We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a warm welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordero de Oro - CLOSED

El Cordero de Oro
Camino L'atall Zona las Fuentes | Edificio Mar del Plata II, Alcossebre, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not such a warm welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant was showing very highly on TripAdvisor so, having been to Alcossebre many times but never visited it, we decided to give it a try. The food was reasonable - hence my average rating - but the welcome was far from warm. We found ourselves in what seemed to be a totally British environment. Every other customer seemed to be a British local. They were all warmly welcomed but we certainly were not. No idea why our faces didn't fit but despite several attempts to try to chat with the waitress (who we assumed was Sharon) we were not successful in getting a single smile from her. We get a far warmer welcome at all the local Spanish restaurants and will stick to them in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    19
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A most disappointing evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Because of the good reviews my wife and I with two friends decided to eat at this restaurant. On arriving to an almost empty restaurant the 'front of house' person stood on the spot and just indicated us to sit somewhere at the back. So much for a welcome.
Eventually someone we later realised was the 'Sharon' mentioned in previous reviews came over to us and took our drinks order. Some time later with drinks consumed and sitting with closed menus we were once again noticed - which enabled us to place our food orders.
The starters were OK but we were very aware of a considerable amount of noise coming from the bar area. It was caused by about twelve women obviously celebrating someone's birthday with almost continuous high pitched screaming laughter and rendition of 'Happy Birthday'. Unfortunately it got worse as they moved to eat at a table a few yards away. They were obviously friends of the owner from the dedicated service they received - all accompanied by incessant high pitched screaming laughter.
When our main course arrived the lamb shoulder was fine - very tender and full of flavour - an excellent piece of meat, unfortunately not matched by a microscopic portion of burnt vegetables.
At this point the owner turned the music up to full volume so the screaming women could sing 'Happy Birthday ' yet again followed closely by 'Congratulations'. . We left as quickly as we could.
By the end of the evening we realised that there were only Brits in this restaurant. If you are looking for an authentic and welcoming Spanish evening this is not the place for you.
A very disappointing evening and none of our party would want to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant open all year. Always good food and a warm welcome .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Consistently good food. Pierre and Sharon run a great place with all year opening and a good choice of freshly cooked dishes.
The atmosphere is friendly and always a warm welcome, special dishes can be ordered in advance try the rack of lamb.
We can't recommend this restaurant enough.
Tony and Pam

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Pork and crackling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Meals are good, service excellent. Great variety, try the pork and crackling, best in Alcossebre.
Always friendly and helpful

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had many meals here. Always a pleasure. Great food, service and ambience. going tonight, can't wait. !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cordero de Oro also viewed

Alcossebre, Castellon Province
Alcossebre, Castellon Province
 
Alcossebre, Castellon Province
Alcossebre, Castellon Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordero de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.