We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing holiday back in the 60's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corfu Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Corfu Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corfu Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Leoforos Democratias, Corfu Town 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Kettering, Northants
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A relaxing holiday back in the 60's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has a lovely view from most rooms, the rooms are quite large, we paid for an upgraded room which though well decorated was still quite old fashioned in style and the bathroom could do with new fitments as ours were in a bad state there were big lumps of dust that kept moving around the room for the week we were there. The hotel were very generous offering a free plate of fruit which was replenished every day, red wine and a card and roses for a birthday, a free English newspaper every day and 2 free rounds of drinks between 6 and 7.

The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly and could not be faulted everyone seemed to work very hard. The menu was slightly 60s/70s with fruit juice and then consommé or cream soup etc but served with pride and perfectly ok, but I much preferred the a la carte menu for which you get a generous amount taken off if you have gone half board. I would not recommend the bar b que it was not very good at all and quite expensive if not on half board. I did find the breakfast hot food a bit monotonous and not really hot.

My only real problem was the clientele, lovely though they were, were all over 85 and had been visiting since the 1970s. The all reserved seats both by the pool and for lunch in the pool bar, they were air kissing each other and the staff and ordering their husbands around all day, it made the atmosphere quite oppressive and I will not return again for a while for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    106
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
58
155
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nairn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two week stay at the Corfu Palace at the beginning of June. The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Corfu Town. So, you benefit from the peaceful environment of the hotel, but also have easy access to the buzz of the town. The outlook from our balcony room was beautiful. The staff are very pleasant and efficient. We own a hotel ourselves and were impressed by all the staff. For example, on the day we left, while both the Receptionist and the Manager came and shook our hands and wished us a good journey home. While we were waiting at Reception for our taxi, we watched the staff greeting the new guests arriving as though they were old friends. We didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast, but it was of a good standard and efficiently managed. The décor is in good condition and the hotel is comfortable and well equipped. Altogether, a very pleasant stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just back from a week at this lovely, grand hotel. Beautifully positioned close to the Old Town and wonderful views over Garitsa Bay and the Old Fort and not forgetting the Marina littered with an abundance of superyachts. Special mention must go to the staff starting with the housekeeper and her team right through to bar and restaurant staff who always seemed to be on hand just when you needed them. The pool area was well kept with sun beds and parasols always available. I am not a big fan of breakfast but have to say I did indulge at this hotel. Freshly cooked hot food and an abundance of fruit and and a good selection of bread, pastries etc. set us up for the day. Dinners in the evening were excellent with great views over the bay. I travel quite extensively and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have fantastic sea views and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and i came here for the first time. We were supposed to stay only seven days. We ended up staying for thirteen days. And what made us extend our stay was the impecable attitude of the staff. The friendliness, the proffesionalism and the overall service made our stay here wonderful. I must say, the hotel does not inspire 5* room wise, but the people that work here makes is look and feel 10*. And for me, for us, that is more important than any fancy furniture. The surroundings, the closness of the town center,the amazing gardens and pool are just great bonuses to enjoy. We never go twice in a place since there are so many others to be descovered, but we will come back here...in three weeks. Thank you Corfu Palace Hotel staff and management. Loredana Rotaru

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely relaxing hotel. I found the food, staff and location perfect. So much so we extended our holiday and returning in July. We travel lots and don't often return to the same hotels, but the staff here made our stay a lovely experience and we cannot wait to return. From reception to bar staff nothing was a problem. Yes the rooms may need a slight refurb to hold a five star status, but they are very comfortable with lovely balconies that open up into a wee private garden. Would recommend a wee visit. Thank you for making our holiday relaxing but yet fun....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel should NOT have a 5 star rating, I have stayed in many hotels in the world and would have to say this was one of the worst, I would give it a 2/3 star rating and this is me being very generous.It badly need's refurbished it is so dated, like something out of the 1960's/70's.The staff are also very rude and unhelpful. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great hotel - no, it might not be UK 5* standard, but it's immaculately clean, with spacious rooms, balconies with great views of Garitsa bay and mainland Greece, powerful showers and plentiful hot water. We went B and B - and why wouldn't you with so many wonderful options for dining in Corfu town. The breakfasts were excellent, with the usual range of hot and cold choices. Especially nice were the freshly baked croissants and the fresh orange juice. Lunches from the pool bar might have been a bit pricey but were plenty big enough to share if you wanted.
The location is great - with a 10 minute transfer from the airport, especially if the taxi transfer is included in your package as ours was. And although the hotel is on the main road the traffic was never an issue nor was aircraft noise. And it's an easy walk up a gentle hill into town with all the wonderful bars, restaurants and shops. The other way out to the windmill and more restaurants is also a great evening stroll with views back to the town.
I know others have talked of reserving sunbeds we didn't and always found ones in the sun or shade as needed whatever time of day we got to the pool. I can see that in high season it might be necessary but it is rather frustrating to see some reserved and then left unoccupied for most of the day!
A real plus was the late check out - our pickup was 8pm and we were able to have our room till 6pm with no extra charge.
I know some people found the beds too hard but were provided with mattress toppers. And some people might object to the rather worn bathroom fittings and slightly old fashioned bedroom furniture but if you want an ideally placed hotel, with staff who are delightful and hardworking, with beautiful gardens and a lovely pool area then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corfu Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Palace Hotel

Address: 2, Leoforos Democratias, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Palace Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive Corfu landmark, benefiting from its position five min away from the heart of the historic city of Corfu the hotel was inaugurated in 1954 and surely holds the best position in Corfu Town. Since then offers a traditional and elegant atmosphere where each guest can experience the Corfiot hospitality through personalized service and attention to detail in the true Swiss tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Corfu Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corfu Town Palace Hotel
Corfu Hotel Palace
Corfu Palace Hotel Corfu Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corfu Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.