We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Greek Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avli

Avli
Alkiviadou Dari 3 | Garitsa Bay, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
+30 2661 031291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 126 Restaurants in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Avli is a Greek traditional Restaurant. Choosing among the small variety of dishes will allow us to bring you the secrets of Greek taste. A garden of tastes awaits you at the parkland of Garitsa bay, in Corfu town, to introduce you to tasteful pleasures that satisfy all your senses. A new scenery of indulgence has been set with plenty of zeal and fervour in one of the most beautiful spots of Corfu town in order to treat you to its culinary secrets and quality food amidst a pleasant and friendly environment. Special and traditional recipes made of the purest ingredients. Our culinary journey includes succulent appetizers, meze dishes, fresh salads, meat and seafood dishes of exquisite quality. Mediterranean and original tastes, accompanied with light and tasty tsipouro, fresh ouzo or good wine. Come and taste our various meze dishes under the breeze of imposing eucalyptus trees in an open- air garden that overlooks the sea and the majestic Old Fortress of Corfu and bristles with flowers during the summer. During the winter season, try our homemade recipes in a cozy and hospitable place with traditional decoration and folk and art music sounds that make it such a friendly environment. ''Avli'' (the Greek equivalent of garden) is a family business; hence everything is made with zeal and care. Our guaranteed quality of food, the politeness and cordial smile of our service and our truly reasonable prices will definitely make you want more and more a bit of 'Avli' on your plate.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great restaurant with a lovely outdoor area overlooking the bay in Corfu town. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made some great suggestions. There were lots of locals eating here and all the dishes we ordered were excellent. This was one of the best meals out during our holiday and the cheapest by far.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    62
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great location by the sea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Came here for lunch today, and had a fantastic time! Food was lovely & fresh, waiter was very friendly, would definitely go back!

There are so many places in Corfu town to eat, but so many serve mediocre expensive food, which makes this place a gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having arrived by cruise ship we were looking for some local colour rather than tourist fodder. Avli provided the perfect location for excellent fresh food in comfortable surroundings and with the bonus of great views across the bay. Service was impeccable and recommendations were more about the best they had rather than what they had left. The grilled codling were fantastic and could not have been fresher.Local wine complemented the meal and the on the house aperitif and digestif were a nice touch. Well worth the 15 min walk from town centre and great value all round.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having been fed up with all the tourist trap restaurants in the old town and around the island and being determined to find a high quality food restaurant, we checked on Trip Advisor for the best one and it was no disappointment.
The food was great, the location at the "garden" in the park was beautiful and the service was excellent! It made up for all our bad experiences the previous days and it was part of the perfect closing of our mini holiday in Corfu!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Return to wellknown tasty & quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Almost a year earlier we have visited this place and we were really satisfied from our experience, thus we decided to return being sure that we won't be disappointed. The restaurant has been renovated and it's gorgeous. The atmosphere is perfect,too. We sat at the garden and we had a direct view of the old fortress of Corfu and the whole Garitsa bay, under the old trees and we were able to enjoy some old men playing the french game of Pétanque a few meters away.

Our desire for some authentic, tasty and fresh seafood guided us to start with marinated white bate, fried squid and some fresh steamed mussels which were marvelous. We also had a season salad and some fresh mushrooms with fresh herbs that we loved. In addition we tried some fresh red mullet fish and sardines in the oven with fresh herbs from their garden which were fantastic. The waiter proposed a bottle of a greek white wine which was the perfect combination for our meal and its price was really good, too.

We were delighted to the house hospitality and service and really pleased of our whole experience there.

Don't forget to try the chocolate soufflé and don't be surprised if they serve you some distilled beverage as a digestive, on the house.

To sum up, DON'T MISS THAT PLACE!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli also viewed

 

Been to Avli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.