We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and a convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofia Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sofia Village to your Saves list
Sofia Village
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   outskirts of Mykonos town (400m. from the town) | School Of Fine Arts area, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and a convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Sofia Village is just 400 meters above the Mykonos Town -Chora- and if you rent a Scooter this is the best budget hotel you can stay in Mykonos.
The staff is friendly, reservation, transfer from airport and Scooter rental is very easy - cause they help so much-.
The rooms have sunset view and they are also very clean.
It is also very close to the highway that connects you to all the beaches.

Room Tip: I use booking.com to find the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    74
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
17
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Now before I start this review I must point one thing out, the only reason this place got 2 out of 5 is because of the magnificent George that works behind the bar. He is a warm, friendly and generous person, probably the nicest person we met in our travels to Greece, If he owned Sofias Village im sure all reviews would be 5/5. George I know you will read this.... you should take over Sofias... It needs a person like you.

The actual owner of the village Sofia, Im afraid to say is a Dragon Lady. My partner and I would smile at her when she walked past, say hello etc etc and she would flatly ignore us... Now we were OK with this and laughed it off at the start but at the end of the day it was plain rude. To make matters worse on two separate occasions she yelled at us for no reason whatsoever. One time because we were 5 minutes early (Not late!!) to get a lift back to the ferries and secondly when I asked if the ferries were running on schedule. I also witnessed several times her talking to others guests as if they were dirt. I dont know where she gets of but she basically wrecked our time in Mykonos which was a shame.

We spoke with other guests who had experienced her terrible attitude and they said they would never return to Sofias Village.

The hotel itself has a great pool and bar of which George runs, no frills rooms with Air con and views of Mykonos Town. Its a steep walk back up to the hotel from town which can be a pain if you want to head to town more than once a day. We stayed for 100 Euro per night in the peak period of August which I thought was reasonable however there were other guests that paid a lot more for the same room type. Trick was to get off the ferry and Sofias son will be standing at the port asking if you want accomm. Negotiate to 100 EUR or less if you must stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This fmaily run hotel provide free transport form/to airport and port. Big plus for me. The WiFi is free and breakfast are 5EUR extra. The pool is superb and the view from the hotel terrific. The only con is the location. It is around 10 minute walk to town and 20 minute back. The hill is killer :-) You will love the guy behind the bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sofia Village in September 2010 for 3 nights. We were picked up from the airport and check in was simple and painless. The room we were given was a double with small kitchen and a clean, modern bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable and the pool area was great with plenty of sunbeds and a view down to the sea. This is a great value hotel (we paid €30 per night) and for that price we'd certainly recommend staying here. The only draw backs were that the staff weren't quite a friendly as elsewhere on the Greek Islands and it is a 15 minute walk down a steep hill into town, as long as you're relatively fit that shouldn't be a problem!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Service is excellent...location is good... and George's mojito is by far the best I have had! =)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Sofia Village is a lovely small hotel in Greek Island Mykonos. This kindly hotel is situated nearly of the famous center of Mykonos. It is 25 minut slow walking. This hotel has a very nice rooms with good equiptment, also has clean and big swimming pool with bar. From the hotel is wonderful view to the see. Owner of hotel is strict but very kind lady Sofia. She or her staff will take care of your staying and you will spend there nice while.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, some bits were quite good others not so good.

Sophia & Panos came to pick up us at the port (we didn´t expect it as we didn´t even have told them the time of our arrival). I really appreciate this because we couldn´t find a decent map of Mykonos and I think we would have struggled to find the place on our own.
On the way to the hotel, Panos explained us where the bus stops where, the Starbucks, how to get from the hotel to the town... really useful as it is very easy to get lost in the little streets of Mykonos. He also said to speak to George if we had more questions.

We could chose between two rooms, rooms were ok with air conditioning and fridge, baths were a bit old.

We didn´t find George or Sophia friendly. George seemed to be in another world, and would often reply to our questions with yes/no answers. He didn´t seem to care much, first we thought he had a hangover, but he always treated us like that. That said, we saw other customers taking pictures with him and kissing him goodbye so our conclussion was that he got on well with the people who stayed in the swimming pool buying cocktails (thing we didn´t do).

Sophia´s English was not very good, it was difficult to understand her. Now the last day she asked us 3 times whether we had paid (she knew how to ask that) while were waiting for someone to take us to the airport. George had told us that they would take us but didn´t confirm the time, so we didn´t know if we were going to need a taxi or not. After 30 minutes waiting they took us but it gave me the impression that they were disorganised.

Hotel is up a hill, 5 or 10 minutes walk from town. It is ok if you are not carrying luggage, or in high heels.

Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Village

Address: outskirts of Mykonos town (400m. from the town) | School Of Fine Arts area, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Sofia Village 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Sofia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Village Mykonos Town
Sofia Village Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofia Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.