We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$$$$$$$$$ - They get you at every oportunity” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tangalooma Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tangalooma Island Resort to your Saves list
Tangalooma Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Resort Centre | Tangalooma, Moreton Island, Queensland 4009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moreton Island
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“$$$$$$$$$$$ - They get you at every oportunity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The island is stunning, but the memory of the additional costs at this place doesnt compliment the view.

Its so over priced, from getting stung for the parking costs when we got there to the cost of a bottle of water or an ice cream. Shocking.

The organisaiton really need to have a complete overhaul of their customer service and not take over a week, 2 emails and a phone call to get back to a complaint.

Sadly Tangalooma, you did not live up to it this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Little-England82,

Our apologies again for the delay in responding to your email sent to us regarding parking costs. As I explained to you on the phone we had provided correct information to the organiser of your event, and cannot take responsibility if this information was not passed on to you accurately.

We do check our prices with many mainland outlets, and we do compare very favourably, and are in fact cheaper, that some outlets such as “convenience” stores and other food and beverage outlets on the mainland. Our serving sizes are also very generous when compared to these outlets.

Again apologies for the delay in responding to your email.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    235
    179
    117
    126
See reviews for
366
235
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

While on holiday from the US, we spent 2 nights at this resort. The place is long past due for a facelift and rejuvenation. Rooms are tired and worn. You could see the grandeur of old days but the place has run down. The staff was helpful, friendly and enthusiastic. We took the north island tour and the trip exceed our expectations. Mark was delightful and informative. It is a beautiful island to see. Unfortunately, it looks as if the owners have chosen to ride the facility into the ground. If the resort wishes to gain its place as a world class resort, it should fire the food service director and establish itself as a place where people seek out the food instead of choosing it as a last resort. For the prices paid, the food should be world class. It wasn't. We hope the owners can turn this potentially magnificent place around!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jim L,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor.

Your review is quite timely as the resort centre is currently undergoing a significant refurbishment which will include the enlargement of the dining areas, a larger Beach Café kitchen and serving area and new restroom facilities.

In addition we have recently changed our Beach House Rotunda menu and once the Beach Café’s renovation is complete there will be a revised menu in place here also.

I’m pleased to read your comments on our staff and the tours you undertook, and will pass your comments on to our staff.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I loved it all! Although I thought everything like the shops and restaurants were very expensive! I loved our villa although it was a very long way to walk every time you want to go into the restaurants, there was no type of vehicle or 4WD to get there? The staff were really nice. We couldn't understand why the cafe was so close to bar especially if you had children. It was great and the beach was divine. I totally recommend it and will definitely come back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Ttssff,

Thank you for your post, and I’m glad to hear you plan to visit the resort again in the future.

The resort is spread over several hundred metres and most people enjoy the stroll along the beachfront when then wish to come for a meal or a drink. As you know the villas are equipped with a full kitchen should you choose to prepare you own meals and save the walk to the resort centre.

In many ways the above answers your comment on the proximity of the bar to the café also, they are close together so that our guests have these facilities within easy reach at meal times.

We will certainly pass on your comments on our staff, and we look forward to your next visit to Tangalooma.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belconnen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are a lot of things to do at tangalooma and we enjoyed all the activities but they were quite pricey. It wouldn't be a cheap holiday especially for a family. The staff were great very friendly and helpful. Food was good but on the dear side. The rooms were ok but beds were terrible, hard and you could feel the springs through the mattresses. I ended up putting cushions from sofa bed onto single bed and sleeping like that. The grounds were beautiful beach gorgeous. The main reason we went there was because I wanted to feed the dolphins for my 60th birthday and I did, it was a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Manager at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Shaunagh S

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed many of the activities including dolphin feeding, it is pretty special.

Thank you for your comments regarding our team and the service you received, we will be sure to pass this on to the management team.

Sorry to hear you thought your bed was uncomfortable. With out knowing which room you were in it is difficult to respond to this comment. We do encourage all guests to notify reception if there is anything we can help guests with to ensure their stay is as comfortable as possible.

If you have not done so already, please be sure to join our TangaClub and/or like us on Facebook, so you can stay up to date with news, specials and great competitions.

Kind regards

Tangalooma Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bring the prices down. This is a second rate resort with very tired facilities. Fine for a cheap family holiday, but the rates for a basic room are way beyond "cheap family holiday". The facilities and room quality are equivalent to a caravan park, with the bare minimum of comfort and provisions, like the absolute cheapest bulk buy tea and coffee, and soap dispensers in the bathroom. They've got the punters over a barrel for every meal and service, so why charge such an huge rate for the rooms?

The prices that are charged in the resort shop are literally double normal supermarket prices. Be warned - do not count on 'picking up a few supplies' when you get there. Take everything you need with you. I suggest taking your own makings for breakfast and lunch if you can. The meals we had in the Beach Cafe were very average - overcooked spaghetti and sauce that must have been out of a tin. The greek salad was the best thing I ate, but for the price it should have been exquisite, rather than just edible. My nine year old son could not even eat the cheese burger, and he's not a fussy eater, I can assure you. How hard would it be to open a decent noodle and sushi bar, with fresh ingredients and reasonable prices? They must get daily deliveries - the mainland markets are only a couple of hours away.
After being so badly burnt at every meal we had to buy and having already paid so much for the room, we only took one tour, being the quad bikes. We had a lot of fun, and it was well-run. But again, they are simply charging too much. As for the much vaunted sand-tobogganing, we walked to the desert and found discarded tobogganing boards, and had essentially the same experience as the group of people there who had clearly paid for a Desert Tour. So the charge was for a lift to the desert in a 4WD, and a piece of masonite? I'm glad we skipped that one!
Look, I don't mean to be unkind. I think it's bad form to whinge about something that is unchangeable, or the best that can be expected. But they could do so much better.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Kangaroo building are all well positioned to enjoy the view of the sunset over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Manager at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Heygeorgie

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

There are seven styles of accommodation, resort unit, resort suite, hotel room, deluxe hotel room, villas, luxury deep blue apartments and hill top houses. The houses we have recently included into our accommodation range are million dollar properties along with the outstanding ‘Deep Blue’ luxury apartments. We have recently finished a full refurbishment program on some of the older room types. We are unsure which accommodation you booked, but we do offer a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets.

The food is a little more expensive than mainland prices, as we do incur extra costs to operate. We often do spot checks on food costs in other venues including other island resorts, entertainment establishments, food courts, airports and local cafes and restaurants and we do feel our prices are reasonable and inline with other operators.

We have over 80 tours and activities at the resort, with more than 40 free of charge. Some of our free activities include tennis, archery, squash, boules, croquet, chip and putt golf, beach cricket, volleyball and basketball.

With regards to your comments on the expense of activities, we believe that our prices are quite competitive. We just did a quick search on google and could not find a quad tour for under $90. Our quad bike tour is currently $58pp.

With regards to the desert safari tour. The boards left behind by others is quite disappointing. Moreton Island is a national park and on the Tangalooma Desert Safari Tour we take care in keeping the area clean and ensuring minimal impact on the environment. Our tour is currently only $38pa and $20pc, the tour is 1.5 hours and includes transfers to the desert, tour commentary and sand tobogganing.

We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation in Kookaburra Lodge and the amazing Moreton sunsets.

We do hope we can welcome you and your son back to Tangalooma in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Tangalooma Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We're in Brisbane for 2 months so decided on a Sat-Sunday weekend retreat. Our kids needed a break from the city and loved being outdoors and feeding the dolphins and the boat ride over and sun set was exciting. That was great. The rooms and good are just okay- dont expect luxury. Food is pricy. We did not do any tours- but spent some nice family time together. Worth a change of scenery and a sunset drink.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sheehyc,

I’m very glad to read your family enjoyed your stay at the resort. Indeed Tangalooma is a place where it’s easy to simply relax and spend some quality time with your family so close to the city.

We do have a range of rooms available from 3.5 Star through to our 4.5 Star Deep Blue Apartments and million dollar Holiday Homes which offer a more luxurious option for our guests.

Thank you for your post, we would love to have you visit the resort again next time you are in Brisbane.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to Tangalooma Island resort for a full day trip as we booked deal with the full access to the resort facilites and VIP lounge.

Transfer was via ferry from Brisbane to Tangalooma which is about 75 mins ride. It is wonderful resort and has plenty of activities to do around. Some of the activites which we did and was included in the deal were, sand tobogganing, 4WD experience, quad bikes ride.

All are highly recommended and it is a good experience. Dolphin feeding is good too in the evening. Resort is good for family and kids.

I would stay at the resort next time when I'm there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Director of Sales at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Luxurious88,

It sounds like you had a great day with us on your Dolphin Adventure Day Tour. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit. I suggest you visit our website and join Tanga Club, our free loyalty program, which offers its members exclusive offers for visiting the resort.

Craig McLaurin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tangalooma Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangalooma Island Resort

Address: Resort Centre | Tangalooma, Moreton Island, Queensland 4009, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Moreton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moreton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tangalooma Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangalooma Island Resort is surrounded by white sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and fringed by national park, presenting another world away right on Brisbane’s doorstep! The highlight of any stay is the opportunity to interact closely with nature. Each evening, a pod of wild bottlenose dolphins eagerly swim up to the beach where they are hand fed by our Dolphin Care Team and resort guests. Only 75 minutes from Brisbane, over 75 tours and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tangalooma Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangalooma Beachcomber / Driftwood Hotel Moreton Island
Tangalooma Island Hotel
Dolphin Resort Tangalooma Wild
Hotel Tangalooma Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangalooma Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.