We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alykes, Potamou, Corfu Town 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Hotel for 6 nights. This was one of the first hotels we looked at and booked. We are really glad we did. It was only a 5min bus ride to the Old town (1.5km) and only 2km to the airport and had great wifi throughout the hotel including our room. The buses are every 30min and the bus stop is across the road – very convenient.

We found the whole hotel spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We felt the family warmth from staff and the owners. They were very knowledgeable on what to see and do around Corfu and best way to get there. They also made suggestions for things to do– which were spot on when we took up their suggestions! This included, beaches, bars, restaurants (one of our favourites only 200m walk down the road), and sites to see. The bed was hard but you can ask for a mattress topper. The pool was pristine clear and pool areas were just like their rooms - spotless. Their bar pool was reasonably priced not only for drinks but for snack foods too.

Overall, I want to say that nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay enjoyable and memorable. We feel that the hotel was certainly value for our money and would recommend. If we are ever back in Corfu – we will certainly stay with them again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

On our return trip from a sailing holiday in the Geek islands we had a one night stay in this hotel before flying out from Corfu Airport. The staff were very friendly and the whole place was exceptionally clean and tidy, the pool and surrounding area were great with pool bar selling reasonably priced drinks all day. The ferry port and airport are just a short taxi ride away the only down side was inconsistent taxi fares which the hotel cannot be responsible for.
We felt it was great value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preveza, Greece
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

While only at the hotel for one night, it was wonderful. We had a fantastic nap and nighttime sleep. The hotel was extremely clean, and the people working at the hotel were so very helpful, just could not do enough for us. When the morning lady at the desk learned we had to be out of their hotel early the following day, she had all the breakfast prepared a little earlier, now how nice is that, so very kind of her, and it was a very nice breakfast, many selections. The beds were a bit hard, but when asked for something to put on top, they brought them right up for us, and what an amazing difference that made. The rooms were a bit small, but with the lovely balcony, and talk about a view -- WOW -- that made up for the room size. We definitely would return to the Sunset Hotel, and recommend it highly. This hotel was only a little over a mile from the Port and Old Corfu, not to mention very easy to get to. Highly recommend eating lunch/dinner at the Μουράγια (Mouragia) Taverna on Αρσετίου St. At the end of the New Port, on the left hand side is a large free parking lot. In front are large buildings. Take the sidewalk and walk up and around the sea wall, about five minutes, just past the Byzantine Museum on the right hand side is the Taverna. Excellent food, nice selection and good prices. Ask for Basili, so very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a wonderful view, that is the room to ask for when making reservations. You look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were only there for one night, but the staff were very friendly and helpful, It was great value and a short taxi ride from the old town, ferry port and airport. We had a family room with bunk beds and a double. It was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed at the hotel in the first week of June 2012. The hotel is close to Corfu Old Town with a bus running into town every 30 minutes. The accommodation was good value for the price we paid. The beds are a little hard but if you ask for a mattress top, they will put one on the bed. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. The facilities were clean and the pool, which is a good size for swimming, including the pool area, were well maintained. Breakfast consisted of cold cuts, cheese, delicious fresh bread, honey, eggs, cereal, coffee etc.
If you visit Cofu, make sure you visit "Old Barrel" Taverna and Pub in Old Town. The food is excellent and the owners will take good care of you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean if you can.The view is lovely and less noisy than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel, whilst not in Corfu town itself, was a short bbus ride away from the old own. Very reaosnably priced, clean accomodation (if lsighlty hard beds!), great pool and friendly staff. Lovely taverna within 200m for great evening meals al fresco. Hotel breakfast uninspiring but hardly needed after a good meal at the taverna the night before! Suggest using it as a short soptover stay - would not spend longer than 3 days here. The rest of the island is much more beautiful and has lots to offer. Great shopping in Corfu town itself (both in the tourist quarter and the general shopping area).

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool. If not, ensure the shutters are closed at night otherwise you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there with my wife and 10 mth daughter. Staff are so friendly, breakfast was perfect, swimming pool crystal clear like the rooms... Babycot was there as requested. Strongly recommended and we will be visiting in the future for sure

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Alykes, Potamou, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is open all year round waiting for you to enjoy our warm and pleasant hospitality. Sunset Hotel’s 5-story building is located in the limits of Corfu town, recently renovated (2009), with lovely, spacious indoors and outdoors areas, a large garden and a swimming pool. The hotel is a family-run business and stands out for its warm and exquisitely clean environment both in the rooms and in the rest hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Corfu/Corfu Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.