ours was a passionfruit and lime "caipirhina," though there was no booze, sadly). This sets the tone for the extremely high caliber service that you will receive throughout your stay.

The decor is elegant/modern with local flair, incorporating the ubiquitous baskets you see everywhere in Rwanda.

The accommodations are individual casitas, and they all face the Nyungwe forest. Only the monkeys and birds will see you wandering around your tranquil retreat naked, if you so choose. TV with cable channels in English and French, though I haven't been inclined to turn it on, as it somehow spoils the tranquility. Climate here is very moderate, and since it's at quite an altitude (2000+ meters), bugs are really not an issue. No mosquito nets - hooray!! There's also ceiling fans and air cond, as well as wood burning stove for the cool nights during the rainy season. You will NOT be uncomfortable here.

Food is included with the rate, and you are always given a choice of 2 starters, 3-4 entrees, and 2 desserts. The food was always good, never amazing, but perfectly pleasant. On our first night, they surprised us with an entire cake, after we had already eaten our 3 courses, because I mentioned at some point in the reservation process that we were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary. Husband and I were both so pleasantly surprised, and the other guests were pleased too, as they got to share our cake :)

The reception also helps facilitate visits in the forest, and makes recommendations, which is helpful.

Overall, we had an incredible 3-night stay here, and even though it is seriously a pain to get here (5ish hour drive through curvy mountainous terrain to get here from Kigali), I am already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: They have a full menu of spa services - get a massage it is so worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This lodge is nestled in rolling tea plants. Very tastefully planned and decorated. The rooms are large, and comfortable. Large bathroom with all the amenities. Nice balconies with monkeys in the forest to keep you company. Although some of the other reviewers didn't like the food, we thought it was wonderful. The service was impeccable, servers very nice. We were immediately greeted with a drink, which was welcome after our long drive. They offer a tea service every evening that provides an education on how tea is grown and cultivated. Our gal was very sweet and knowledgable. The staff was very helpful, providing early breakfast for us as we went chimp trekking. Our guide had advised us to bring our luggage to the lobby prior to going chimp trekking, but on our return, the staff allowed us to return to our room (even though it had been cleaned already) and take showers, get cleaned up. Then we had a wonderful lunch prior to our departure. We only stayed one night, but I could have stayed longer. It's a very peaceful setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nyungwe Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyungwe Forest Lodge

Address: Nyungwe Forest, Gafunzo 00250, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gafunzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gafunzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nyungwe Forest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is the only five star establishment within the Nyungwe National Park area. It lies in a tea plantation on the edge of the Nyungwe closed canopy rain forest and comprises of 20 luxurious rooms and two Presidential Suites – with 2bedrooms – luxurious suites, one with a Jacuzzi, each equipped with private decks with views overlooking the vast forest terrain. Lodge facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, a boma for outdoor dining and sundowners, a restaurant with private terrace, a tea lounge and bar, a relaxation retreat with two treatment rooms, plus a fitness centre with treadmill, cycle and weights. The lodge also offers the latest in Wi-Fi technology with exclusive conferences facilities accommodating up to 18 delegates. Furthermore, the main lodge is wheelchair friendly with relevant facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Nyungwe Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nyungwe Forest Hotel Kigali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyungwe Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.