We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Remounda

Porta Remounda
Moustoxidou 14, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
26610-22658
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 110 Restaurants in Corfu Town
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Food.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Being bought up in Greece and living in the UK I always miss Greek traditional food!!! This place was great.. You could tell that the food was fresh and really tasty... The mousaka and sofrito reminded me when my grandmother used to make it.
The location is fab sitting outside under the trees and watching the world go by. The staff were very helpful and attentive.
I will definitely go back the next time I visit Corfu

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fish in a dish- or rather a stainless steel chest of drawers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant is worth finding, it was a very hot evening and thanks to tripadvisor reviews we were determined to find this well recommended restaurant.
On a flotilla cruise, we made for the old town of Corfu for our meal. We were greeted by our waitress who suggested a table for us and immediately took our drinks order - it was 36 degrees and we were melting. Even the Greeks were hot! Prompt drinks service and a friendly owner came to tell us what she had on offer, then invited us all into the kitchen to show us the fish she had on offer. A huge chest of drawers full of ice with the various fish placed carefully on top. There was such a choice not just fish but Corfu delicacies as well. We all opted for a selection of starters and different fish. They even put on an extra table so that we would have room for the spread of food! It was a memorable evening. The service was excellent, the staff were attentive and fun and the food was outstanding. I can only say- go there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food, polite staff, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I have been eating in this restaurant for years. The food is always good and fresh. There is selection of traditional corfiot and Greek dishes (the moussaka is especially good - the portion is generous, and it is served with a side of fresh chips. I honestly don't understand the reviewer above who insinuated the moussaka had been frozen and reheated). There's always fresh fish and seafood, and the seafood pasta is to die for! The house wine is good and very reasonably priced. And the location is one of the best in Corfu town. I highly recommend this both for lunch and for dinner - if youvisit it after sunset, there is usually a refreshing breeze to make you feel better after the heat of the beach!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't believe the good reviews!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to this restaurant after reading all the good reviews and were very disappointed. Quite a limited menu, some dishes were good but some were really not good and 2 of us had moussaka which was served with chips, apart from the fact it was tasteless it was luke warm and stone cold in the middle. When we told the waitress she took both plates away without an apology and brought them back a few minutes later having microwaved them (including the chips which were then not very nice having been microwaved). We then paid the bill and they did not bring our change (12 Euros), we had to ask for it before we left. I definitely wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone, substandard food and incredibly poor service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This lovely restaurant was recommended by our taxi driver. There was a table of 9 of us and we were quickly seated on a table outside of the restaurant on a beautiful picturesque Greek alley.

We were unsure on what to order so the staff offered to show us into the kitchen the fresh seafood that they had that day where there were plenty to choose from clams, sword fish, sardines, cuttlefish, prawns, octopus and more!

The seafood we ordered was fresh and delicious and paired with a team of friendly staff and not to mention the incredible surroundings we felt like we were in paradise! The owner Barba treated us like good friends and sat down with us for a drink and gave us all a round of free drinks and yummy desserts! Thank you Barba and family you made us all feel so welcomed we will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta Remounda also viewed

 
Corfu Town, Corfu
Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Porta Remounda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Remounda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.